We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Village Habarana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Village Habarana to your Saves list
Chaaya Village Habarana
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel after 2 years gap. We stayed 4 nights for a residential workshop. It’s a very nice ecofriendly hotel with lovely view. I love to spend my time in the lake side; it’s very peaceful and good treat to our mind. You can see lot of different type of birds in the lake side, beautiful lotus in 2 or 3 different colours. You can find elephants near to the lake and there is a rock just behind the hotel and the sunset is gorgeous to see from the rock. There is a big pool, tennis and badminton cort, space for cricket, tree house, and trail track.

Loved the Sri Lankan food… many variety to pick and only complain is too much of flies in the restaurant and I found dead flies in salad. So after that we dnt take any opened food items, we have informed to the restaurant to cover the food but it was kept open till our last day.

Room Tip: Select Lake view rooms from H block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    302
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
175
415
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alfold, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The accommodation comprised of a series of luxurious cabins complete with their own wooden patio area where you could sit around a table and relax with a book and watch the monkeys playing in the trees before breakfast. The rooms were a good size and very clean as was the bathroom. There was an extensive buffet for both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant where both Aisan and Western food could be found. Although the hotel was large, we had the same friendly waiter each day looking after us which was a great personal touch. During the evening, live music was played in the bar and one day there was an acrobat show. The hotel has a very rural setting in extensive grounds along the shore of a large lake where there are many birds to spot.Swimming in the lake was not allowed but the hotel had a very nice swimming pool. Excellent base for visiting Sigiriya, the Golden Cave Temple and the elephants at Minneriya. It is a hotel I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake if you would like a stunning view from your cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nights 2 and 3 of our tour. We relaxed a little here. A nice welcome with fruit juice (although they grow a lot of papaya, which is strange if you're not used to it).
All the rooms are bungalow-type and were all very nice with high quality furnishings. A few bugs here, but you are next to a wonderful lake, with lovely views. We always go prepared for bugs and would advise everyone to go prepared.
The pool was very good. We arrived after dark and the pool was open til 9pm so we have a nice splash in the dark.
The restaurant was very good. Lots of variety and high quality food. My boys (who like chips) managed very well. The restaurant was very busy and we had to wait a while for a table the first night, but it was worth the wait. We had a drink whilst we waited, and the bar area was very comfortable - with a surprisingly good local band playing pop and country. Drinks were good and reasonably priced. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All seem pretty good - bit of a trek with the suitcases for some rooms, but staff ready and willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Village Habarana.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was only the third hotel we stayed at and for us, the first one that was friendly so we were glad to stay the three nights.

We had a lovely big room and the young gent who looked after our room kept it spotless and was very attentive if we ever called upon him. He checked each night to make sure our tea/coffee supplies were fine and turned down the beds each night. Had a nice decoration placed on the bed our last night of swans and fresh flowers.

The first night we chose the buffet option and although there was lots of options, the following two nights we chose the a la carte option which we enjoyed much more. The service was quick and the food lovely. A different band each night but at every hotel we stayed at in the 3 weeks in SL, all seemed to have exactly the same playlist.

The breakfast staff were also understanding when I asked to take a couple of muffins with me (being a diabetic) and also one day when we returned VERY late in the day, were great about providing me a couple of bread rolls immediately before our lunch order could be cooked. (Took our driver a few days to realise that yes I really did need to have a sandwich in the middle of the day).

The pool was lovely and refreshing. Yes, sometimes we noticed there was no day beds but the Pool lad was excellent about sourcing which seats were not being used and would bring them and clean pool towels to you.


Sadly, we didn't see the monkeys at all though on any of the days but yes, to the elephants taking riders on their back around the lake on the other side.

Was worried about mosquitoes being around but didn't really see any, however, I did put on some Rid when we ate at night just in case. The room had plus in insect repellent.

I did ask to use their computer room and it was so slow, checked I had nothing urgent awaiting me and closed it down. Just make sure if you do Reception gives you the password etc before you get upstairs. I had a problem as they had already issued a password for my husband's smart phone and wouldn't allow me in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Village Habarana. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during a tour in Sri Lanka. The landscape surrounding is beautiful and the hotel is located inside a garden close at lake. The room is large and well kept. The breakfast buffet is various with a big choice of fresh food. We would recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel we were originally booked into closed for decoration so we were switched to this one. We were told that it was better than the original and if that is the case then we clearly had a narrow escape; however, I do not think this was the case. We were allocated room 232 which turned out to be at the end of a row behind staff quarters backing onto an ugly concrete wall topped with barbed wire. The rooms were dingy and dull, although clean and are long overdue decoration. The view was awful as the grounds surrounding the rooms were a dust-bowl with scrubby and scant vegetation. I complained long and hard at reception and was told that the hotel was full and a move would not be possible until the next day. As we moving on after two days we bit the bullet and stayed where we were but did so under protest.
The pool was clean although it did get very full and sun-beds were consequently sometimes hard to find. The area surrounding the pool and to the left as you look from the hotel is best avoided as the smell of raw sewage from the visible manholes is decidedly off-putting and eating and drinking in this area would prove gut-wrenching.
The bar and restaurant were pleasant and the music provided by live bands was relaxing and unobtrusive. The buffet meals were adequate if uninspired and suffered from what almost every other hotel I have stayed at in Sri Lanka does, a lack of chicken breast meat. Every chicken meal is made up of bony thighs or wings, the bone making up 50%+ of the dish; this failing extends to other meats also, a false economy I feel.
All-in-all a disappointing experience which I would not recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms in the L232 area, the settings are grim!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Chaaya Village Habarana, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Tip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We have noted your concerns and will certainly look at improving the highlighted areas. Thank you for your invaluable feedback and we hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

lovely 2 night stay at the hotel where we were upgraded to a suite. staff are very welcoming and the surroundings are beautiful. waking up with monkeys running around and elephants across the lake is a great experience and is a good base to go to Minneriya national park and also Sigiriya. would definately recommend this hotel and would love to go back again one day soon :) we had 1 suite and 1 standard room. both were great but was great to have our own private jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Village Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Village Habarana

Address: PO Box 01, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaaya Village Habarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Village Habarana lies sprawled across 27 acres of luxuriant land bordering a stunning lake of Habarana. The hotel's cozy cottages, inspired by the typical thatched roof huts found locally, lie in clusters with low roofs and brownish yellow exteriors. Chaaya Village Habarana boasts of 94 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites set in the middle of thousands of high-rise trees that provide fruit, medicinal properties and plenty of shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chaaya Village Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Village Habarana Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Hotel Habarana
Chaaya Village Resort Habarana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Village Habarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.