We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erg Chigaga

Erg Chigaga
M'Hamid El Ghizlane, M'Hamid 47402, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$395*
and up
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in M'Hamid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: L'erg Chegaga (ou Chigaga) est le grand erg du Sahara au Maroc, se trouve à environ 60 km à l'ouest de la commune rurale de M'Hamid El Ghizlane, elle-même située à environ 98 km au sud de la ville de Zagora. D'une longueur d'environ 40 km pour 15 km de largeur, cet erg, dont certaines dunes avoisinent une hauteur de 300 m ( contre 170 m pour l'erg Chebbi), est le plus vaste et le plus sauvage du Maroc.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a fabulous time. We did the Taste of Adventure and loved every minute of it. We did many different things while we were in Morocco and I have to say that this was our favourite part of our trip. Sleeping under the stars was a great experience that i would love to do again. Recommend NOT wearing capri's on the camels :-)

Abadeen (our guide and 1 of our camel handlers) was very knowledgeable, a great cook and made every effort to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. The staff at Zbar Travel (who actually took us out - booked through Rachel at SheherazadVentures) were amazing. Not only were they considerate, thoughtful, polite and kind while we were out in the desert but when we left our iphone in the desert camp, they made sure that it got back to us before we left the country. They definitely went above and beyond and we were tremendously grateful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Take your SLR's for snaps and slippers to climb up. The view is to die for. Could be a little eerie for city folk.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Axey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“amazing dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was well worth the bumpy ride out in a 4x4 to climb the dunes and have a mint tea!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodallTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“desert paradise... luxury under the stars...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is off the charts,... whoever rated it "poor" is clearly confusing it with somewhere else of a similar name. Finally Morocco can boast a luxury safari style camp in a league with Kenya's best. Beautiful tents appear like a mirage amidst the dunes, chilled wine is waiting for you at sunset on arrival, food delicious and service effortlessly attentive. The tents themselves are exquisitely kitted out as well as luxuriously comfortable. All in all a perfect way to soak up the desert silence. We booked one night and stayed 3. A place to return to...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wondrous Sahara sights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I hired Zbar Travel to take us into the desert from Ouarzazate. Ahmed, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and professional - making certain that we were well cared for the entire time.

We rode camel back to the first camp - a rustic Berber set up - and enjoyed the cultural exchange with the young guides there. In January, it's COLD at night, so bring warm pajamas and something to wear on your head. The food was basic, but delicious and hot. The quiet at night in the desert is indescribable.

The second night's camp at Erg Chicaga was more elaborate and comfortable. Ahmed and others offered drum songs from the Sahara by the campfire - truly magical. The dunes are magnificent.

We changed our itinerary and Ahmed work diligently to accommodate our desires - ensuring that our travels were carried out safely and satisfactorily. We truly appreciate everything he did for us!!

I highly recommend Zbar if you plan to visit Morocco and tour the Dra Valley and desert sites!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chigaga also viewed

 
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Erg Chigaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing