We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erg Chigaga

Erg Chigaga
M'hamid, M'Hamid 45000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in M'Hamid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

2 nights in the Desert...One of our best travel-experience! Climbing dunes, surfing them, take so many photos! All the camp are really confortable and well organized!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    11
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Erg Chigaga, Sahara Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been here 6 times! Great place. It takes several days to trek here so if you are comparing it with Erg Chebi - don't. Chebi is reached by tourist bus, in a hotel and there it is, in front of you. Chigaga is accessed via the desert town of M'hamid and then trek from there. 5 - 6 days is about right, total silence, no cars, no roads, no people. Great trekking experience.
Simple choice really, Chigaga for a trekking and true desert experience and Chebi if you just want to see a desert dune from a hotel!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Don't miss this wonderful and magic place if you come to M'Hamid. Take a tour with Sahara Best Travel or VisageTouareg.com

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bewitched by dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

¡What an experience it is to spend a couple of days in the dessert! To have
the fortune of walking barefooted at dusk in the warm Erg Chigaga dunes as
the outside temperature drops and millions of stars appear. To be bewitched
by the Sahara desert in luxurious comfort provided by the Erg Chigaga Luxury
Camp excellent facilities under the care of Bobo and his crew of the polite
and amicable Berbers. Wwwooooowww.

My most sincere congratulations to Nick and Bobo for their partnership and
vision. Their good vibes and determination are the foundation of this
unique venture. I highly recommend this camp to adventure lovers. Keep an
open mind, open your senses and you will also be captivated by the desert.

I include one photograph with Joseph, one of the Berbers that works at the
camp

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Erg Chigaga exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent a few days at Erg Chigaga in December with friends and it was a truly magical experience. I would say it was timeless and from that day on the Sahara desert, the stars, the open space is still with me. We lacked nothing and anything we needed was supplied,with a smile and with real care for us. We rode camels, we sang with the Berbers at night around the fire and we had unlimited space and quiet that comes with the Sahara. The biggest shock to me was leaving the desert and arrving at our first town on the way back to Marrakech as I saw the contrast from the peace and quiet of the desert to the noise and confusion of the streets. This made the time in the Sahara stand out even more. The journey to Erg Chigaga from Marrakech is also part of the experience and can't be missed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chigaga also viewed

M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Tafraoute, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Erg Chigaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erg Chigaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.