We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Drom Blanc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Drom'Blanc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Drom'Blanc to your Saves list
Le Drom'Blanc
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   la Palmeraie - Ouled Driss | La Palmeraie, M'Hamid 45400, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 M'Hamid B&B and Inns
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Le Drom Blanc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

At our Maroccan Sahara desert adventure, our group arrived Le Drom’ Blanc at the back of a dromedary and stayed for one night. Our hostess, Maguy, was very kind and hospitable during our stay in the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of the camp. We were served excellent food, including a lamb infused with local spices and roasted whole in a clay oven. When darkness fell, an amazing starlit sky appeared over us, and the nomads entertained us with beautiful song and music by the bonfire. We slept like babies in the comfortable nomad tents, and enjoyed a superb breakfast before we continued our adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We arrived at Maggie`s place after our first dromedar trip. Maggie and her crew were very friendly and made our first night in the desert unforgettable. Some used her hamam, other's just relaxed on the bed's outside. Nice cabin to sleep in. During the night Abdoul and his crew arrived to play nomade music for us. We learned them norwegian songs as well. It was an unforgettable night. The stars and moon felt so close. The next morning after a great breakfast we continued with our second dromedar trip towards Abdoul`s camp Tariq Shims Camp.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is a great find and is sure to leave you with positive impressions of the Moroccan desert. Maguy was very hospitable and accommodating to our needs, and as others have mentioned here, she is an incredible chef. We didn't plan our time in M'hamid in advance, but upon arrival Maguy was able to make perfect suggestions that fit our schedule.
Stay at le drom'blanc, and who knows, maybe you also will fall in love with the desert and like Maguy, pick up your life and move there! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

From the very first email on, Maguy was a great help in organising our little trip to the dessert in the area. Her answers to my emails were answered straight away, to the point and detailed. We stayed one night at Drom Blanc, before setting on to a trip in the dessert she organised. Her welcome was great, the tajine she prepared for us was one of the best I ever had. The place is clean and calm. We stayed in the bungalows, but I would recommend the rooms in the riad as they are fabulous! Definitely a place I would go back to!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

If "off the beaten track" is for you, head for Le Drom'Blanc. I can't recommend it highly enough. I slept in one of the bungalows, a simple palm-thatch hut, plain, but perfectly comfortable; no 'en suite' - but if you've come to the desert you won't expect that, and the shower/toilet block only a few steps away is more than adequate. But far the best aspect of this lovely little place is the welcome you'll get and the way that you're taken care of in every way. Maguy is a brilliant hostess, ably supported by the wonderful Omar - who is perfectly at home in a huge variety of roles from cook to waiter (which he does with more aplomb and elegance than I've seen in some 5star joints) to entertaining walking companion. From the moment of arrival, you're made to feel welcome, with real warmth and sincerity. Nothing's too much trouble, excursions are arranged flawlessly, advice given freely. The unexpected arrives - you might find yourself visiting a Berber family, or exploring the deepest reaches of a ruined kasbah with a local teenager as your guide, or taking a surprise mule ride into the desert... Breakfast is delicious - Berber bread and crepes, made by Omar's mum, with an assortment of date, fig, apricot and quince confitures, juice, tea and coffee. All served in the morning sunshine. (which in February, with Europe shivering in sub-zero, is hard to beat!). Dinner is just great, a convivial affair, all eating together with excellent home cooking - typically pumpkin soup, tagine and a dessert, accompanied of course by "Berber whiskey" - tea, served with a flourish by Omar. Worth noting that eating in is pretty much your only choice - this is the desert, so not noted for a variety of eateries just up the road... But none the worse for that. There's so much to do here - or nothing at all, if that suits you. There are desert excursions by dromedary or 4x4; Omar is happy to accompany you to Vieux M'Hamid, show you the best people to buy carpets from, drink tea with etc (on which note, bring plenty of cash with you - the nearest ATM is over an hour's drive at Zagora. You'll be tempted to buy something, I'm sure. And it's better to settle your bill at Drom'Blanc in cash also.) Whilst I was there - a five-night stay - there were several regular clients who returned time and again to this magic place. Which speaks volumes for just how good it is. I'll be back. Inshallah.

Room Tip: There are riad rooms as well as the basic bungalows and bivouacs, which might suit those that want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Le Drom Blanc was an excellent choice for us in M'hamid. Away from the main road by a short drive, Le Drom Blanc was a quiet oasis that incorporated the desert surroundings into its design.

We arrived to M'hamid from Marrakesh on a 9-hr bus ride, and we were greeted at the white 'Le Drom' Blanc' sign on the street by the driver (make sure you stop the bus before reaching the main town). After a short 3-minute ride on a 4x4, we arrived at the guesthouse and were greeted by Maguy, an amazing French woman who built this establishment and tends to it lovingly. Maguy had predicted our needs and had already prepared a FANTASTIC meal for us. After a long bus ride, that was a very comforting welcome.

Maguy also organized our visit to the Chigaga dunes to perfection, using the best guides who set up the most fantastic, comfortable, and inviting camp in the Erg Chigaga dunes (Z'bar Travel).

Upon our return from the dunes, Maguy had not only prepared yet another wonderfully delicious meal for us, she had helped me purchase a big bag of Moroccan spices on local prices that I had inquired about on a previous night. Also, my partner had eyes on a Touareg knife in town, and Maguy actually drove us back to the shop and helped us assess its true value and barter for us.

Overall, I can't say more great things about Le Drom Blanc! Pros include:
*The ABSOLUTE BEST TAGINES we ever had in all of Morocco, truly (and her breakfasts are amazing too - you can't beat fresh homemade dates jam!!!)
*The location and vibe of Le Drom Blanc was special - it was away from the main hotel strip, and was a rustic and serene contrast to the bigger establishments
*The breakfast area, garden and the grounds were beautiful! We spent a quiet afternoon after our trip to the desert just laying in the sun by the water fountain
*Maguy's amazing hospitality, her knowledge of local customs and cultures, and her willingness to go the extra mile for her guests

The only minor complaints I have about the place is that the room amenities were bare and the room and shower were never particularly warm (we were there in the winter) - but really, being in the middle of the desert, who needs more than the basics inside the room anyway. Also, the price of the stay was definitely higher than other places in Morocco - but this can be attributed to us being at the end of the road in Morocco, literally, and there's really only one reason travelers come here so prices are expected to be higher.

Overall, if you're someone who seeks something special and slightly more secluded and different, Le Drom Blanc will definitely meet your expectations, if not exceed them! It was really a magical stay for us.

Room Tip: There are 4 guestrooms inside the house and several bivouacs outside. We stayed in the house becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, España
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Maggie and Omar takes care of everything you may need. Fantastic service, they are very helpful about possibilities in the area.
We slept in vivac. Common bathroon and necesities covered. It´s confortable, with blankets and with berevere details.
We visited the kasba close to the aubergue, and it´s worth in the architecture, very interesting. People around there,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Drom'Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Drom'Blanc

Address: la Palmeraie - Ouled Driss | La Palmeraie, M'Hamid 45400, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > M'Hamid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in M'Hamid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Drom'Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Drom'Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Drom'Blanc Morocco/Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Drom'Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.