We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Village Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Village Habarana to your Saves list
Chaaya Village Habarana
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and stayed here for 2 nights during our tour with Kuoni.
Our villa type room was spacious, as was the 'wet room' type bathroom, although the toilet seat was cheap plastic.
Toiletries were supplied in little ceramic pots.
Whilst we were there the electric went off on several occasions for a brief spell, probably due to the wet weather.
The grounds were very large with amusing monkeys,chipmunks and birds. There was a big lake where you could have a boat ride if you chose to.
It was lovely listening to the 'jungle' sounds on a morning and evening.
Unfortunately there is nothing around the area so you have to stay in the hotel.
It was dimly lit at night, and could prove to be difficult to walk on the pathway due to there being large gaps between the paving slabs.
The bar/lounge was large, staff were polite and friendly, drinks were reasonable, although wine was expensive due to it being imported.
The food was to die for, with a very extensive choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    306
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
176
418
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Located ideally for the 'cultural triangle' area of Sri Lanka, accommodation is in the form of individual cabins which are rather basic - large bed, concrete shower room, slightly smelly drains! However, the room and en suite were spotlessly clean and the staff had thoughtfully plugged in a mosquito device. There was a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities.

The restaurant / bar area is situated in a separate building and was lovely - fantastic - good forboth evening meals and breakfast, in fact some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. They did a special seafood BBQ one night and the prawns and lobster were the best I have had anywhere.

So don't be put off my the basic accommodation - it's comfortable and clean and the food and service second to none.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Symphony on the banks!
This lovely property sits by the lake and is nicely landscaped. Because of that in the morning hours one can hear all kinds of birds singing, calling out and whistling with the occasional peacock calls creating a magical symphony. The still waters of the lake add to the charm with plenty of egrets and other water fowls. One can see many of these birds easily as well. Select to stay at the Kingfisher Lodge (room) for a front row view and sounds. It is a lovely cottage, well appointed and very comfortable. The check-in check-out was easy. The chefs here know what they are doing. Food is very good - both Buffett and Ala Carte. Room service is fast and efficient. All in all a great place to base yourself for the various excursions or just to relax. Pool is huge and the hotel can arrange for elephant rides and bird watching.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights using it as a base while visiting Sigirya, Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa. The pool, lake and grounds are lovely to relax in and wander around, especially in the morning. Our room was large and very nice with a king size bed, bath and indoor/outdoor rain shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful, one night the power in our room went out and it was fixed by the time we came back from dinner. The two breakfasts and dinners we had were amazing - great food and a good variety, including 8-10 Sri Lankan options at each. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

From Trincomalee , we came back to Habarana and spent two days in the Chaaya Village hotel in Habarana. Chaaya Village hotel has individual cabins or villas. One cabin can easily accomodate two to three people. I liked the concept of individual cabins. Unlike adjoining hotel rooms, separate cabins give you a sense of privacy. They were bigger than normal hotel rooms. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a cup of cinnamon tea. We arrived in the late afternoon and managed to see some wildlife around the hotel. There were monkeys in the hotel garden. We saw some rare birds on the trees near the lake. The next day, we were planning to visit some of the ruins in the cultural triangle. A few of us planned to do a boat ride in the lake. Unfortunately, the next day, there was nonstop heavy rain and we were confined to stay in the rooms. We got together in one villa and played Bridge to while away the time. The hotel had a supply of umbrellas for us to walk to the main hall for dinner.
Their buffet breakfast and dinner had a good choice of food, both local and western. The food was tasty and well presented.
The last day, in the morning , I saw a pair of giant squirrels making noises and playing among the tree branches. Giant squirrel has the same appearance as a normal squirrel, but can be as big as a possum in size. One squirrel came down from the tree and was looking at us, as if asking for food. One of the ladies in our group gave a piece of banana. The squirrel grabbed it in its mouth and ran up the tree.
The hotel staff were very friendly. We found that some of them daily travel long distances to come to work. The hotel is quite nice, but when compared to other five star hotels, this is more like a four star hotel.
This is a good hotel for the tourists who want to visit the ruins and also the Minneriya wild elephants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

There are a couple of reasons why I would not recommend this hotel, but first the good points. We found the staff to be friendly and mostly helpful (we had to ask three times for a toilet roll for the room when house keeping forgot), the food was good, but there was a distinct lack of Sri Lankan food on both the buffet and a la carte menus (I can eat pasta at home). The hotel is well positioned for the cultural triangle and is well laid out.
We saw from previous reviews that there can be a problem with monkeys running around on the roofs, so we took earplugs with us - unfortunately even these were not enough to drown out the full scale riot that greeted us one morning at 3am. You could be lucky and avoid being woken as we were on two of our three nights but it's more than likely that you will be awoken, and probably a certanty if you don't have earplugs (I'd advise these as a necessity for any hotel in Sri Lanka).
On each of the trips we went on while staying at the Chaya our guide would greet some of his colleagues and friends, they were obviously asking where he was staying when he said Chaya, they would always seem to commiserate him; when we were leaving the hotel I asked about this, "not a good place for guides to stay" was all he would say. We mentioned this to a couple we met later on our tour who lived in Sri Lanka, they told us that the the Chaya is notorious for the squalid conditions the guides have to endure when staying there. Had we known this before we would not have booked this hotel, you rely on your guide to make the best of your tour and if he has spent the last three nights in a flea-pit, then you're not going to get the best out of him.
Finally, we were charged for an extra meal that we did not have, our fault for not checking the bill properly and I have no reason to believe it was anything other than an oversight, however after three e-mails and two months the hotel has not responded to our request to rectify the mistake. This is very poor customer service.
If you're touring the triangle then I'd advise that you choose another hotel to get the best experience for both you and your guide.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.
We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

During our Sri Lanka tour we stayed one night together with my wife and almost 9 years old daughter. We were impressed by nature. Clean and large villas complex location's is very convinient to reach any place of the cultural tri-angle.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Village Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Village Habarana

Address: PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaaya Village Habarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Village Habarana lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Chaaya Village Habarana boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chaaya Village Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Village Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.