We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where the locals eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bar La Sardina

Restaurant Bar La Sardina
Centro Historico, Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is where the locals eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I live in Alhaurin and can say that out of all the restaurants in the village this is our favourite . The menu is varied and includes lots of very good fish and meat choices. In the winter try the snails and in the summer the fried fish. Prices are good, on friday 4 of us (2 adults and two kids) ate well with drinks for around 40€. You can of course spend more....the T-bone steak from the north of spain and the pata negra jamon are amazing. It tends to fill up with visitors from around 8pm...although the locals rarely start arriving till about 10pm. As I say we were there last friday with a Danish family on the table to our right and the Mayor with his family on our left. A good honest family business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

One if our favourite restaurants in the area. We have been coming to Alhaurin for the past 4 years & always try to visit when we are here. A large menu with great Spanish specialities & tapas as well as something a bit different (the Carribean Pork & Grand Marnier Chicken are excellent & served with wild grain rice) Best of all we love the cobbled pavement setting in the heart of town, often with mainly Spanish families enjoying dining late into the warm evenings. (However it is equally nice inside at other times of the year.) Never disappointed yet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value 14 Euro Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We dropped into this restaurant after walking around town for a while and were impressed. The service was attentive but relaxed. One member of staff, with a dry sense of humour, speaks very good English. The standard of food was excellent, particularly for only 14 Euros. There was quite a wide choice. The prawn starters and the duck main course was a big hit with our party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and no tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Super selection of tapas very reasonably priced- gambas pil pil was superb - friendly staff and good service. Even though only 17 kilometers or so from the coast you felt that you were in real Spain and not the concrete jungle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tapas are excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a traditional Spanish restaurant that has been updated in recent years. Very popular with the Spanish that is a good recommendation! We love the tapas here, slightly different and some are freshly cooked in the kitchen. Lovely atmosphere when you can sit out in the cobbled street at night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bar La Sardina also viewed

Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Bar La Sardina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Bar La Sardina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.