We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Occupation Museum

German Occupation Museum
Les Houards, Forest GY8 0
01481 238 205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Forest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Island Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

This museum is located down quiet lanes, but is well signposted.

It is very good value to get in at £6.

Once inside, it is a treasure trove of artifacts, information and collections. Much care and attention has gone into the information provided with the exhibits. I had not idea just how much the occupation had affected the island, with original permits for many things on display, such as driving a car, being allowed extra rations.

There are a few scenes that are recreated. One is of a family listening to a radio, another is of a prison cell and finally a whole street is recreated.

The building doesn't look too big from the outside, but I spent a couple of hours in there.

There is also a cafe, but I cannot comment on this as I didn't eat or drink there.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    81
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“German Occupation Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We found this a little difficult to reach but once we saw the signpost it wasn't a problem. It is a treasure trove of all the history of the island's occupation which has lovingly been assembled and put together so that people can see what the islander's went through during the occupation years from 1940-1945. It has so many interesting things to look at that you hardly know where to start or stop viewing and it is well worth spending some time there reading all the information readily available. It is a little bit cold in there and the café needs more choices of light bites etc..

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, Beds
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent time capsule ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Having known only a little of the island rolls in the war it was great being able to explore this in greater detail by visiting the museum .

It had a great wealth of artefacts that really gives you sense of what it must have been like during that time , also adding to this there is local woman working there whose family had an intwined history with the Germans who occupied the island .

I think she's written a few books and recorded some CD's which may be of interest to people depending on their level of curiosity .

I'd recommend it and at £6 you will not be feel short changed in anyway .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We travelled here by bus from St Peter Port. The exhibits were very interesting and well displayed.
I got the feeling it is one man's labour of love.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This museum has been mostly put together by one man who has spent many hours serching for artefacts and explanations of the things on show. There is a street reproduced, with shops and people. Film shows to watch.
Delicious home made cakes, tea and coffee available.
A must see on the island

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Occupation Museum also viewed

 

Been to German Occupation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Occupation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.