We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Europa, 50-52, 08902 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent a week at the RBF when attending a conference. The hotel has an interesting architecture with the hollow interieur (it's a U shape from above.) My room (superior) was very comfortable and totally white (yes everything in the room is white) with a palm tree leave window. The nickname of the hotel is I think the Palm hotel for obvious reason. The room was spotless clean and very quiet despite the hallway somehow being open to the elements (I was on the 24th floor). The small gym is very functional + a little Jacuzzi and the top of the hotel has a decent pool (too bad it's not heated in winter) with a stunning view on Barcelona and a nice bar too. The breakfast was excellent as well as the restaurant where I had dinner twice (I am a foodie). The staff is very efficient and friendly. By taxi it's a 15min ride to either downtown or the airport.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    121
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
125
12
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here December 12.08.13 through 12.13.13 on business. I have always chosen Marriott properties; however, have not spent many nights in a Renaissance property. This hotel is relatively new and was built according to Barcelona sense of style. The rooms are white on white which doesn't lend itself to a warm comfy feeling, which other Marriott properties offer. The room is spacious and the shower area very nice. The bathroom is very small with a large door that won't stay open and you can get banged around just getting in and out. The room had a small fridge, but there is no place close or in the hotel to buy anything to stock it with. There is a nice LCD flat screen on the wall, but forget about any choice of English channels, they're quite limited. The exercise room is small and the auto lighting was not working one night and I had to workout in the dark. In their defense I didn't even mention it to them as I was too tired to notify them. The staff is all amazingly cheerful and very nice. There was an issue with the front desk informing me that as a Platinum member all my breakfasts would be free. However, the restaurant was not of the same mind and I needed to speak to two people to have that resolved. I never was able to get my first morning breakfast free however. The room is stocked with toiletries, coffee pot, hairdryer, and iron with board. The breakfast offered the same food everyday as a buffet, after day 3 this became pretty boring. The food was very good however. The bar downstairs looks more like a small courtyard bar and is also not very cozy. The trip from the airport is only 15 to 20 minutes and you are within walking distance to the Fira Gran expo center. The area is not really close to anything cool so you will need to take a 30 minute cab ride to go to old Barcelona to have a nice evening out. No US outlets in the room so you will need to bring a number of adaptors if you're like me and travel with 3+ gadgets. All-in-all, I was happy to have stayed here compared to other options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Located between Barcelona centre and the airport and 15 minutes walk from the la Fira de Barcelone conference centre. it is a good choice if you are attending a conference but perhaps less so if you want to be near the city centre. The welcome is very friendly and the check in was very smooth and professional. My room was a high standard, bright clean and modern with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this level. breakfast is on the 14th floor. Very good buffet style with friendly and professional service. Getting a taxi at the hotel was also easy.

Enjoyed my stay very much. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Having booked this hotel as part of a package holiday we did not know what to expect...and what we got was marvellous and there is nothing I would change or need to complain about. The rooms are very modern and have a fabulous window to admire the views through. Breakfast was great every day and made even better by being greeted by the gorgeous Jessica who is such a great asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Have just got back from a three night stay in this hotel as a treat leading up to my husbands 60th birthday and what a treat it was. Having seen an offer through Travelzoo and booked through Fleetway Travel I was a little apprehensive of the location on reading some reviews on this site. As far as we were concerned it was well located being a little outside the busy city and only three stops by Metro (which is in close proximity to the hotel)
On arrival at the airport you can get the bus (46) direct to the hotel (2€) and will be greeted by very helpful reception staff. First view of this hotel is quite spectacular as you can see from some of the photos already posted. It's modern and clean and the walls are so thick you cannot hear anyone in the adjoining rooms. On opening the hotel room door you are greeted by a fabulous all white room with a magnificent window as it's centrepiece. There is lots of wardrobe space and the bed is ever so comfy with a memory type mattress. You will notice the cleanliness of the room straight away and also the larger than usual TV. There is also an iPod docking station on the radio.
Breakfast is in the Palmer Restaurant and there is lots to choose from including a chef waiting to cook your omelette however you like it. We ate dinner in this restaurant on our last evening and my husband was served the largest T-bone steak he has ever eaten. I chose the veal which was also cooked to perfection
We opted for the two day tourist bus ticket whilst there so we could hop on and off around the city. Reception staff also assisted with this as well as any other queries we had. Apparently each Rennaisance Hotel is unique and there are 240 around the world. Looks like we will have a fine time checking a few of them out. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and would go back in a return visit to Barcelona
We also had three days of glorious sunshine so did not need the scarves and gloves I packed for December

Room Tip: Higher floors have spectacular views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just got back from short stay here. Lovely hotel and staff were faultless in their professionalism and courtesy. Room so clean and the dining staff were so nice on my birthday presenting me with a little cake and a candle! Bit of a way out of the centre of Barcelona but accessible if you are prepared to use bus and metro which are really easy to use. I was a bit concerned about pick-pockets but the perceptions did not match the reality as we felt quite safe even in the underground and in crowds. Taking precautions is sensible however such as taking a zip handbag slung across your body and avoid rucksacks if possible. We also carried only enough money for our needs for that day. Tip: when leaving the airport go to tourist information and next to it you can purchase your T10 card for use on metro or bus. We walked up and down airport and eventually bought our card at the metro station after 45 mins searching!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

First thing, the hotel is a 15-20 minutes metro ride from central Barcelona. However, the station is right outside the building. The staff is extremely professional and took care of us. They will help you with purchasing tickets for tours, shows, or anything you need. The room was very modern. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very nice with a great shower. However, the TV needs more English channels. (It only had four) Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend it.

The rooftop lounge was awesome. The Cucumber Gin Martini was my drink for three days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel

Address: Plaza Europa, 50-52, 08902 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.