We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Azawad

Save Saved
You added Dar Azawad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Azawad
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Douar Ouled Driss, M'Hamid 45500, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 M'Hamid B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great base for the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in April and had a lovely stay. We were upgraded when we arrived to an amazing suite with desert views and our own little terrace where we could watch the stars. Food was delicious and Vincent and his team could not have been more helpful in making our stay so fantastic. We were able to arrange a private 4x4 trips into the desert to the dunes on arrival for the next morning and then spent a lovely relaxing afternoon by the pool. Its a long drive down there but the scenery en route and the destination are well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel in the afternoon and soon we've been brought beside the pool with a fantastic Moroccan team waiting to go in the room.
We spent 2 nights in the Suite of the Sultan, extremely confortable (for a Maison d'Hotes), very spacious and with a fantastic view, from the external terrace, over palms and the sand.

All the people have been extremely kind with us and the service has been absolutely satisfactory. They have also organised a fantastic dinner in the desert under the stars.

Some suggestions: WiFi is for free and working properly, but is available only in the lobby and not in the room; the SPA is little and quite nice, but the hammam experienced there is not one of the best as it's usually perfomed sitting on a small wood bench; an afternoon there was no hot water (the previous evening it was ok)

In a nutshell, is a fantastic place to stay in M'hamid and gives a perfect "coming-home" feeling after a day in the sahara desert or visiting Oulad Driss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hard to find fault. Terrific night in a desert camp, then absolute comfort the following night in one of the Sultan Rooms. Lovely staff who helped us to get our car fixed. Great, friendly service all round.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Luxurious accommodation in the desert with resident cats, dogs, sheep, donkeys and a camel. Excellent base for visiting the desert. Very comfortable room, copious breakfast and dinner. At lunchtime, we had to send back an undercooked chicken and lamb kebab, but the chips were tasty. Heated swimming pool. If you are going all the way to M’Hamid, definitely stay more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at Dar Azawad for 4 nights towards the end of a tour of Morocco and absolutely loved it there. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the aircon was turned on for a hour or two in anticipation of our arrival. The facilities were great, we especially enjoyed late swims in the pool. The staff were all really welcoming and keen to ensure we enjoyed our stay - they really went that extra mile. We stayed for one night out at the desert camp, sleeping under the stars in the Sahara was beautiful and I would definitely recommend this - not sure I would take the camel ride out there though as although it was fun you need a tough behind! Maybe settle for a camel trip one way but a car on the return. Quad biking in the dunes behind the hotel was a definite highlight of our whole holiday and a trip out to the bigger dunes at Chigaga is well worth it. This is a great hotel run by lovely people and the Sahara Desert is an awesome place to explore!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This was the best place to stay in the area, it is fantastic. The French owner who was very nice is an architect and has produced a beautiful Oasis. Individual stylish mud buildings with very high standard bedding/ towels/showers etc. It is a bit of luxury. The food was fantastic. Service was fantastic from all staff. I would love to go back here some day. I traveled to the dessert for a 1 night stay with Sahara services and stayed in Erg Chebbi dunes, this was also fantastic. A very memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at Dar Azawad for two nights, with a night in the 'charme' camp at Chigaga in between. The first night at the hotel, we were in a standard room, which was very comfortable - would have been happy to stay there a few more nights. The second night at the hotel was in one of the nomad rooms - which I would avoid if I was ever there again. The ceiling of the room was very low, and it only has two tiny windows. As a result, it feels very enclosed and dusty/sandy. The quality of the beds was also much less than in the other room we stayed in.

The food at the hotel is really of an excellent standard - far, far beyond what you would expect in such a remote location - it would easily compare with a good restaurant in a big city. However, they allow smoking both in the bar and the dining room - which wasn't a problem one night, but was a big problem the second night when we were next to a large table with lots of heavy smokers.

The tented camp was not really up to the description on the website. Yes, the dunes are spectacular - but the really loud generator noise is very intrusive (yes, I know you need a generator to have electricity/hot water, but given the price you pay for the tented camp, you would expect them to find some solution to reduce the noise). The tents are very attractive and well spread out from eachother - with full bathrooms which is indeed a luxury - but in our tent there was a major leak from the bathroom into the main part of the tent which meant we didn't have hot water and the carpet in the tent was soaking wet for all our stay - and though the manager eventually managed to fix the leak, no one did anything about the carpet.

For a hotel and a camp in the middle of nowhere, it isn't bad, the food is outstanding, and the locations are stunning but I've been to places that were just as remote but had better service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Azawad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Azawad

Also Known As:
Dar Azawad Zagora
Dar Azawad Hotel Zagora
Dar Azawad Morocco/Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz
Address: Douar Ouled Driss, M'Hamid 45500, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > M'Hamid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in M'Hamid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Azawad 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Azawad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Azawad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.