We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Laila

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alhaurin el Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Laila
Save
You added Casa de Laila to your Saves list
Camino Ardalejos 75 | La Chichara, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The setting of Casa de Laila is beautiful, with amazing views and a lovely pool area. The whole experience was generally relaxing and enjoyable. The only thing I would say is that there is only the option to eat in the onsite 'restaurant' on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which I didn't think was particularly clear on the website, and so be prepared to cook onsite or eat out the other nights. Also when we went they weren't doing food for the whole week, which would have been nice to know in advance, so check before you go. We also arranged for a transfer from the airport to Casa de Laila, but nobody turned up to pick us up, which was a bit inconvenient, so double check/remind them the day you fly!
Other than that, we had a lovely stay and I would still go back again. Wish we had longer there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ann-Marie and Benjamin have created a wonderfully relaxing idyll just outside Alhaurin el Grande. We stayed in the apartment, which was very comfortable (air-conditioned) with a fabulous view over the mountains from the spacious terrace. The gardens surrounding the pool are amazing - gorgeous flowers and plants - and the whole ambience makes you feel miles away from a busy world. During the time we were there, there was a lovely, friendly atmosphere between the guests which really added to the experience. Dinner was available on one evening during our week's stay and it's recommended as an experience! Getting into town is about a 15-20 minute walk but take a torch for the way home at night. There are lots of animals too - we especially enjoyed meeting Rami the dog!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friends got married at Casa de Laila and Ben and we couldn't have hoped for a better location. The scenery is truly stunning of the surrounding area and the hosts, Ben and Anne-Marie, could not have been more accommodating. Their local knowledge and willingness to help made the whole occasion a lot smoother in its running. The facilities are quite basic, but it is great place to relax and rest. If you are looking for some peace, with something a bit different than a hotel room, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful 4 days at Casa de Laila as our friends got Married there. It was the most magical 4 days we have ever spent. Every part of Casa de Laila is exquisite - a true hidden gem not to missed. The tents were clean, cool and comfortable. The pool was refreshing and relaxing. The food was beautiful. And Benjamin, Anne-Marie and all the staff were truly hospitable and helpful in so many ways. They made our stay there, a memorable experience and our friends wedding even more special than I think they even imagined it would be. Plus Rami the dog (or big black bear as we called him) was as laid back and as loving as the retreat itself. We will definitely be returning whenever we need to escape the hustle and bustle of London. Thanks Ben and Anne- Marie. Hope to see you very soon!

Room Tip: Tents at the bottom of the retreat are more quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Last year my now husband and I visited Casa de Laila. Having found it on google, on a whim, we thought we'd do a glamping holiday. What we didn't expect to find was a warm, tranquil, spiritual hide away that lead to us letting go of our materiel life in london and discovering a peace hard to find by anyone living in a big city.

That summer we got engaged. When this happened, we knew there was no where else we could take our first steps of marrige, thsn here at Casa de Laila. For the next year we got planning. At this point I must introduce you to the wonderful Bejamin and Anne-Marie. The passion, love and dedication to Casa de Laila and to our wedding was so anazing that it shaped every corner of our wedding. From the schedule, to the service to the food. These guys are a rare type of person to come by.

The wedding was truly magical. The ceremony was full of emotion, the dining structure complete with Moroccan atmosphere and the party steaming with happiness and celebration.

