We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem for 19 Euros!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tournesol

Le Tournesol
44, avenue Marechal Foch, 07300 Tournon-sur-Rhone, France
+33 4 75 07 08 26
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Tournesol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $32 - $59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“A gem for 19 Euros!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant en route from Avignon to Lyon, and were very impressed. The menu was quite short since it's based on market ingredients, and the waitress was very kind to attempt to translate it to English for us. We ended up ordering the daily special, which at 19 EUR for 3 courses, was one of the best price-to-quality experiences we've ever had!!

The starter was an imaginative take on a tomato-mozzarella-greenery salad, with superb flavor and arrangement. The main was a slow cooked beef made in red wine, which melted in our mouths. Dessert was also quite interesting, with an unusual presentation for a usual sounding dessert. The wine by glass was also a great value for outstanding local wines.

Our child had a small portion of pasta, and ate the entire dish with no protest (a miracle).

All in all, we would highly recommend!! Service was also friendly and prompt, a really nice treat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Was in a vacation tour, going to Burgundy and found this restaurant.
Good food, good and afordable wine, the service was the best of this charming place.
They were very nice, trying to understand my needs, my questions and I have a very poor
French.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food beautifully presented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

A small restaurant on the main street close to the river boat dock. We were welcomed by the owner even though we were a little early and enjoyed a glass of wine. The menu was in French but the owner translated for us and explained the dishes and also recommended wines. Each course was presented with a flower or some other lovely garnish. The pate was the smoothest we had in all of France. The fish in pappollet (sp?) (a bag) had just the right amount of spice. My dessert was fromage blanc -- apparently a local favorite. It had a custard consistency but more of a sour cream taste. The owner suggested putting sugar on it which helped. Cost was about 50 euro per person including wine.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Everything seemed closed in Valence on the day we visited (a monday, in Sept) so we looked for something in the neibourghood and found this restaurant when searching on tripadvisor.

It turned out to be a bit far away (20mins car ride fro the center of Valence) but we were very impressed with what we ate, especially for the price. The service was very kind and relaxed, they have an excellent wine-list, with a focus on the Rhone region. Finally and most importantly, the food was excellent with artistic presentations and lots of flavor - the cook uses a wide array of spices and herbs to create personal dishes.

The only caveat is that the food menu is relatively small with 4 hors-d'oeuvres and 4 mains. The two of us made different choices and were very pleased we the selection. You can see their menu on their web site to get an idea before you go.

80€ for two with a full menu incl. cheese and desert, plus glasses of wine. Menus start at 18€.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Delightful and welcoming little restaurant; fine value menus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This small, cozy little restaurant belongs to a delightful young couple. Cyril, the chef, offers his guests carefully prepared dishes that are fairly priced and often based on local, seasonal ingredients (I went back to the restaurant for the incredible dish of late fall heirloom tomatoes). A variety of inexpensive menu options are available and the daily menu (from Monday until Friday), consisting of three courses, is a steal at 16 Euros. Hea is in charge of service and, with her warm and welcoming demeanor, makes sure everyone feels well taken care of. Even though we arrived at the restaurant very late, we were treated to a leisurely and excellent dinner. On the wine list, all the fine wines of the upper Rhone are represented (Condrieu, Hermitage, Côte Rôtie, Cornas) but wine lovers can also find a long list of less expensive yet excellent wines).
An unexpected bonus: Hea, who originally comes from Quebec, features the great beers of Unibrou (http://www.unibroue.com/index_eng.html), one of the best breweries world-wide, as a welcome addition to the impressive wine list. If you like beer, try those terrific ales!
Because of the erratic taxi service in Tournon, Cyril matter-of-factly drove the ambulatory-challenged members of our group back to Tain l’Ermitage. Le Tournesol is a real find.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tournesol also viewed

Tournon-sur-Rhone, Ardeche
Mauves, Tournon-sur-Rhone
 
Tournon-sur-Rhone, Ardeche
Tain-l'Hermitage, Drome
 

Been to Le Tournesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tournesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.