We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night sky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erg Chigaga

Erg Chigaga
M'hamid, M'Hamid 45000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in M'Hamid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic night sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful sky and great dune walks. It's a bit out of the way if you want to see other parts of Morocco but definitely worth it! (though haven't been to Erg Chebbi to compare).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    12
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MILANO
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Riding over dunes in the desert at sunset has to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a really wonderful trip! Riding over dunes in the desert at sunset has to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience, watching the sun going down behind the orange glowing sand and crescent shaped shadows. I found, to my great relief, that dromedaries are actually quite cooperative animals! To top it all, we set off in the morning while it was still dark so that we could park our dromedaries on the side of a dune so we could clamber up and watch the sun rise. Pure magic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Truly Away from it All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you really want to go off the grid, Chigaga/Chegaga is a great place to do it. 2 hours by 4x4 from M'Hamid & 3 hours to Foum Zguid. It is rough & it is bumpy for much of the way but the dunes at night sunset/sunrise are incredible. And the stars . . .

It was very lush this year due to rain near the dunes & the nomads have turned their camels loose to graze. Hundreds of them . . . awesome.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

2 nights in the Desert...One of our best travel-experience! Climbing dunes, surfing them, take so many photos! All the camp are really confortable and well organized!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Erg Chigaga, Sahara Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been here 6 times! Great place. It takes several days to trek here so if you are comparing it with Erg Chebi - don't. Chebi is reached by tourist bus, in a hotel and there it is, in front of you. Chigaga is accessed via the desert town of M'hamid and then trek from there. 5 - 6 days is about right, total silence, no cars, no roads, no people. Great trekking experience.
Simple choice really, Chigaga for a trekking and true desert experience and Chebi if you just want to see a desert dune from a hotel!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chigaga also viewed

M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Erg Chigaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erg Chigaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.