We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food of the gods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Lodge Habarana to your Saves list
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food of the gods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in a superior room at this wonderful hotel. We arrived late in the day and we were greeted by the most friendliest of people who smiled all the time. We were quickly taken to our room which was spacious but basic with an excellent large bathroom and shower but the water pressure was a let down. Dinner that night was wonderful. We sat on the verandah overlooking the wonderful pool and listened to laughing children and their families as they swam in the dark surrounded by Christmas lights hung in the trees. Although it was often raining it was not a problem as all rooms had umbrellas and the warmth made everything dry quickly. The highlight of our stay was Christmas Eve dinner when we could eat food from every continent. All hot and freshly prepared to our personal taste. The desserts cold room was fit for the gods and we kept popping back to cool down and try something else. Santa arrived on an elephant and
we all dashed out to see him and his elves. I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful Christmas experience and a marvellous hotel to use as a base for your tour of the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us especially considering the fact that your Christmas Eve was up to your heart’s content though being celebrated away from home. Our dessert room has always been a favorite amongst our guests and your comments will be conveyed to the dedicated team behind it. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    417
    98
    10
    9
See reviews for
341
706
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. The grounds and setting of the hotel are just beautiful...lakes, hugs trees lots of animals (monkeys, squirrels, mongoose...). The lobby,pool and restaurant are also very nice. The rooms are pretty basic, but nice. Ours had an older TV and didn't have some basics like slippers/robes...that one is used to having. But it was adequate. The breakfast buffet was simply great, lots of options and everything very good.
We were there for the CHristmas Eve dinner and that was varied and good.
The staff all spoke decent English.

Some cons:
When we arrived, there was a huge cockroach in the bathroom and lots of debris from outside (there is only a net on the window), so even though the room had been cleaned, it should be freshened up before guests arrive. Also, we had a triple, but the extra bed only had a sheet, no comforter (it took 3 calls before they brought us one). We only had 2 glasses...basically, they simply threw a foldaway bed and called it a triple.
On one night we were out of hot water for 2 hours. The workers turned the boiler on and told us to wait 20 mins...then 30...finally, we demanded to shower somewhere else and had to walk 9in the torrential rain) to another room. In the meantime we had missed dinner, so they gave us free room service (appreciated).
Those are the reasons why I'm not giving it a 5. Otherwise, we had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We used the Cinnamon Lodge for 3 nights as our base whilst visiting the Cultural Triangle. The hotel has a lovely location by a lake, wildlife surrounds you, and the resident monkeys and chipmunks provide excellent entertainment. We stayed in the superior rooms, which were very spacious and well maintained by great room staff. We were on half board, which was buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal. The choice and standard was food fantastic, especially the 'cold room' ,which is a dessertaholics dream! The hotel grows and rears a lot of organic food and cattle, the organic curd was the best we had on our travels. The pool is a lovely and an excellent way to end the day after all the travelling and climbing! Staff were very attentive and cheerful, all of whom said they loved working here.......we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful grounds and beautiful spacious rooms makes your stay in Cinnenmon lodge
a place where you do not like to leave!!
On top of that fantastic food and service!!
We stayed two nights just at the beginning of our holiday in Sri Lanka, but there was no other place in Sri Lanka who was as nice as this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

High end hotel with large excellent pool, spacious rooms and monkeys, birds and other wildlife everywhere.

Attentive service as would be expected with the price. food is buffet for breakfast and then choice of buffet or bar menu for lunch and dinner. buffet is quite expensive for sri lanka but bar menu is reasonably priced and sufficient for most appetites with selection of sandwiches burgers pasta and curry. rooms are well spread out across the large site with plenty of space even in the basic rooms. they do their own excursions including jeep safari. can get cheaper outside but convenient from the hotel. same as elephant ride along habarrana lake which the hotel sits on.

only weak area is that very little to do in the evening if you like lively bars but thats the same across sri lanka. not helped by the live music we experienced at the bar for two evenings which was american pop ballads. Completely out of context and better would have been some sri lankan or indian musicians which would have fitted the beautiful surroundings.

Take a book for the evenings and enjoy the peace.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We started off in a standard room which wasn't overlooking the lake (I had requested this 9 months ago) and I was disappointed. Seemed away from anywhere, bit miserable looking to be honest. That night however a member of staff introduced herself to us and apologised that she couldn't offer us a lake view as they were fully booked but upgraded us the next day. I was not that bothered actually as it meant packing and unpacking again but I did it anyway and was so glad that I did. The difference in room and location was amazing. We stayed in room 62 ( I think it was a superior room)

After a morning walk with our 3 and 5 year old we saw chipmunks, flying squirrels, two types of monkeys, lizards one of which we thought was a baby croc as it was huge and swimming in the water ( typical English tourists!) and many little adventures for our children on the grounds. Amazing.

The food was good, felt they could cater for children at the pool with a kids menu (kids menus were only offered in room service) but after discussing with manager it was offered.

Went on an elephant ride near by, I felt very unsafe and asked them to turn around. I know I may seem like a silly tourist and many of the elephant handlers will promise you it's safe but have asked many Sri Lankans since then and have heard some horror stories, just a word of warning.

Room Tip: We liked 62, nice view, close to the kids play area and near pool, restaurant etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas, it was very quiet but that was ok. The rooms were lovely but had to watch the monkeys didn't come in through the open doors! The food was amazing especially the dessert/pudding room ...yes a room chilled just for puddings. Would love to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.