Casa de Laila have give us and our friends and family an unforgettable wedding. By letting us have a beautiful platform to express who we are, we hsve created a memory that stays with us for the rest of out life's.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Casa de Laila, but have to admit that it was a bit less luxurious than we had expected based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and by looking at the website. However, that being said, the property gardens and views of the town and mountains in the distance are stunning. Anne Marie and Ben are very nice hosts and it’s obvious that they are interested in doing whatever they can to help make everyone’s stay as pleasurable as possible. While we were there, they were working on improving a space near a new yoga structure they had built. This may be the reason why there were a few areas around the property that needed a bit of attention. The parking is a dirt area near the entrance with rocks and various bottles, and other construction supplies strewn about. The pool is well maintained, but there are some areas where the stones are cracked and loose and look like they need a bit of attention. We stayed in the suite which was wonderful. It had air conditioning, its own private bathroom, a kitchen with fridge, and a bedroom. The kids slept on blow-up beds on the floor in the living room. The suite would have been perfect if the bathroom was in better shape. There was obviously a humidity problem and there was some black mold and a large crack on the ceiling. It also had a musty smell and the shower was a bit old and small-although sufficient for our needs. One other detail that seemed strange to us was that there was no bath soap provided in the shower. Since it is promoted as a “luxury” suite, this was a bit odd. The highlight of the suite is the private terrace with a nice lounge area as well as a table and chairs for eating. It is also extremely private.
We did not stay in the tents, but they looked nice from the outside. I was surprised at how much closer they were to each other than they appeared on the website. As for the food, there are two types of cornflakes, one muesli cereal, a basket of different types of bread, peach and raspberry jam, some sliced cheese, a bowl with fruit, and Griego plain yogurt (no other flavors). I felt that it would have been nice to have a few fresh pastries, hardboiled eggs, meats, fresh juice, or perhaps some homemade bread to offer a bit more variety. Even though the breakfast was limited, I have to say that if you like toast, cheese and fresh fruit, you will be very happy. The coffee was also very good. The first morning we were there, it seemed like there were a lot of us there for breakfast at once, and not only did we start having to look for certain items like spoons or more coffee, there wasn’t much seating available and we ended-up at a far table with cat hair all over the chairs with a view of some clean towels hanging between us and the valley below. While it wasn’t the end of the world, it wasn’t exactly what we had envisioned! As for dinners, I have read a lot of comments about Anne-Marie and Ben’s great cooking, but I wasn’t even aware that they offered to make dinners for the guests. All I heard was that on Tuesdays and Thursdays, you could have your meal “catered” for 20 Euros per person. As a result, we ate all of our meals out. With regards to excursions, we went to Mijas one day, the Feria de Malaga another, and finally the Ardales lakes which were all fairly close to the town (the longest drive was to the lakes which took about 35-40 minutes). All of them were very nice and worthwhile. Anne-Marie regularly posted events or activities that might be of interest to guests on a small blackboard near the breakfast area. I recommend GPS if you visit this area as many of the roads are small and you can get lost easily. I can recommend Casa de Laila, but not without some reservations. As far as the glamping is concerned, I’m sure that all of the basic requirements are probably met or even exceeded as you can’t expect too much when you are camping, but if you stay in the suite, don’t expect any special perks, because there are none (other than where you are staying). I think Casa de Laila is a work in progress and that it has potential to be a truly special, high-end retreat. At the moment, it’s more like a nice B & B that’s a little rough around the edges, but definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Yes, this is Casa de Laila, a little paradise offering an intimate and coquettish glamping experience, as well as exquisite vegetarian meals, hosted by sweet hearts Anne Marie and Benjamin. It is a not to miss gem in the South of Spain, a place where love, passion and dedication can be sensed in the air and all around.

Their Moroccan-style bell tents are gorgeous, comfortable and whitely peaceful! Accompanied by a swinging hammock facing the majestic Andalucian mountains, and a little table for fun chit chatting.

Hosting my last Yoga and Artful Living Retreat with Emily Gilchrist, yogini who I had the pleasure of meeting in Addis Abeba, Ethiopa, was a true pleasure. Luckily we were the first group to practice at the new Caña Yoga Shala ~ the yoga room, artisanally hand-made using more than 40,000 cañas –local bamboos – , sand and natural fibers...a true architecural majesty!

It is a not to miss spot in the South of Spain, a place where love, passion and dedication can be sensed in the air and all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Laila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Laila

Address: Camino Ardalejos 75 | La Chichara, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Laila offers an intimate and comfortable ‘Glamping’ (glamorous camping) experience, at affordable rates. Enjoy the best of camping – but without sacrificing any conveniences. Casa de Laila offers unique accommodation on a small scale in large white canvas bell tents, that sleep up to 4 people each. At 5m diameter it’s suitable as either a couple’s hideaway or a comfortable abode for a small family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Laila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.