We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magistrat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Magistrat to your Saves list
Magistrat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lenina St., 15 | Rozy Lyuksemburg St., 2, Tomsk 634009, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tomsk
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during a four-week trip to Russia. Tomsk is a beautiful and interesting town, and this must be the nicest hotel anywhere around. The room was huge and elegant. The dining room was really beautiful, and the breakfast was the best of any hotel of our trip. I cannot think of a thing wrong with this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
6
1
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We absolutely loved Tomsk, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magistrat for 3 nights in June 2011. We were on an extended backpacking trip through Asia and Europe, and the Magistrat and Tomsk were a highlight. The hotel is beautiful, well located (on the edge of town), and has a lovely old feel to it. It was a splurge/treat that we'd do again in a heartbeat. Rooms are well appointed and beds very comfortable. We had a lot type room, not sure of the classification (sorry, can't remember). We has breakfast served to our room (at no extra cost), and it was complete with silver cloches and white linen... Cliched and fun! The breakfast was extensive and I remember the yummy muesli! The outside of the building makes for nice photos. We enjoyed walking into the busier area of town each morning and evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Magistrat Hotel is really impressive. My room had a lobby, then a bed room that was absolutely huge with a sitting area and a balcony and the bathroom was pretty huge too. The hotel restaurant is Italian and serves excellent food which is also available as room service. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. They must have CCTV in the corridors because I put my suitcase outside my room on checking out, planning to ask when I got to the front desk for someone to come and get it. I then went back inside to get my other bags and found on leaving the room that my suitcase was gone! Fortunately they had spotted it and it had already been taken down for me.
The only downside was that my room was on the first floor and there wasn't a lift. As I have some difficulties with stairs this was a bit annoying. The hotel front door was up a flight of steps too.
The hotel is at the end of Tomsk's main street and we found that some of the wooden houses that Tomsk is famous for were within walking distance. There isn't really a lot to see in Tomsk in any case (this was a business trip) but the hotel itself was almost worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Super hôtel.well located in the center with all services.
Two remarks: rooms on the street along the tramway are noisy because of tramway (ask for the ones far from this street
Internet non included and very expensive (depends on traffic) Not normal for such a standard.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I went on a business trip to Tomsk a few years ago, and my client arranged for this hotel. It looks like I stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer. As he said, the service is impeccable. This is not the place you would expect to find in Siberia - particularly the Siberia of days past.

The rooms - at least the room I had - was huge! The bathroom was equally as large. In fact, the bathroom was almost too large - you could easily get cold there, since it was too large to heat well.

The bed was very comfortable, sofa equally so.

The ceiling was a little low in places, since I was on the top floor, and the roof line gets in the way. This particular room also had no regular windows - only sky lights. That was a little disconcerting - I would have like to be able to see outside.

The restaurant was very good. The decor was a little - or lot - gaudy, with a lot of gold. The restaurant appears to be a place for the new wealthy in Tomsk to be seen.

Most people will not find this place by accident, but if you are heading to Tomsk, don't worry about staying in this hotel - it is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

Having just returned from a business trip to Siberia, Moscow and St Petersburg, a particular highlight was the treatment received from the Magistrat in Tomsk. The rooms are spectacularly large, clean and well-appointed. The service at the front desk and the restaurant was excellent. The food was always first class with its presentation indicating real professionalism.
This is a well managed hotel with a genuine care and concern for its guests. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magistrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magistrat

Address: Lenina St., 15 | Rozy Lyuksemburg St., 2, Tomsk 634009, Russia
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Tomsk Oblast > Tomsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tomsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magistrat 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Magistrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magistrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.