We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Change for the Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Fortezza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel della Fortezza to your Saves list
Hotel della Fortezza
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010 Sorano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorano
Tuscany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Change for the Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A recent change in management at La Fortezza has made a VAST improvement and restored the character, service and beauty that this incredible structure deserves. Brava Patrizia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Staying at the castle was a highlight of our trip, a break from the average tourist sites and a magical experience I would recommend.
The hosts were exceptionally and willing to go out of their way to ensure comfort and satisfaction. English spoken.
The room was the normal small size for italy, but clean, with an amazing view and the bed hard but serviceable with good quality bedding. The environment quiet.
Must have a car, good for a two night stay and we really really enjoyed our side trip to the hotsprings Saturnia! Beautiful, relaxing and unique.
The breakfast, was fine, average italy experience-bread-coffee-melon-slices of meat.
Not a location for someone using a wheelchair. You can drive down into down or take a walk down the castle stairs into down, stairs, cobbled roads, but for someone with average shape ability it is manageable. The restaurants in town are average, nothing note worthy, but the town is quite charming- though not touristy. There is a lovely creek at the base of the town which is very beautiful. Plenty of nice walks and hikes in the area. Feel free to e-mail me for more info....

Room Tip: Don't book the largest room which is their most expensive, a nice spot, but without a view and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night during a recent Tuscan tour and our night at the Hotel Fortezza was one of the highlights of the trip.
The room was amazing, giving you a real feel of staying in a old castle but still being clean and with modern bathroom facilities.
The owner was very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best we had on the 2 week trip.
The town of Sorano itself is great - it has all of the charm of a Tuscan hilltop town without the busloads of tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A beautiful hotel in Sorano. The room was big and had a beautiful view! The owner was really great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

An experience not too be missed staying in a castle dated back to the 1,100 AD.
The hotel inside is presented very well. We were situated on the 2nd level. Even though our room was compact it had a good size firm bed with separate bathroom facilities, on a landing above our bedroom. Not much space to put your suitcases would suggest do away with set of drawers and replace with a couple of suitcase racks. We had magnificent views of the small village, it’s surrounding countryside and very old rooftops of ancient homes.
Our first impression was one of dismay as the castle entrance was very hard to find, not well signposted. We asked a local who wasn’t sure how to reach it, finally drove up the wrong way via a very narrow steep driveway, to be told we were trespassing by an adjourning home owner.
Found the hotel in a courtyard that was run down, old dead flower pots and weeds and a hotel sign half hidden. We were then given instructions on where we should park.
Our room rate also included breakfast that was served out in another part of the castle grounds. Very good breakfast of fresh coffee, orange juice, croissants, breads, cheeses & meats, the typical European breakfast.
Wifi wasn’t available due to the thick castle walls, but we could use the office computer for internet.
The owners, two young polite Italian men were very helpful, had just opened up the bar facility where breakfast was served showed a lot of passion in what they wanted to achieve with the castle but due to Italian bureaucracy they were finding this hard to achieve.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Beautiful views from the room, our room was very clean and nice. The village of Sorano is unspoiled and you will find only a few tourists here, and NO souvenir shops! We did find 2 antique shops, and several nice restaurants.
The hotel manager was warm and friendly and made us feel at home. Breakfast was served on the fortress wall, with amazing views. It was the highlight of my trip. Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but it was clean and had a spacious bathroom. And it had a wonderful view of Sorano below. The sound of the birds was tremendous and it was neat to watch them fly way below us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Though it is possible (indeed almost mandatory) to access this hotel by car, it is required that the car be parked a long, long distance away from the hotel building.

Within, there are numerous flights of stairs to navigate.

All in all, not a property for the mobility-restricted or for those carrying a lot of luggage.

Probably best for those who are traveling "light"; guests who prefer to "rough" it; hikers; back-packers, etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel della Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Fortezza

Address: Piazza Cairoli 5, 58010 Sorano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sorano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Fortezza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortezza Orsini di Sorano è uno dei più imponenti esempi di Architettura militare dell’intera Toscana,e fu una delle più importanti piazzeforti.La leggenda della “Fortezza Inespugnabile”,si tramanda tuttora e se ne può leggere nelle cronache dell’epoca ( Niccolò dell’Antella nel 1608 Scriveva a proposito della Fortezza : ……..Gli sta sopra come un falcone……e quando si è per terra…..per cosa di stupore a rimirare una fabbrica a altezza tale che quasi pare che l’occhio vi si smarrisca….) ,per tanto tempo la Fortezza di Sorano ha difeso i confini della Toscana meridionale e il Paese sottostante,a renderlo imprendibile erano: La sua posizione rafforzata dalle antiche mura e la chiusura dell’unica via di accesso dai bastioni della Fortezza Orsini.All’interno della Cittadella della Fortezza nella parte più vecchia (precedente alla ristrutturazione dell’architetto Sangallo ) dopo aver oltrepassato il ponte levatoio sul fossato nella piccola piazza si trova L’Hotel della Fortezza,dotato di 16 Camere arredate con raffinata eleganza e mobili d’epoca , dalle cui finestre si può godere di una vista mozzafiato a picco sull’antico borgo di Sorano,inoltre l’altra particolarità dell’Hotel della Fortezza è quella di avere tutte le camere diverse,per potervi regalare un soggiorno unico……………………………….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel della Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Della Fortezza
Della Fortezza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Fortezza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.