We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos

Save Saved
You added B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos
Avenida Constitucion 3, Box 071, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Casa Don Carlos - what a find! It's a sweet little guest house in the Andalusian mountains - clean, well-designed and run in a personable, friendly way by its owners Carlo and Ronald, who have put an exceptional amount of thought and care into making the place perfectly comfortable with everything you could want. Their customer service is second-to-none, they're attentive, thoughtful and lovely to chat with - dinner with them and the other guests in the evenings was a real treat.

Casa Don Carlos is ideally placed for exploring Andalusia, and Carlo and Ronald have got plenty of information, tourist maps and suggested tours all mapped out on cards you can borrow for the day, plus tips on parking, shortcuts, where to find quieter, unspoiled beaches on the Costa Del Sol, you name it. They even make sure you take their phone number with you when you go exploring - any problems, you just give them a call.

The exploring is great, but I'd also strongly recommend taking a few lazy days just to stay at 'home' at Casa Don Carlos. There's a spacious terrace with enough room to relax and be peaceful, enjoying the magnificent view of the valley and mountains. We had a few lovely days sunbathing and lounging around on the terrace or by the pool, ordering lunch from Carlo (an amazing cook!), and then a leisurely dinner in the evening with the other guests.

If you do stay at Casa Don Carlos, and I highly recommend you do, light sleepers might appreciate ear plugs, as I did. The neighbouring villas are very well spaced out, but there are several dogs in the valley who like to hold a shouting match most evenings. There are good strong shutters in the bedroom which cut out most of the noise, but if you prefer fresh air it does come with a bit of yapping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
101
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I first discovered Casa Don Carlos when renting a BMW adventure bike through GS Heaven over 5 years ago. I now go back every year in the winter partly to enjoy riding in Andalucia but just as much to relax in the perfectly peaceful Casa Don Carlos. Everything about the guesthouse has been carefully thought about and the place is kept spotless every time I visit. Carlos cooking is delightful without ever being pretentious and the company is always good. If you want to use Casa Don Carlos as a base to explore Andalucia it is perfect but beware, you will want to make time to enjoy the guest house just as much as all the wonderful places you can see within just a days touring.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Don't worry about which way they face as you will want to get out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Carlo and Ronald are without a doubt worthy of the awards they are getting. They're attention to detail is second to none and the hospitality they provide is heartwarming. Especially noteworthy is the fantastic view making it thoroughly enjoyable to just hang around the B&B all day long. As such, there is no doubt that we will be returning to Casa Don Carlos in the near future whilst also promoting the B&B to all our friends and family. All in all a truly spectacular location to spend one's vacation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay in August 2012, 2 adults and 2 children. What a fabulous time we had. The view from the house is spectacular. The house is wonderful with 6 bedrooms. Due to the fantastic weather other than our rooms which were very comfortable we spent most of our time outside looking out at the view or sunbathing by the pool, but I can imagine in the winter months the dining table and comfortable sofas and log fire would be most welcoming.

The free WIFI was a real bonus and also the availability of pool towels was a bonus. Also air conditioning in the bedrooms was necessary as it was hot weather.

Donald and Carlo were the perfect hosts who speak very good English. I was particulary impressed with their attention to detail in everything that they do and their choice of decor was lovely.

The breakfast choice was good with the option of eggs and was taken outside on the patio infront of the outside kitchen. The honesty bar is a great idea with lots of choice of cold drinks and wine and beer and also you can have a choice of teas and there is fresh coffee machine. The children were very happy with the ice-creams!

The evening meal we had with other guests and Donald and Carlo on the 1st night which they cooked for us was very good and sitting there in the evening outside sipping our cold wine, eating the deliciously prepared food with good company, looking out at the view with the twinkling lights is something my family and I will remember for many years to come.

As they do not cook on a Sunday evening (as they have a well-earned night off!) on the 2nd night we ate in the town approximately 20 minutes away, there are roughly 30 restaurants to choose from and Ronald and Carlos were on hand to advise us and we opted for a very good Indian Restaurant. We then went across the street to a wonderful homemade ice cream shop.

We had spent 2 weeks on the coast which we enjoyed very much with family but when we arrived at the house by taxi it was really peaceful which was what we were looking for to finish off the end of our holiday. I guess most people would arrive by hire car so that they can make the most of travelling around and exploring the area.The property is close to the airport which was ideal.

We would highly recommend this guesthouse/B&B to everyone, I can imagine if you were travelling on your own it would be ideal also. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say this was a wonderful place to stay.

We will definitely be back!! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just back from our 7 day stay plus GS1200 bike rental - absolutely faultless! Each day started with a relaxed breakfast (large selection to choose from) and then a days biking. Dinner is an event not to be missed - Carlo & Ronald's attention to detail is very impressive and their guest service is second to none. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed for three nights in February. Carlo and Ronald know exactly how to be superb hosts. From the welcoming drinks sitting looking at that fantastic view, ensuring that they are there to provide an excellent breakfast (including perfect boiled eggs if you want one) to having a lovely fire burning in the sitting room where you can read or watch the TV. They speak excellent English and are happy to help with plans and routes for touring the region.
As others have said it is wonderful to have a meal with Carlo, Ronald and the other guests which really gives you the chance to get to know new people. And the food was great too!
Rooms are quite small but airy as the roof is high. Beds were comfortable and warm. Bathrooms are cosy but spotless and well appointed. There is no TV or kettle in the rooms. You go to the separate breakfast room where there is a honesty bar with a wide selection of drinks and tea and coffee. This might be a problem in bad weather but certainly was not for us this time.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Casa Don Carlos to anyone wanting a comfortable alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Whe where here for the second time and this time we stayed 1 night at the b&b did make a tour to marocco for 8 days and stayed again 1 night at the b&b,greaat hosts,nice accomodation and easy trip to and from the airport with carlo&ronald,great!!
see you next year for an other trip
michel&heidi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos

Address: Avenida Constitucion 3, Box 071, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Guest House Casa Don Carlos is more than just a Bed & Breakfast, it's a Boutique Hotel, Guesthouse, Inn. It stands for a peaceful and quiet place to stay with a breathtaking view. This Guest House is situated just 25km from the airport and Málaga, Torremolinos, Benalmádena and also not far from Marbella, Mijas and Ronda. Ideal as base camp for your trips around the Costa del Sol and the inland of Andalucía. we also do BMW R1200GS Adventure Rental and Tours see GSHEAVEN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Guesthouse Casa Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.