We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian villa close to downtown Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Borromeo 20, 20030 Senago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Senago
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italian villa close to downtown Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Absolutely stunning! Every room is different. The grounds are beautiful, the food is fantastic. We arrived after dark and had some difficulty finding the villa. But once we found the entrance, we were mesmerised. The villa was beautiful. Every room was amazing. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food and service was great! My only complaint was breakfast, there was little to no breakfast available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    9
    12
    17
See reviews for
6
23
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is in poor condition with bad service and totally overpriced. I paid 320 euro for 2 nights that included a minimalist breakfast. These are some of my issues:
Dysfunctional elevator
Filthy kitchen which I stumbled upon while looking for a clean glass. None supplied at breakfast
No coffee at breakfast
No TV remote in room
Broken shower mixer
Broken wardrobe door
No wifi
Staff do not speak much English.
Poor service generally

It is a beautiful authentic 14th century building but the owners are neglecting it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senago hotels

Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Fabulous heritage building in huge park on top of the hill. Modern bathrooms but grand old fashioned rooms with very high ceilings. The building church and parklands alone are worth exploring.

There was a little bit of confusion about our late booking but the reception staff were great and cleared up the problem by upgrading our room.

The hotel is 20k from Milan and a car is a must. We had no problem driving to and from the city while I was there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

An oasis. A walled, very secure Palozzo, worth its 5 star rating. The rooms have 30 foot hand painted ceiling, antique furniture (beautiful modern bathrooms with thick towels). Every corner of the Palozzo drios with history. The walls surrounding the property
enclose a huge garden as well as the Palozzo. Very secure. The breakfast (included) room and the formal restaurant are historic jewels. The service in the restaurant and breakfast room - superb. If you like, you can have espresso in the little coffee bar where the barman is charming and delighted to get whatever you wish. Just an aside. I was not feeling well the last full day I was there and Abdul, the wonderful and professional waiter in the dining room, phoned my room because he had not seen me all day and was concerned. He offered to bring a pot of tea to my room and anything I might want to eat. One does not get this kindness as a rule at almost any hotel.

For guests that wish to go into Milan to shop or sightsee, the train runs from Senago to Milan and conveniently allows you to switch to the metro thst brings you right to the Duomo and the center of Milan. It is also a short ride to Lake Como.

Bottom line. Yes - I will look to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The building, gardens and public rooms are without question amazing and the bedrooms pretty good, but the management seems completely amateur. We turned out to be the only guests on a Thursday night in a five star rated hotel with, I assume, 50-odd rooms, and the receptionist (a trainee, I think) seemed surprised to be seeing guests at all. Lunch was available, but only after asking the chef (!) and only after a half-hour wait, so we gave up. Dinner was offered (also after checking with the chef!) - in a wonderful room with absolutely no heating (with a temperature outside of maybe 12 degrees). We declined and went elsewhere, even in the pouring rain.

The staff seemed nice - quite cheerful and certainly well-uniformed - but there seemed to be no management or direction going on. The general impression was that of a two star hotel in a five star facility (at four star prices for the area), although to be fair I think they are more used to large receptions and events. An interesting experience, but I don't think we'll repeat it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel grounds and the building have much character, charm and history (almost 900 years old). The deluxe room (room 109) is spacious with a view of the atrium. The hotel is just a 30-minute drive north of milan downtown, making it a nice break from the hustles and bustles. The in-room Wifi works well. The furniture and decorations are also very tasteful and carefully chosen. The room rate is also a steal given, compared with other castles and heritage villas.

But housekeeping leaves something to be desired. The bed cover had holes on them. The bed sheet was stained. There were only one pair of slippers and one toothbrush in a double room. There aren't many sockets for charging your electronic devices. I had to unplug some of the lamps to charge my phone and camera battery.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium or the garden are the best. Deluxe rooms are a lot more spacious than classi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think this was the "FIND" of my travel this decade. I felt like I was living a segment of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous". The villa was built in the 14th century for a bishop but has been made into a posh hotel complete with a long tree-lined driveway, formal gardens, fountains and statuary. It is not visible from the street below and I do not recall any signage out front. We had viewed the street entrance from Google Maps so we were familiar with the surroundings and knew what to look for but still came up to the "wrong" entrance first. GPS definitely helps too. There is a big iron fence and gate to maneuver in order to gain entrance. This jewel is just minutes outside Milan and is easily accessible from the autostrada motorway. Romantic, resplendent with ornate details everywhere, hand-painted art on the ceilings, crystal chandeliers, this 5 star property was affordable luxury at it's best. Breakfast is included and can be enjoyed indoors or outside on the shady patio. Great service, excellent and warm staff, you just won't want to leave. There is a rather large covered pavilion on the grounds that is ideal for many types of events. Go ahead, splurge just a little. You won't regret thisl

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo

Address: Piazza Borromeo 20, 20030 Senago, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > Senago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Senago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fourteenth-century historical residence surrounded by an age-old park, 12 km north of Milan's city centre. Unique restoration work has returned the Villa (10,000 sq. m) to splendour and quality. 30km from Malpensa and Linate airports. A modern art museum with 20 rooms for meetings and a conference room of 650 seats complete a unique historical congress centre in a charming atmosphere. Cultural programs upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo Senago, Italy - Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa San Carlo Borromeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.