We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erg Chigaga

Erg Chigaga
M'hamid, M'Hamid 45000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in M'Hamid
Type: Geologic Formations, Deserts
Attraction Details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Take your SLR's for snaps and slippers to climb up. The view is to die for. Could be a little eerie for city folk.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“amazing dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was well worth the bumpy ride out in a 4x4 to climb the dunes and have a mint tea!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“desert paradise... luxury under the stars...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is off the charts,... whoever rated it "poor" is clearly confusing it with somewhere else of a similar name. Finally Morocco can boast a luxury safari style camp in a league with Kenya's best. Beautiful tents appear like a mirage amidst the dunes, chilled wine is waiting for you at sunset on arrival, food delicious and service effortlessly attentive. The tents themselves are exquisitely kitted out as well as luxuriously comfortable. All in all a perfect way to soak up the desert silence. We booked one night and stayed 3. A place to return to...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wondrous Sahara sights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I hired Zbar Travel to take us into the desert from Ouarzazate. Ahmed, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and professional - making certain that we were well cared for the entire time.

We rode camel back to the first camp - a rustic Berber set up - and enjoyed the cultural exchange with the young guides there. In January, it's COLD at night, so bring warm pajamas and something to wear on your head. The food was basic, but delicious and hot. The quiet at night in the desert is indescribable.

The second night's camp at Erg Chicaga was more elaborate and comfortable. Ahmed and others offered drum songs from the Sahara by the campfire - truly magical. The dunes are magnificent.

We changed our itinerary and Ahmed work diligently to accommodate our desires - ensuring that our travels were carried out safely and satisfactorily. We truly appreciate everything he did for us!!

I highly recommend Zbar if you plan to visit Morocco and tour the Dra Valley and desert sites!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ch'gaga 4x4 and camel tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Went with the company "Coeur du Sahara" which is right by the roundabout in the center of new M'hamid. It was definitely worth the trip. About 2hrs in 4x4 to the dunes, then tangine by the fire with songs and music. Camel ride around the dune in the morning. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erg Chigaga also viewed

M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
M'Hamid, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Tafraoute, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Erg Chigaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erg Chigaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.