We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day serenity package :) ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Spa day serenity package :) ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We're not long home from what was a gift of a spa day package.

We had 2 treatments "facial and back massage" We had full use of facilitates, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and pool. Towels and robes were provided. Our package included a 3 course lunch which was delicious. Staff were lovely and hotel just beautiful. Spa girls were very welcoming and treatments were great. Worth a visit for a chilled out day. We hope to return :)

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    117
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
106
377
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Backworth, Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went for an afternoon tea spa break with two friends. The surroundings are lovely, the hotel is very classy and keeps all its Georgian charm. Everything is run perfectly. The spa area is lovely and treatments very relaxing. Afternoon tea was served in the library and this was exactly like a georgian library with lovely leather seats and tea was gorgeous. only slight negative was a wedding taking place at the sametime and to get from spa to the tea we were supposed to walk through the wedding party. will have to go back for a longer stay!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My company recently used this Hotel to host a meeting including overnight stay and evening meal. The facilities were excellent, the meeting room was well equipped and the food was excellent. The bedrooms are gorgeous and i delighted to find Molton Brown products in the Bathroom. I would not hesitate in re-visiting this hotel either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Totally heavenly experience, my partner and I have known about Doxford Hall for a good number of years even before it was made into a Hotel and Spa. We had a Spa day with Lunch and believe me this was absolutely amazing, relaxing and wonderful. The Hotel and Spa are amazing, the Spa is so relaxing and the food was Wonderful....totally Amazing day well worth trying believe me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed over at doxford hall for a business meeting using their facilities throughout the day which where excellently prepared. The service and quality of the overall meeting and accomodation was nothing short of fantastic. I would recommend Doxford Hall for any conference or team meeting and also wedding or special event as I had the privelage of experiencing a couple of years ago. I shall be returning..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Booked at the last minute for a 3 night break in Northumberland to celebrate Mrs B's birthday.
The booking on the telephone to agree the package was really easy and fun to negotiate. When we got there the staff on reception were simply excellent and we were made welcome from the first minute to the last. As we enjoyed the spa, bar and restaurant over the 4 days the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and a real credit to the hotel, making a good break simply great.
The spa is not the biggest but does what is needed very well
The food in the evening was of an extremely high quality, very cheffy (if that's a word) and beautifully presented - breakfast was just as good - all using local produce.
Will definitely use again when staying in the area as nicely placed between Bamburgh and Alnwick

Room Tip: If you want spa treatments book early to avoid dissapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We attended a wedding reception on October 12th, and stayed the night. We had a wonderful stay, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and left refreshed. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and our breakfast was excellent. As we were guests at the wedding we cannot complain about the noise, but would understand if some people did. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask the very helpful staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.