We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice older property ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Save Saved
You added Cinnamon Lodge Habarana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Habarana
Toronto
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice older property ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved several things about the property. Large lawns and wild areas on the lake. Open restaurant on nice pool. Good loungers. Wifi ok. Breakfast was good. Other meals we ordered alacarte and there were always some issues with many items unavailable and long waits for meals. Food standards seemed good. In particular we were impressed with the services of waiter Kohsun and front desk Yohan. They seemed to really care and always went out of their way and particular followed up on requested we made had been done properly. I commend both of these young men for trying to better our stay. It's always the little things! Good spot to stay for the local attractions safari and Sigiryi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments on two members of our team has been passed on to them & they are glad that they made a difference.

Thank you for having stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    624
    285
    62
    7
    5
See reviews for
248
510
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Cinnamon Lodge (deluxe suite) for a night recently and the experience was good. It is a large lavish resort with a lake and lots of flora/ fauna within the resort. We took a 1 hr walk in the morning and it was tranquil. The buffet spread (dinner) was huge but was priced a bit high ($22) and the breakfast spread was equally good. Limited options for vegetarians if not opting for the buffet as the fine dine restaurant has limited options and so coffee shop remains the only place left. We did not opt for the safari jeep from the hotel as it was priced higher as expected but took it from outside the resort. The pool is large but it was not heated so slightly chilly in Dec weather. The rooms are very basic though, TV is the old 21" CRT instead of flat screen, bathroom has no tub, checkout was painful as they took ages to get our luggage out etc. It is a great base to cover Minneriya, Sigriya and Dambulla as covering them from Kandy is tedious and tiring. The resort is rated very highly on TA and we sure liked it but it is worth only if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us & we are pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of our stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

So - our journey continued and we spent 2 nights at this hotel on our tour.
Check in was professional and fast, the room was a delight, furnished well with space and a lovely bathroom. The pool was big and the area surrounding the hotel was beautiful.
What we found staggering at this and other Cinnamon Hotels was the lack of choice of tea! In a tea growing nation it was impossible to have a cup of Earl Grey tea - my husbands tipple! The only choice of tea was Breakfast or Green!
The service was overall very good other than on our second night the restaurant service was not great!
All that said this hotel is situated in a haven of its own and worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review & for having stayed with us, your constructive feed back on the choice of tea is appreciated & duly noted for rectification.

We are delighted that you found the Cinnamon Lodge to be a peaceful haven & we look forward to having you with us soon again to enjoy our serene spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was a highlight of our trip to the Sigiriya region. The facilities are beautiful and the rooms are very good. It is well spaced out and has a very nice feel to it.

The staff are all very pleasant but service is S-L-O-W. But, it gives you a chance to relax and enjoy the stay, unless you are rushing, like we were, to a game drive in one of the nearby national parks. There was also a lack of empowerment that the staff seemed to have with best intentions being unable to solve simple guest problems.

Rooms are terrific. The grounds worth visiting almost as an attraction. Food is good. The pool is great, and we would certainly stay there again,

Room Tip: Our kids LOVED the playground and tree house on the grounds of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review & we are glad that you intend staying with us again..

Thank you for your constructive feedback which will definitely help us in serving you our guest better.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stunning hotel with fantastic service and staff. Incredible bar and pool, surprisingly delicious buffet (dinner and breakfast). We ate at the smaller "fine dining" restaurant and it was delicious and cost about $100 USD for 4 people.
The staff were sweet and checked us in very promptly. There was free wifi in the rooms which I was surprised by.
Perfect hotel and a perfect place to stay while visiting Sigriya and the surrounding locations.
I also purchased a stunning set of earrings from the jewelry store in the hotel which was an excellent buy. The little excursion shop set us up with an excellent 3 hour safari to see elephants which was truly fantastic (at only $30USD per person it was a great deal). The whole place is magical!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review & we are delighted that all aspects of your stay with us enhanced your holiday experience.

We are glad indeed that you chose to stay with us.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but we experienced a number of service / quality issues that really need to be ironed out.

As others have said, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds. And there are lots of fairly friendly monkeys and cute chipmunks running around. The room was a good size, comfortable and well serviced, but also felt a little dark and was quite a distance from the restaurant.

Food and service in the restaurant was good but not exceptional. There is probably something for everyone’s taste but some things looked decidedly unappetising – like the plate of dried up cheese slices at dinner (they looked somewhat fresher at breakfast). The food overall didn’t feel like great value.

Our worst service experience came as a result of having no umbrella in the room. It was hammering down with rain and we needed to cross the resort to go to dinner. We called reception to ask if there was an umbrella in the room. Despite suggesting a number of places to look, there wasn’t one in the room. So the receptionist suggested we collect one from the lobby… (10 minutes walk in the open air). We asked them if they could bring one, they said they would. Nothing for 15 minutes, so we rang and asked again.

Five more minutes, still nothing, so we asked to speak to a manager, and eventually an umbrella was delivered. This kind of rain is fairly common in Sri Lanka, so we can’t have been the first guests to find ourselves in this position, but we ended up eating quite late that night.

One other issue was that crossing the resort at night is the darkness – a torch would have been handy as path lighting is limited. This became a particular issue as they had been repairing the path during the day and sections were off limits. However, the way it was marked off limits was often simply by a grey few bricks placed in the path – very easily kicked in the dark, and quite painful if you only have flip flops on I am sure…

Also don’t expect to be offered drinks if you are lounging by the pool – you’ll need to go to the bar to order. This might appeal to some as there is no pressure to buy, but at this kind of resort I would expect a pool drinks service.

Despite the imperfections it is still a good option as it is a charming setting and reasonably priced, but it could have been better if they just tweaked a few simple things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Our sincere apologies for the service short falls & thank you for your constructive comments, it is candid feedback of this nature that help us in our quest of serving you our guest better.

Thank you for your review & we are glad that the overall stay with us was a good one.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A Scenic environment by trees and bushes make Cinnamon Lodge a wonderful place to visit.

Staff is very friendly and have excellent selection of foods for breakfast, Dinner and lunch. Pool area is excellent. The best thing I have seen is the surroundings, Trees, bushes and calm environment. Good location to relax a bit.

View is very beautify

Room Tip: All the rooms are like cottage type so all of them are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
The fact that the tranquil spaces of the Cinnamon Lodge with its 2008 trees enhanced your experience makes us delighted.

Thank you for your review & for having stayed with us, we look to having you with us soon again.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.