We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding over dunes in the desert at sunset has to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erg Chigaga

Erg Chigaga
M'hamid, M'Hamid 45000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in M'Hamid
Type: Deserts, Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
MILANO
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Riding over dunes in the desert at sunset has to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a really wonderful trip! Riding over dunes in the desert at sunset has to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience, watching the sun going down behind the orange glowing sand and crescent shaped shadows. I found, to my great relief, that dromedaries are actually quite cooperative animals! To top it all, we set off in the morning while it was still dark so that we could park our dromedaries on the side of a dune so we could clamber up and watch the sun rise. Pure magic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    10
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Truly Away from it All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you really want to go off the grid, Chigaga/Chegaga is a great place to do it. 2 hours by 4x4 from M'Hamid & 3 hours to Foum Zguid. It is rough & it is bumpy for much of the way but the dunes at night sunset/sunrise are incredible. And the stars . . .

It was very lush this year due to rain near the dunes & the nomads have turned their camels loose to graze. Hundreds of them . . . awesome.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

2 nights in the Desert...One of our best travel-experience! Climbing dunes, surfing them, take so many photos! All the camp are really confortable and well organized!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Erg Chigaga, Sahara Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been here 6 times! Great place. It takes several days to trek here so if you are comparing it with Erg Chebi - don't. Chebi is reached by tourist bus, in a hotel and there it is, in front of you. Chigaga is accessed via the desert town of M'hamid and then trek from there. 5 - 6 days is about right, total silence, no cars, no roads, no people. Great trekking experience.
Simple choice really, Chigaga for a trekking and true desert experience and Chebi if you just want to see a desert dune from a hotel!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Don't miss this wonderful and magic place if you come to M'Hamid. Take a tour with Sahara Best Travel or VisageTouareg.com

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chigaga also viewed

M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Zagora, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Sidi Ifni, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Erg Chigaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erg Chigaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.