We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel, great location and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Village Habarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Village Habarana to your Saves list
Chaaya Village Habarana
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous hotel, great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived at Chaaya Village after a week in (very good) guesthouses elsewhere in Sri Lanka. As soon as you arrive, it's such a great place to stay, the rooms are huge and the bathroom really good. Hardly anyone else seemed to go in the pool, so a lot of the time we had it to ourselves, and the service was fantastic. We had loved the food everywhere else we had been in Sri Lanka, and were reluctant about having an international buffet, so the first night we walked out of the hotel and up to the junction, having a meal there. the next night we were tired after all the day's activities, and one of the waiter's offered us a lower price for the buffet if we only ate the Sri Lankan food - this was perfect for us, and I have to say the quality was much higher than I was expecting - the spice levels didn't seem to have been dumbed down for westerners. Same with the breakfast, which was really good, and we filled up on this every morning. The hotel is well placed for public transport to all the sites around the area (Polonnaruwa, Minneriya, Dambulla etc), though I think most guests here have drivers, as the staff seemed quite surprised that we walked to the junction! Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrac_Motte, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    305
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
175
418
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were advised to relocate one night from Sigiriya to Habarana for easier travel time to Polonnauwa and Minneriya. As it turned out this wasn't really necessary, though I'm glad we did since Chaaya village was one of the better hotels we stayed during our two week tour of Sri Lanka. Excellant choice of buffet, top quality food, lovely room with good facilities. Wonderful size pool awaiting that is a real treat to come back to after a day touring. The TV was very old and small, not though I care much for TV when on holiday but most hotels of this standard have 32" flat screen. Compared to other hotels we stayed during our 2 week tour, this was top value and worthy of a decent rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I gave this hotel a higher rating than I thought it desired because my room was pretty basic with an old TV. The higher rating is due to the delicious buffet and the fine cuisine. The service at the reception desk could be better as some of the men were not very friendly with queries whereas the women seemed friendlier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We thank you for the constructive feedback and will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our first location in deep Sri Lanka, very impressed with the layout and Habarana has a lot to offer tourists. Had a great time here. If i am to be critical, the rooms are chalet style rather than a complex style but this can be endearing. Monkeys play outside your front door and the sound of crickets is noiseyplus the dawn chorus of the birds will wake you, but hey, this is sri lanka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at Chaaya Village as part of our Sri Lanka Tour, it was excellently located for Sigiriya, Polonawura & Kaudulla National Park (Excellent for elephants). The accommodation was of a high standard and the evening buffet and breakfast were both excellent.

The highlight of this hotel is the nature that surrounds it, there were monkeys playing in the fountains running along the roofs and swinging in the trees, it was also the only place in Sri Lanka that we were lucky enough to see a giant squirrel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conrad D, Manager at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is big !
There is a lot of green around you. Because we stayed far from the pool and restaurant , did not feel like a hotel.
Our room definitely needs a bit more TLC. We had an infiltration coming for the bathroom which gave a dark mould look with a unusual smell.
Breakfast is a buffet and has a lot to offer.
Dinner also is a buffet and a huge variety .
Make sure you find just at the entrance to the hotel a little way leading to a elephant ride.
Amazing experience

Room Tip: Avoid been near the pool /restaurant because it can be a bit too noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the room and thank you for your constructive feedback. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandaragama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Its superb for relaxing, we just loved this place. simply amazing. specially the staff is well trained and friendly. Everyone with a smile. that means a lot. we were in a deluxe. ample space. i have nothing to complain about. food is great. one of the best places we ve gone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Village Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Village Habarana

Address: PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaaya Village Habarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Village Habarana lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Chaaya Village Habarana boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chaaya Village Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Village Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.