We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This certainly has the WOW factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minneriya National Park

Minneriya National Park
Habarana-Polonnaruwa Road, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Habarana
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This certainly has the WOW factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a marvellous safari into the national park. The jeep contained just us two, the driver and our guide and was an experience in itself, bumping over rough terrain and through water-filled mudholes. We were able to stand up and grip the bar, far more exciting than sitting. Our knowledgeable guide pointed out an abundance of wildlife, mainly vegetation, birds and, of course, wild elephants. We struck it lucky and saw around seventy at different times and in various groups, some with babies. On top of all this, the scenery was stunning. What a trip... and this was after coming straight off the plane from the UK and driving up from Colombo

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    133
    41
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great to see lots of elephants in the wild plus lots of birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went on the tour lasting about 3 hours in a mature jeep. It started from the base down quiet country roads where the driver pointed out lizards and other wildlife plus various birds. After a short ride we arrived at the park and picked up our park ranger/guide.

Between the ranger and driver they spotted lots of wiildlife. We saw lots of birds including some large raptors.

The best part was the elephants. We saw over 25 including young bulls and family groups. These included some quite young calfs and we were able to safely get close to them without disturbing them.

We came out of the park at a different place and returned down the road to the start, spotting more elephants and wildlife as we drove.

The whole experience was wonderful with great and close views of elephants and knowledgeable and friendly guide/driver able to spot and talk knowledgably about them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very good jeep safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Saw numerous elephants, do not go if you have a bad back, the ground is very rough and muddy. The experience lasted 3 hours which was good value for money

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sèvres
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So close to elephants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have visited Minneriya National Park during January 2013 and must admit that we did not anticipate being able to see so many elephants so close to the car. There were various groups of 5 to 10 animals with many newly born (at least a few months old). We did not see any other type of animals. Good sightseeing for those who did not experience any safari somewhere else.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Shortly after climbing Lion's Rock, we stopped near Minneriya and caught a jeep tour. We were up close and personal with many of the wildlife - more specifically - the local elephant herds. This is a great use of time and i would recommend booking through a hired travel company such as Off2SriLanka.com as our driver, Sumira, set us up with a great driver and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Wow!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneriya National Park also viewed

Habarana, North Central Province
Habarana, North Central Province
 
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 

Been to Minneriya National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneriya National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.