We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places to stay on our tour, go on nature walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Lodge Habarana to your Saves list
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places to stay on our tour, go on nature walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were on a tour of Sri Lanka and stayed at numerous places throughout our visit but the Cinnamon Lodge in Habarana was one of the first. It was in such a beautiful setting, at one with nature.

Such beautiful surroundings.

On the first day we booked on the 'nature walk' around the hotel's grounds - highly recommend this to anyone. We went out on the tour and saw various wildlife and nature then were taken on a boat on their own private lake - it was the most amazing start to our trip and a boat ride I would never forget, the peace and tranquility. We went out in blazing sun and by the end it had started to downpour! We tipped the guide and would suggest everyone does as often the guides don't get much more than tips and he was fantastic and so appreciative.

We were on the half board there so ate in their buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner which was high quality and delicious, such choice. Fantastic curries every night we were treated to!

Our room was on the first floor which was good, we did see ants outside the property but not inside. We didn't have any problems with mosquitoes but we did have insect repellent (deet strength) and had plug ins for the room.

I hope to one day go back, such an inspiring, natural wonder

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give you comment s on your recent stay with us .All of us at Cinnamon lodge are glad that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us. The natural habitat within the hotel and the surrounding area is one of key attractions.

We look forward in welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    419
    98
    10
    9
See reviews for
342
709
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After experiencing Sri Lanka driving from the airport for 3 hours, it was - delight to reach this hotel. The staff are helpful, the chef gave us a great demonstration of Sri Lankan cooking, great centre for touring the cultural triangle and a great place to relax when you get back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your valuable feedback on you recent stay with us .We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us especially the cookery demo and it was a pleasure to have you with us .
We look forward in welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel which was the first of 3 Cinnamon hotels used on this trip the others being "Citadel" and "Wild". The Cinnamon group have got it right. Beautiful surroundings, quiet rooms. excellent service and good food. All at a very reasonable price. We used the little a la carte restaurant and found the food , service and ambience to be first class. The buffet area looked a little noisy for us, but that is just our choice, we are a couple and the buffet was full of families enjoying the surroundings and the food from what I can gather. So definitely no complaints, only that we were not there long enough to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings to the full.

Room Tip: The further away from the main building the quieter it is but then it is not a noisy place to begin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments all of us at cinnamon Lodge are glad that you had a memorable time during your recent stay with us .We wish your next stay with us would be for a longer period
We look forward in welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

There were 6 of us, 3 couples and had a fantastic time in Sri Lanka in January; 2014. There is so much to see and enjoy with the various sights. We travelled just under 2,000 kilometers in a lovely 8 seater with perfect air conditioned car. The tour company was SLIMLINETOURS.
We were taken from the airport to Negombo to Jetwing Beach Hotel for lunch, quick City tour and than to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, where we sat in reception with a lovely cold drink and face wipes and in the mean time we were checked in by our guide NALINDA and all the luggage was taken care by our driver DINUSH.
The Hotel was very open plan with greenary, water ponds and walking footpath. The rooms were large but needed upgrading with a little bit of colour. On the last day there was a beautiful flower arrangement to say good bye in our room. Huge variety of fabulous food with vegeterian option as well. We stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights and managed day trips to the surrounding area like Polonnaruwa, Sigria, Dumbulla, Anuradhapura and Aukuna.

