We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fira Congress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fira Congress to your Saves list
Hotel Fira Congress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. de Jose Agustin Goytisolo, 9-11, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Hotel is situated closely to a shopping mall and 10 minutes from city centre with the complimentary shuttle bus to and from the hotel. In addition the free drop off and pick up from the airport is a bonus...I would say that is the only best part of the hotel.

However the hotel reception staff were found to be not helpful to English speaking tourists whereby they were showing signs of reluctancy to speak the language when asking for directions and they would make you wait a few minutes before dealing with your issue.

The hotel WIFI is pathetic, they should think about updating their internet connections, it is beyond slow. You have to pay to use the PC for internet and by the time you get to the site you need to be at your money has run out.

Room Tip: Perhaps choosing a suite would be a better option as you are guaranteed a double bed and not two sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    158
    86
    37
    19
See reviews for
54
151
19
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

after living there for 8 years. Barcelona is probably our favourite city and we needed a hotel mid way between the airport and city. We were not disappointed!

Hotel Fira Congress was excellent value for money as for us it provided a very comfortable room with superior bathroom facilities and a comfortable bed.

The fact that it had regular FREE shuttle buses to the city AND the airport was a big bonus!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor, it said Executive floor, whether this was because we requested No Smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for four nights.

Staff rude and unhelpful, often ignoring people for over 5 minutes to have a chat.

Shuttle pickup is bus shelters at end of Terminal 2 C (not the technical building that reception advise). Driver will wait approximately 30 seconds before driving off.

WiFi was a joke. The few minutes a day it did work it was painfully slow.

Gym = tiny, sauna/steam room = mouldy.

Rooms décor was ok. Some mould on shower ceiling. Aircon did nothing. No English TV channels. Funky room lighting turned itself on and off at will...

Apparently I checked out twice while I was there meaning key card stopped working. Problem was I was on 6th floor and you need working card to operate lift.

I wouldn't go as far as saying this hotel was terrible, but I will not be staying again!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well the good news is that if you are going to the conference centre it is just across the street, but there is very little other good news. There is nothing else in the vicinity.

The rooms are looking tired, and the decoration is frankly lacking. Odd grey and red colour scheme, with a metal bedhead, that if you lie against results in your bed moving away from the wall, across the lino floor. There is a television with 100 channels, but as far as I could tell none of them in english. The worse aspect was the Wifi - there is free Wifi throughout the hotel, which should be good but there is no bandwidth available on the Wifi - so it is totally useless and the reception staff think that this is acceptable.

Everyone who had one, had to operate on 3G as there is no deserrnable broadband bandwidth.

Good breakfast, i really the hotels only saving grace.

Would I stay here again? Most definately not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I visited this hotel with my daughter for a 4 day long weekend, stay in Barcelona.

The good parts:
- Free shuttle from airport (call in advance or on arrival to find pick up location).
- relatively close to airport
- close to metro system -if you really want to be economical
- Free shuttle every hour to plaza espanya - if you miss last bus still only 7 - 10 euro taxi ride with lots of taxis around
- Modern - upscale decor
- Staff spoke good English
- Very spacious room, windowns that open, heating / air that you could adjust and it worked. -
- Modern bathroom / walk in shower with rain shower and 2nd aparatus (hose ).
- Hot water
- Breakfast buffet included in price almost as comprehensive as north american spreads
- about 50 - 100k euro/per nite cheaper than hotels in center. Altho my no real deep study, it is probably good value for money
- rooms quiet at nite

Negatives:
- staff not really customer oriented / poor communication (lack of)
- a bit isolated from main action - so to have a break between daytime and eveing events tough
- internet completely unreliable
- no real tv in room if that is important to you
- had a spa but could never find anyone to serve me in order to make a booking

Room Tip: Spa has to be booked at main reception and well in advance. Check to ensure internet functioning if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'hospitalet De Llobregat
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

wi fi does not work...terrible a/c...no place to put things by sink...shower tile is easy to fall on...no direction for lights or phone directory...need to be a seasoned traveler to enjoy the facility

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

As this Hotel is close to our offices, I am staying there most of the time when in Barcelona. Very nice hotel with modern rooms (only disadvantage is no real desk in the room), good service and very good price/performance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fira Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fira Congress

Address: C. de Jose Agustin Goytisolo, 9-11, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#5 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fira Congress 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Fira Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prestige Congress
Hotel Fira Congress Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fira Congress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.