We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Habarane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel to your Saves list
Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel
"Green Path" | Trincomalee Road, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
“Good stay in Habarane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Grand Meaulnes is a nice hotel with a few rooms with nice veranda on the ground floor. It is a quiet area. The staff is friendly an helpfull.
We visited different places when we stayed in Habarane. We had a nice tuk tuk driver, Buta, tel no 0766841919. He showed us Elephants, domestic and wild from his tuk tuk. We also visted Sygaria and Ritigale with him. We als went to the full moon ceremony in the temple with his family and it was very nice.

Henk and Agnes,
Holland

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We only stayed here from the one night on the way from Kandy to Kalkudah but we certainly made the most of our stay!
On arrival we were greeted with sweet fresh lime juice, picked straight from the beautiful garden.
We explained that we were looking to visit Sigiriya and the Minneriya National Park (to witness the incredible elephant migration) and within 20 minutes we were presented with a light lunch, and told a taxi was on its way, at a very reasonable price.
The driver was very friendly and knowledgable, taking great delight in stopping and showing us all the nature to be seen along the drive. As nice as he was however, he was also the reason for our only negative comment, which is solely due to him driving us to visit his 'friend's' wood-work shop, where we were given a lengthy demonstration of how all the ornate statues were made and treated and then asked to 'browse' the shop's wares. Suffice to say, we decided not to buy anything. It's understandable that they want the trade, and no harm done, but just something to be wary of.

The guesthouse itself was simply but tastefully decorated, perfectly clean and very convenient for the local attractions. Also, had a comfortable bed and blackout blinds so we slept very well.
Recommended for those looking for a cheap but comfortable stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our road trip. It's in the middle of a forest if Palm and fruit trees. They welcome you with fresh lime juice. The room was big and clean. Bathroom clean. They made us a nice dinner for 7 usd per head and arranged a safari trip to minneriya park. There is a nice porch where you can sit outside on the evening. Very friendly staff. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This family hotel is very clean. The rooms are spacious and comfy. Though being on the main road, the dense trees in front block outside road noise completely, so it's very calm and feels like in the middle of the jungle. Also perfectly located close to a crossroad if you want to visit Polonuwara, Sigiriya and Anuradhapura, like we did during our 3 days there. The staff is very kind and helpful. And the price of it all very much worth it compared to all the other options around! Amazing value really. We paid 35$ per room at the time of our visit (jan 2014), including breakfast. Rice and curry was really good. Would definitely recommend staying in this hotel if visiting the cultural triangle, it's was just perfect! Good job to the whole staff and keep it up as it is!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Excellent location and friendly and supportive staff are the best thing. Place is clean and has a touch of heritage and warmly welcome. Feels secure and well designed. Walking distance to Habarana Train station and Habarana main bus station. This is a great plus as you can move around quickly to all Heritage cities.

Gave some minor improvement feedback to the owner on lighting and cafe arrangements, and he was very attentive and acknowledge the changes.

Will visit again for sure.............my sincere thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Habarana was the first stop oon our two week holiday and this accommodation was in hindsight one of our favourites. Habarana itself is a dusty crossroads with few charms but it was a great base to visit Polonnaruwa, Kaudulla National Park and Sigiriya. The property is located 5 minutes from the crossroads up a driveway which feels secluded and private and the rooms are spacious and clean with AC. It was the hospitality shown to us by the manager that was particularly special. We enjoyed two incredible dinners cooked by him and I came home disappointed that I didn't ask for his chutney recipe! Unfortunately we didn't catch his name (our driver called him "Uncle") but we enjoyed some interesting conversations with him. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Large, spacious rooms with mosquito nets over windows and big bathroom with hot shower.

What really made us love the place was Abey, our host. A really lovely man, who looked after us during our stay in addition to cooking delicious traditional Sri Lankan cuisine. Thanks Abey!

Extra entertainment in the form of lots of wildlife in the garden, including monitor lizards and some amazing birds.

If you do stay, and are looking for transport we'd recommend "Gune Tours" - Tuk Tuk, Car/Van, and 4x4 if you're doing a Safari - 077 611 5205

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Address: "Green Path" | Trincomalee Road, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dreams a reality while holidaying with your family and friends at Habarana in Sri Lanka. Le Grand Meaulnes Holiday Bungalow is situated in a 2 acre land with coconut and fruit cultivation. Besides, full of trees and brushes you may feel the cool and windy climate though it belongs to the dry climatic area. Habarana is probably the best destination for safari, wildlife, bird watching, nature lovers and situated in the centre of Sri Lankan cultural triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.