We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Lodge Habarana to your Saves list
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been visiting Sri-Lanka for over 20 years and usually we stay in the South however we decided to do a trip with our friends from Australia. When we arrived at this hotel the room was basic and dark. I requested more pillows and soap as there was 5 in my family, the pillows were delivered to the wrong room and I never got the soap. The staffs English knowledge is poor which is unusual in Srilanka and the staff often ignored you as they did not understand I had to ask my husband to translate! The food was poor and we all ended up with stomach problems as food was not kept at correct temperatures. It needs to send staff to Kandalama hotel for training. There is no gym or spa only a swimming pool! A great disappointment after the Hilton.

Room Tip: no spa no facilities at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review & we do regret that certain aspects of your stay with us was not to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    341
    78
    8
    7
See reviews for
295
599
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A real oasis. Good public areas, grouped around the pool which was large but never seemed noisy. Outstanding buffet breakfast - the best selection of hoppers we found anywhere. Dinner in the fine dining restaurant was excellent - and imaginative range of local and imported cuisines and foods.
The rooms were well distributed around the extensive site, a little disappointed that the superior rooms which we stayed in (two per "villa" one above the other) were arranged in a grid so that the terraces or balconies of one looked directly across to the corresponding spaces in the next "villa". The rooms were large and well equipped but with little storage space and best advantage did not seem to have been made of the space available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hoppers at breakfast & other culinary offerings.

Thank you for having stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel...staff were very friendly and helpful , letting us check in a bit earlier as we arrived sooner than anticipated. We had a nice welcome drink and fruit bowls in the bedroom...Rooms were nice, beautiful views of the lakeside, comfortable beds, but the bathrooms were a bit dated which was a slight let down (hair dryer wiring needs a good clean as was dusty)...I think this needs to be sorted in order to call this a 5 star hotel... Overall very pleased and would definitely revisit this hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are glad that you were pleased overall with our services & facilities, we also thank you for your constructive feed back.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur, Oman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

IT was a very good experience there. Very good rooms although there are some broken items. The lodge is very good and in the location were all tours start. There is a lot of wildlife in and around the lodge.

BUT BEWARE!!! AT AROUND EVENING, THERE WILL BE LOT OF MONKEYS IN THE LODGE!! CLOSE YOUR WINDOWS AND DON'T DARE TO STEP OUT! THEY ATTACK IN GROUPS AND ARE VERY DANGEROUS!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review & we are glad that your experience of the facilities was to your expectations.

The resort is situated in a natural habitat with many species of birds & other fauna that have made the Cinnamon Lodge their home. We have not had any instances of monkeys attacking people but they do get disturbed & tend to be noisy if they perceive aggressiveness directed at them especially when they are with young ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Magnificent grounds give this hotel an unworldly atmosphere. Our room was in a bungalow some distance from the main hotel building - across the lake and through the gardens - which were often occupied by visiting monkeys. The hotel revolves around a large buffet style restaurant area adjacent to the pool. There's also a smaller and more private a la carte restaurant (expensive) or there's a cheaper coffee bar/veranda which serves a selection of well presented snacks. If you're staying here you are a long way from alternatives so it's good to have choice! A fabulous place to stay, our only quibble would be the extra charges and taxes that inevitably end up inflating the price that you pay - expect an extra 25% on top of the headline prices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very popular so you may struggle to get a choice of room. Book as far in advance as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location of the resort that is central & in close proximity to the heritage sites & wild life parks is a feature often commented by our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved several things about the property. Large lawns and wild areas on the lake. Open restaurant on nice pool. Good loungers. Wifi ok. Breakfast was good. Other meals we ordered alacarte and there were always some issues with many items unavailable and long waits for meals. Food standards seemed good. In particular we were impressed with the services of waiter Kohsun and front desk Yohan. They seemed to really care and always went out of their way and particular followed up on requested we made had been done properly. I commend both of these young men for trying to better our stay. It's always the little things! Good spot to stay for the local attractions safari and Sigiryi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments on two members of our team has been passed on to them & they are glad that they made a difference.

Thank you for having stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Cinnamon Lodge (deluxe suite) for a night recently and the experience was good. It is a large lavish resort with a lake and lots of flora/ fauna within the resort. We took a 1 hr walk in the morning and it was tranquil. The buffet spread (dinner) was huge but was priced a bit high ($22) and the breakfast spread was equally good. Limited options for vegetarians if not opting for the buffet as the fine dine restaurant has limited options and so coffee shop remains the only place left. We did not opt for the safari jeep from the hotel as it was priced higher as expected but took it from outside the resort. The pool is large but it was not heated so slightly chilly in Dec weather. The rooms are very basic though, TV is the old 21" CRT instead of flat screen, bathroom has no tub, checkout was painful as they took ages to get our luggage out etc. It is a great base to cover Minneriya, Sigriya and Dambulla as covering them from Kandy is tedious and tiring. The resort is rated very highly on TA and we sure liked it but it is worth only if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us & we are pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of our stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.