We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sidi Bounou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in M'Hamid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Sidi Bounou
Dar Sidi Bounou, Bounou, M'Hamid, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 M'Hamid B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolute Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a wonderful find this was, we stayed for 2 nights as we were on a road trip around Morocco and were so glad we did as Nancy has created a real slice of heaven here :-) our welcome was one of huge smiles from all who met us as we drove in. It's such a beautiful place to stay, the desert is on your doorstep and we had a wonderful walk through the dunes and the palm trees. Our meals were soooooo good, the food was just lovely and we had a real treat one evening with some wonderful drumming and singing. I very much enjoyed my time here and really hope to visit again in the future :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar S, Owner at Dar Sidi Bounou, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review ... it was a pleasure to have you here and we hope you will come back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were only here for two days but felt at home immediately. The atmosphere of the place is very friendly and welcoming. Daoud is a great host and we were pleasantly suprised by the way Said took care of us! He even offered us a hot water bottle for the cold nights. The desert trip was amazing and one night in the desert actually too short.. We really enjoyed the food and the music played at night and by the fire in the desert :) So, Daoud, Said and the whole team, thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Dar Sidi Bounou has a serendipitous quality -- it's the sort of place you might stumble upon and then never leave. Part of the captivating charm lies in the location: a pretty main building with comfortable separate chalets and tents amid ever-encroaching sand and date palms. But even more wondrous are the residents: from the spectacular Nancy to the warm and kind Daoud, Said, Raqiya and Allal to Rex the dog and Rimpo the puppy. I was there for a peaceful, laid-back, delightful Christmas Eve (only Christmas-y in that everyone was so warm and there was delicious food, which is exactly what I would have asked for) and a sublime Christmas Day expedition out to Erg Chigaga. I hope to return someday soon....

Room Tip: I stayed in a chalet, which stayed nice and warm even in December thanks to an electric heater and g...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Dar Sidi Bounou is a beautiful haven of relaxation run by lovely people. Nancy, Daoud and their team are so welcoming and kind and will make your trip very special. Wonderful food and the best service. We take groups there twice a year and have never had any bad comments from anyone and many come back with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar S, Owner at Dar Sidi Bounou, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for the appreciative comments. It was great fun for all of us too. We are looking forward to your next visit in April. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Dar Sidi Bounou for 9 nights after a 2 day drive from Marrakech. The Atlas Mountains and the desert landscapes of the Draa Valley were stunning. We arrived late afternoon as the rising wind was rising blowing sand across the road. It was as if the desert was playing to form and expectation for the visitors.

Our 9 days of enchantment began immediately with a welcome by the charming Omar, Said, and the owner, Nancy. Within about 30 minutes we felt as if we had never lived anywhere else as we settled down to a glass of mint tea and a plate of almonds. By the time we left, Idir, Jan, Rachia (1 and 2), Daoud, Foonah and Jan had also played their part in making our stay so memorable.

What to do ? Well, you can do as much or as little as you like in the day between stunning sunrise morning skies and awesome sunsets. You can walk straight from the gardens into the desert, you can read, you can make trips and expeditions, you can meet the most fascinating people who pass through this place on their expeditions around Morocco, or you can wander up the road for a swim at the local hotel.

I walked for two hours a few mornings before breakfast. The desert is the most amazing landscape at any time of day but particularly in the early morning and evening when the colours of the sky and the sand fuse together. A Yoga salute to the sun in the face of a sky richly dressed in every conceivable colour spectrum of yellow, red and orange is quite an experience. After breakfast, the day passed in a haze of warm hanging out, delicious lunch, mint tea, and a fab supper. It was tough, but someone has to face these challenges.

And then there there was the food ....... As you might expect there were lovely tagines - wonderful variations of chicken and lamb but they also produced fantastic fresh bread baked on site every morning. My favourite dish was baked cannellini beans in a tomato and cumin sauce served with mashed potatoes. 9 days of great eating.

Would I go again ? I can't wait !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar S, Owner at Dar Sidi Bounou, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
it is always nice to have guests stay with us for a slightly longer time. We then have the opportunity to get to know them better so that they become new friends, as well as guests. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it here enough to come back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plon, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at Dar Sidi Bounou before Said took us on a overnight desert trip in a 4x4. I've rarely experienced such a wonderful place! It is so welcoming, enchanting and just perfect that you really don't ever want to leave again. Nancy and Daoud helped us with getting some ideas how to make the most of your time in this area and arranged our desert trip. Said was the best guide I could imagine, he really took care of everything you can imagine and made the whole trip an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend spending some time (as much as you actually can) in the Dar Sidi Bounou and enjoy their fabulous food and company!
Thank you Nancy, Daoud, Said, and the rest of the Dar Sidi Bounou family, you guys are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar S, Owner at Dar Sidi Bounou, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Bounou and the excursion with Said... the feeling was mutual... we enjoyed your company.
We hope you will come back someday soon. Best wishes, from all at Dar Sidi Bounou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having arrived down single track roads with 2 kids fed up of driving for the last 8 hours we wondered what to expect. We were immediately welcomed to this lovely place. It is so relaxed that straight away we felt we were part of the furniture! The children absolutely adored having free reign of the dunes, palms and tents and immediately set about making up imaginary games. The staff were lovely with the children. Nancy spent time looking at their diaries and paintings and they both took great pleasure in painting pictures for her to keep. In the evening they went into the kitchen and made their own tagine (with help!!!) which they were delighted to eat with us later. Sleeping outside was lovely although the plastic on the tents (it had rained a few days before) was very noisy flapping in the wind. The following day Nancy arranged for us to go to Chigaga dunes by 4x4. This was an amazing experience and well worth it. The 4x4 was just like being on a rollercoaster for 2 hours which we all enjoyed!! The dunes were spectacular,especially the sunset and sunrise. All in all a lovey experience and a lovely place to stay. Thank you Nancy, the girls won't forget the artisit in the desert!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Sidi Bounou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sidi Bounou

Also Known As:
Dar Sidi Bounou Morocco/Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz
Address: Dar Sidi Bounou, Bounou, M'Hamid, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > M'Hamid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in M'Hamid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sidi Bounou experience Living in the Sun and Sleeping under the Moon and Stars. Our Desert accommodation in a restored traditional daub house, serving delicious authentic beldi food, including vegetarian. Come to relax and enjoy music and tranquil ambiance in a palmerie garden on the edge of the Sahara dunes at Bounou, M’hamid. Take a desert excursion by camels (or 4x4) overnight or longer. The guides set up the tents, make the fire and cook − you just ride or walk beside the camels to a quiet place. Or you can take a walking tour of the ancient Berber Kasbah of Bounou and local villages. Gracious hospitality for adventurous individual travelers, families with children and groups of creative, artistic people. Relax under the palms, on the terraces, and on the dunes in the garden, or participate in the music, dance. In the winter evenings, sit around an inviting fire on the dunes and join in the drumming. Learn the local songs and dances, rhythms and techniques, bring your own instruments or use ours. With comfortable rooms in the house with terraces and en-suite bathrooms, N’wala huts and Berber tents on the dunes prices ranging from 20 Euros to 49 Euros prices are negotiable depending on how long you stay. Nancy and Daoud and the Staff at Dar Sidi Bounou invite you to be their guest and enjoy the magic of the Moroccan Sahara. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sidi Bounou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Sidi Bounou to your Saves list