Room Tip: All the rooms were same size but near the reception is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving your feedback . We are glad that we made your first experience of Sri Lanka a memorable one. We also thank you for Choosing Cinnamon Lodge Habarana for your stay.
As you know we are at a central location in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka.
We look forward to having you with us once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We spent two nights at Cinnamon Lodge and really enjoyed our time there. Upon arrival the front desk area had no idea about our reservation even though we showed a receipt. They kept asking if we booked through Expedia or Agoda even though we insisted we had gone straight through the hotel. Finally, we were able to be accommodated. This was really the only issue as we proceeded to enjoy the beautiful, extremely spacious grounds and a very nice room. I wished the room had a bathtub but that's just my personal preference. Flower petals were left in the room and the highlight was really the dining. Dining offerings were extensive, staff in this area were very helpful, and there were enough options available that those seeking gluten-free or healthy items could still have a meal. The dessert room in the evenings was to die for and pretty amazing. Overall we really enjoyed this resort and would return. There is also a giant swimming pool although we didn't get time for it and a nice jogging track which we did take advantage of.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving your feedback .All of us at Cinnamon Lodge are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the desserts we had on offer .We have also taken note of the comment regarding the check in
We look forward to having you with us once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on the Kuoni Celon Tour . We stayed 2 nights and it was a lovely introduction to Sri Lanka. Food was lovely especially the dessert room and the chocolates . Enjoyed watching the monkeys in the morning outside our room which was spacious and had everything you could want. We were able to have a ride on an elephant along the side of the lake before breakfast. Pool looked lovely ,unfortunately not enough time to go in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us we are glad you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed all what we had on offer including the dessert room .It is one of the most popular places in the hotel.
We look forward to having you with us once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our first stay of our Kuoni Tour (arranged through Escape Worldwide), Cinnamon Lodge was pretty much what we expected - a pleasant out-of-town retreat with it's own grounds beside a large man-made lake, a couple of dining choices, and a central pool area.

We stayed here for three nights in an Deluxe room which was essentially the downstairs half of a two-storey lodge. The lodges are quite rustic with lots of dark wood and tiled floors and there is plenty of space to sit, eat or put things. The main bedroom/sitting area has plenty of electrical sockets (a mix of uk and sri-lanka style sockets) a mini-bar fridge (we had to ask to get this unlocked) containing some drinks and a couple of snacks and an iron/ironing board as well as plenty of clothes storage. This room is air conditioning with a remote control so you can keep cool.

The bathroom area included a shower, a bath and the wc. The windows in here were fairly open to the elements and in our case, the elements included hundreds of ants constantly streaming in a path from one end of the room to the other. For the most part, I just ignored them as they kept away from the shower and the floor but I did have to brush them off the wc a few times. Wireless internet access is free here (as it was in every place we stayed in Sri Lanka) but it was dreadfully slow from our room (even when the wifi signal was good), bordering on useless at times.

The grounds here are great, there's a number of paths that take you around the perimeter of the hotel boundaries including the lake. On one walk, we caught sight of (and photographed) palm squirrels, a giant squirrel, toque macaques, grey langurs, bee-eaters, a paradise bird, egrets, cormorants, an eagle, kingfishers and various other birds and insects. You do need to spray n some insect repellent in the evening/early morning but we didn't find the insects here anywhere nearly as annoying as they were at the coast.

Dining options mainly consist of a snack menu (burgers, sandwiches etc) that are available in-room or at the bar, a buffet restaurant (breakfast/dinner) and two a-la-carte restaurants. We tried all three for dinner and found the buffet was okay for dinner or breakfast - but try and get in early to avoid food that's been sitting out for too long (good advice for any buffet), the snack food was below par (one of the greasiest, bland club sandwiches I've ever had) but the food at the Lotus restaurant was excellent and I would recommend that to any future guest. The only real annoyance I had was that every single time we went for a meal or even a drink at the bar, the staff would push the special outdoor romantic dinner for two menu at you in the hope of getting you to pay the $100 or whatever is was to eat outside with the bugs. I got a bit annoyed at having to go repeat myself every meal/drink. The only other thing I didn't really like was, while having lunch at the bar on the second day, having a pregnant cat wowling at us throughout the whole meal. Every time a staff member came near, it hid and them came back a minute later.

I quite liked Cinnamon Lodge - it's a good base for activities in the Habarana area, the a-la-carte food is good and the grounds and lodges are nice (as long as you're okay living with nature) - just avoid the snack food and don't expect super fast broadband (the latter generally applies to most of Sri Lanka).

+ Great location
+ Wildlife (giant squirrels, chipmunks, toque macaques, gray langurs, heron, egrets, kingfishers, bee-eaters)
+ spacious rooms (premium room)
+ great a-la carte restaurant
+ good food prices
+ decent cocktails
+ nice welcome (cloth and fruit juice)
+ smiling/friendly staff

- ants
- average food bar/room service
- split beds
- dripping air con
- cats
- slow wifi

Room Tip: Premium rooms are nice, just watch for insect invasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for giving your constructive comments on you recent stay with us. And we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay.We would also like to mention that we have taken note of your concerns as well
We look forward in welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.