We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Village Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Village Habarana to your Saves list
Chaaya Village Habarana
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

A one night stay with family in two rooms. they were poorly maintained and very basic. Food was very basic in the cafeteria and did not inspire. Despite making a big fuss at reception that it was my sons birthday and promising a cake at dinner, this did not materialize and it was only on checking out that a cake was found. Not a place we would return to willingly

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    305
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
175
418
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The village concept is nice although the cottages are quite close to each other to maximise the space. I hotel is setout on a large block of land bordering a lake. The hotel uses the lake well for evening events and BBQ areas.

The rooms were simple and tastefully fit out. Basic toilet that was functional. Although there was that musty smell that one often gets in hotel toilets in the tropics.

We were on full board and the buffet had a variety of options both Western and local. Having a taste for the local food, it was quite enjoyable. As often seems to be the case, the deserts were fantastic and beautifully presented.

The pool was quite small considering the size of the property and the potential number of occupants. Having said that it was clean. There were bicycles available, although not very well maintained. Interestingly they charged more for the bicycles at the Village than at the Lodge, even though they seemed to share the same bicycles!

The service was friendly and mostly effective.

All in all, it is one of the better options in this area. Having said that, the location and premises have everything required to have a truly top class hotel. Chaaya Village falls well short of that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

its a large spread out hotel by a large lake with many birds. Good ameneties.Comfortable room well away from restaurant area , so quiet.. Bedroom large but decor tired and a little peeling of paint, but it was a very comfortable room with hot water. Attention to details sometimes lacking ,so not 5star eg slime in ornamental pool. Food and restaurant were excellent-as high standard as anywhere we visited.

Room Tip: i suggest have a room away from main resaurant area as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

When you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, to relax and enjoy life, Chaaya village Habarana, welcomes you with warm hospitality. Very friendly and courteous staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Good food, I must emphasise especially on the scrumptious dinner buffet that blows you away with a wide variety of food to choose from. Beautiful, tranquil surroundings over looking the lake makes you feel so relaxed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without out any hesitation.We had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village - Habarana. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was really nice. The rooms were okay, but they were a bit secluded from the other areas of the hotel.The food was the main highlight for our group. There was a wide variety of foods to choose from and we all enjoyed it. There is also a lake nearby which is quite nice to rest and relax. We went on an elephant safari which was just amazing! I would highly recommend the elephant safari for any family!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

An interesting hotel. We had a room along the front (H-06) which felt a bit more isolated than some of the others, which seemed quite closely packed together. We had a nice outdoor shower and a reasonably large room.

The pool was nice to relax by, but not a good shape for swimming. The buffet dinner was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour and enjoyed it immensely. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for our little group.
The rooms are spread around well cared for gardens in little blocks and have everything you need - including mosquito deterrent plug in.
Food was good and tasty with a good selection of choices.
Overall an excellent base to visit the cultural highlights of this area

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Village Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Village Habarana

Address: PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaaya Village Habarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Village Habarana lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Chaaya Village Habarana boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chaaya Village Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Village Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.