We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Fortezza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel della Fortezza to your Saves list
Hotel della Fortezza
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010 Sorano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A wonderful spot, a charming hotel with staff to match. Had a large room, with wonderful views, good breakfast. The only quibble is the steep approach to parking in front of the hotel entrance. In the Winter it must for very good drivers only. Highly recommended for a stay. We found the people in the town of Sorano also obliging and pleasant.

J Fisher

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    67
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
129
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel della Fortezza in Sorano is a (genuine) medieval castle which has been imaginatively converted into a superb hotel. It is in a really spectacular location, towering over the town of Sorano and the surrounding hills. This is a fascinating part of Tuscany that is very much neglected by tourists. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and my wife and I thought that the breakfast was excellent. The hotel offers remarkable value for money and provides a quite unique Italian experience.

Room Tip: We had wonderful views in a corner room of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montalcino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having lived in Tuscany for 20 years, I know and love many places. This hotel and Sorano are among my favorites. A magical town perched on a bluff surrounded by a river; eagle's view from hotel, great walks to Etruscan ruins, tombs and via cave—roads sliced through the mountains.

The hosts at the hotel are a joy.

Ferenc Mate, author of A Vineyard in Tuscany.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow what a cool spot. We enjoyed our stay at hotel della fortezza. One big downside was the size of the rooms…. VERY small, but not bad for the one night that we stayed there. But OH what a breathtakingly gorgeous view of Sorano from our window! Breakfast was nice: scrambled eggs, lots of different kinds of breakfast cakes, muesli, yogurt, delicious coffee, meats/cheeses, nutella, toast, etc. We greatly appreciated the internet in the lobby area. If you stay here you MUST take the fortezza tour (not affiliated with the hotel, but you get a discount if you ask at the front desk)…. SO wonderful and very interesting to see and hear about the fortress in olden times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have mixed feelings about leaving a review for someplace that I would like to remain a secret, but here it goes anyway... Sorano is an "out of the way" town. That's part of what makes it wonderful. The place just oozes history and charm. It's what I hoped to find during our recent honeymoon to central Italy. If you are going to Tuscany, take at least a few days and hop down to Sorano; you will be glad you did. You will leave the crowds and commercialism behind and find the real deal. The people in this town were all delightful. It's easy to make day trips from here to some other great towns as well as the public baths at Saturnia.
Now for the hotel. It was a bit of a splurge for us, but one that we would gladly make again. This is no Disneyland castle, it's the real thing (take the twice daily tour). We stayed in the tower suite and just loved it. The room and bathroom were very well appointed and comfortable, as well as being very clean. The views out every window were superb. Breakfasts were very good (including the coffee!). All of this just a short and lovely walk down to the historic town center. The staff at the hotel were top notch. In particular, we would like to thank Jessica for being so kind and warm. She was truly the icing on the cake, and we wish her the best!
Enough is enough. I'm including a few pics to tell the rest of the story.
A few bits of advice for travelers to this part of Italy (or anywhere for that matter): leave the big luggage at home for the dog to sleep in. You don't need it, and you won't want to drag it up and down the hills! Think small. Never expect to park anywhere close to your sleeping place in Italy. Also, bring an up to date international Garmin and use it! There are almost no street signs, so don't try to use a map for anything other than planning if you want to get out to the small towns. The roads are in great condition, however.

Room Tip: splurge on the suite! You will feel like royalty as you look down from your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this impressive hotel. the opportunity of staying at a converted fortress won us over. The room was, as with all we stayed at in Italy, quite charming and adequate, but,
BE AWARE...this hotel does NOT offer air-conditioning....and in July there is not always a comfortable drop in temperature at night, so open windows are a necessity. PLUS, the bells of the church opposite ring every half-hour, all night long ! We did have a lovely walk into the town, through the archways and towers of the fortezza. Parking for this hotel is along the main road, up and behind the fortezza (not as the sign implied, up the steps of the wall!) Breakfast was good and served in a nice room with beautiful views. The people on reception were both charming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was a stop in our bike trip from Rome to Livorno. Sorano is a really beautiful place (but not many tourists), and this hotel is situated in a part of the castle on top of it. Thus it really has atmosphere. It was also quite. Internet was only working in the reception area, but it was working.
We were welcomed very well by the lady at the reception, who also arranged a dinner in a nice restaurant which belongs to the same family (5 minutes walking). There is no airconditioning, but because of the thick walls this was not really a problem (later in the same week we got problems in the night with the heat in other hotels, but not here).
Overall, I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorano
2.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#2 of 5 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sovana Hotel & Resort
Sovana Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Sovana
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#5 of 7 in Saturnia
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
3.9 mi away
Scilla Hotel
Scilla Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sovana
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
9.4 mi away
Locanda La Pieve
Locanda La Pieve
#1 of 2 in Semproniano
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Fortezza

Address: Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010 Sorano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Fortezza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortezza Orsini di Sorano è uno dei più imponenti esempi di Architettura militare dell’intera Toscana,e fu una delle più importanti piazzeforti.La leggenda della “Fortezza Inespugnabile”,si tramanda tuttora e se ne può leggere nelle cronache dell’epoca ( Niccolò dell’Antella nel 1608 Scriveva a proposito della Fortezza : ……..Gli sta sopra come un falcone……e quando si è per terra…..per cosa di stupore a rimirare una fabbrica a altezza tale che quasi pare che l’occhio vi si smarrisca….) ,per tanto tempo la Fortezza di Sorano ha difeso i confini della Toscana meridionale e il Paese sottostante,a renderlo imprendibile erano: La sua posizione rafforzata dalle antiche mura e la chiusura dell’unica via di accesso dai bastioni della Fortezza Orsini.All’interno della Cittadella della Fortezza nella parte più vecchia (precedente alla ristrutturazione dell’architetto Sangallo ) dopo aver oltrepassato il ponte levatoio sul fossato nella piccola piazza si trova L’Hotel della Fortezza,dotato di 16 Camere arredate con raffinata eleganza e mobili d’epoca , dalle cui finestre si può godere di una vista mozzafiato a picco sull’antico borgo di Sorano,inoltre l’altra particolarità dell’Hotel della Fortezza è quella di avere tutte le camere diverse,per potervi regalare un soggiorno unico……………………………….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel della Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Della Fortezza
Della Fortezza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Fortezza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.