We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unusual course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alhaurin Golf

Alhaurin Golf
Crta Comarcal MA-426 Km 15,1, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
952 59 58 00
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very unusual course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently played Alhaurin with 2 friends.

It is a very, very unusual course.
With a lot of very steep rises and falls. Many blind drives. Incredible views.

One of my friends is a very low handicap golfer and at times he felt it was a little more like crazy golf than "proper golf" but it was agreed by us all that is was unique.

Friendly staff and an early tee time meant we were not held up (or that it felt busy) all the way round.

A good find at a very reasonable price.

One thing...... I would not want to play it when it is windy :-)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blind Shots”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Firstly the positives. Staff were all very friendly, the course was open despite some heavy rain the night before and apart from the first few holes was not overly soaked underfoot and the views are stunning at times.

Now for the bad. A mixture of poor etiquette and seemingly endless blind shots lead to us being hit into around half a dozen times and we were seriously lucky not to have been badly injured. The wet paths combined with steep elevation drops and buggies that were long past their sell by date lead to some very dangerous situations were it felt like the buggy might run away from you at anytime causing damage and injury. Some new tyres and brakes are badly needed.

The course itself is overly difficult with slopes, elevation drops and 16 of the 18 holes are blind shots (including one of the par 3's). The greens were okay and the general conditioning of the course was on par with the price of the green fee.

After 10 holes we had the opportunity of purchasing food (only crisps) and drinks (soft drinks) from the amenities cart. On opening the crisps and finding them to be soft we checked the dates to find them well out of date. On closer inspection the packets were full of holes from an animal or insect burrowing into them. DISGUSTING.

We decided not to eat in the restaurant due to the incident with the crisps and headed to Santana Golf Club just down the hill for lunch.

I would probably not visit this club again, the course was only okay whilst the amenities were totally off putting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Outstanding very scenic golf course set into the hills around Alhaurin el Grande. Many holes have fantastic outlooks, some offering 360 degee views with tee boxes often dropping hundreds of feet to the fairways. If you dont bring along your 'A' game bring along lots of golf balls! Well worth a visit and the club house offers good grub and much needed refreshments.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“First Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Played this course last week. What a find its awsome, probably the hardest but most awe inspiring course I hav every had the opportunity to play.

Tight drives, undulating fairways, very few flat lies, great views.

That says it all, but, it is in great condition, good fairways and true and not too fast greens, very resonably priced and the staff are great.

Give it a go you will be pleasantly suprised.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“nice par 3 course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely course designed by Seve Balasteros. I'm only a beginner so play the 9 hole par 3. Very picturesque and enjoyable to play. 18 euro a round or 25 euro a day. Fairly challenging for a beginner too including holes with tee to over lake and tee to over what looks like an abyss.

Driving range is useful too. Vending machine with one euro for about 25 balls in a basket.

Nice bar restaurant available serving plain food at reasonable cost.

Golf shop open till 7pm and good English spoken by staff. Not a great selection though n far too expensive for me ;-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alhaurin Golf also viewed

 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to Alhaurin Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhaurin Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.