We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Selva Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Selva Country House to your Saves list
Villa Selva Country House
Via Loreto 1 | Grutti, 06058 San Terenziano, Gualdo Cattaneo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Terenziano
Daylesford, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We were so looking forward to our stay at Villa Selva Country House in the beautiful Umbria region of Italy. Firstly, there was no view from our room (Room 2) in an area where it's almost impossible not to see rolling hills for miles and miles. The decor of the room was tired and relied heavily on metal vine leaves and dried things in vases. The layout of the room was clumsy in that the bed was pushed so close to the wall and the many shelves that it was very difficult to get past. The placement of the toilet blocked the shower door too. The dining room for breakfast was quite dark and the food offering fairly limited. There was no shared lounge, just a billiard table filling a room that could have been used for this purpose.

Despite there being no tea- or coffee-making facilities in your room, you are charged when you ask for one at the desk. On a bright day when there were people sitting around the large pool, the pool cover was left resolutely on, and the chairs stacked in piles around it. On most days, a dog was left tied up near the front door to the hotel for hours, and barked incessantly.

On a positive note, the room rates are quite reasonable, and we loved the region around the hotel.

I mention these points in the spirit of constructive criticism, as the Country House has a lot of possibilities with fresher decor and room layout, and more attention to the comfort of their guests.

Room Tip: Don't get Room 2 if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Villa for 3 nights. Food was very good, apartment spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the hills and olive groves, nice pool. It seems most of the reviews are a year+ old at this point, and I'm not sure my experiences were as wonderful as those others. It could be the language gap with the hosts, but while they were accommodating and responsive, it wasn't memorable. A couple reviewers mention Giuseppe in the kitchen, and currently the chef is the female owner or the property (not sure if they wrong or if Giuseppe has moved on). She did a nice job with food - all courses were great, particularly the pastas and veal chop. House wine was very good. Breakfast was abundant and even included a couple meats. Locations was great to visit towns like Montefalco, Todi, Deruta, Assissi and Bevagna, and nearby wineries.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The previous reviewers have said it all. We stayed for a week, although it is a fixed menu every plate went back virtually licked clean, Giuseppe just loves to cook and it shows. He often went out during the day, we had a key to the front door so came and went as we pleased. Being October just two rooms were occupied except at the weekend when two parties of local people joined us. Thunder raged outside on Saturday night. Inside the lighting was soft,we were cosy and warm, there was the gentle hum of conversation the food and wine flowed freely. Magic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found this hotel as a convenient stopover on the way from Amalfi to lake Passignano.We were attracted by the great food reviews. What a find it is. The food was fantastic, the pool beautiful and the rooms comfortable and clean. Sadly we only spent one night but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel/restaurant for my sisters birthday.

They don't have a menu as such, its a menu that just keeps coming, different starters, a pasta course, meat than dessert and coffee.

Each course more surprising than the last. The Italians have the rest of the world beaten when it comes food, wine and how to do things 'properly'.

Very little English is spoken, but we managed to cope. The waiter was friendly and joined in our stumbling - it all added to the great experience.

I'm really loathed to recommend this Villa as highly as I do for fear that it will be booked for years to come, but a place of this quality, welcome and such atmosphere needs to be flagged.

If you are in the area - and even if you are not - make the attempt to book a table here.

Believe me you will regret it if you don't!!!!!

Room Tip: As we had a villa nearby we didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were looking for a place to stop as we were driving north from the Amalfi coast on our way to Tuscany. We decided to spend a couple of nights in Umbria, near Todi. This was not only a very well priced choice, but what a pleasant surprise in all ways. We were upgraded to what was essentially a huge apartment with a large terrace. There is also a beautiful swimming pool. But the best part was the single seating dinner every night. I can't say enough about the delicious food and the wonderful atmosphere. It was the favorite of our three week trip. Nobody speaks English there, which just added to the fun. The three gentlemen who seemed to be in charge of everything, were wonderful in any language. Please visit them. You won't be sorry. Todi is a great day trip from this hotel.

Room Tip: Since we traveled in september, they weren't as busy and thus the upgrade I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefalco, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

It seems that nothing is too much trouble for Giuseppe. My wife and I live about thirty minutes drive from Villa Selva but when friends from the UK visit we always take them there for an amazing lunch that really doesn't break the bank, rather makes you wonder how he makes money. The grilled meat is simply the best I've tried anywhere.
If you're in the area, eat there. Simple.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Selva Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Selva Country House

Address: Via Loreto 1 | Grutti, 06058 San Terenziano, Gualdo Cattaneo, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gualdo Cattaneo > San Terenziano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Terenziano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Selva Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selva Country
Villa Selva Country House Italy/Umbria - San Terenziano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Selva Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.