We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Armada Hotel to your Saves list
Armada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spanish Point, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Spanish Point
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my family and every bit of the service we experienced was I have to say was the best I've had yet . The breakfast in the morning when you arrive down to the views of the Atlantic Ocean are a breath of fresh air themselves. The dinner in the evening and the service of the staff was outstanding and the atmosphere in Johnny's pub is truly irish because of the wonderful irish music being play there, and you don't have to drink( coffee available) beds outstanding great nights sleep and up fresh in morning for a sweet game of golf on the challeging wee and beautiful spanish point golf course, jump in the car and your at the cliffs of moher in 30 mins. I've always loved co clare and the west of ireland but this place and the people that run this place have just made me love it even more, a place everyone should stay when visiting co clare, I will be back !!! Wonderful thanks the john and all the staff who work there and all the guys at the hotel Doolin for making it a wonderful holiday, slan abhaile, joey

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks Joey for your wonderfully positive review.

It makes me that little bit prouder of where we are and the wonderful things there are to see and do, you clearly made the most of your trip here, and had a great West Clare experience, we love to hear that, as we believe that the hotel should only be a small part of a holiday in our wonderful area.

Thank you also for the great compliments on the Pearl Restaurant and Johnny Burkes pub, we see these as the key areas for making a guest stay here a memorable, and our focus on Food, Good Service, Music and Craft Beers, or even a good coffee as you suggest, we think will be the cornerstones to delivering that.

Hopefully you will make a return visit at some stage again.

Kind Regards,

John J Burke
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    199
    89
    35
    26
See reviews for
144
340
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a nice hotel, well appointed & fairly modern. The staff are excellent and really try hard to make your stay a pleasant one. Breakfast was good, there is free Wifi - though it only works in the front reception area and library. However, the hotel is a large complex with a sizable integrated function room (that is separate to the main restaurant). There is a large sign out the front of the hotel advertising their additional role as a wedding function centre. We stayed at this hotel for one night which was a Thursday. Somewhat surprisingly, for this night of the week, there was a large wedding reception at the hotel. This did not interfere with our dinner at the main restaurant where the food was good and the view out over the bay quite beautiful. Unfortunately however, there is a separate bar (which is more of a small pub - called Johnny Burke's) in the hotel. The front desk staff tell me it closes at 1am but remains open typically until about 4am for hotel guests only (which includes wedding reception guests that stay at the hotel, as most appeared to when we were there). This created significant noise issues for us, with ongoing noise from the pub until after 4am. It should be stressed that many of these issues are outside the control of the hotel but the wedding reception guests returned to their rooms throughout much of the night, loudly biding each other good night in the corridor outside our room and also in the car park, slamming doors and generally behaving in a very thoughtless way (at 1am, then 2am, then 3am etc). It is a pity as this is a nice hotel and the staff are clearly trying very hard. However, I would not stay here again if there was a concurrent function on in the function room. I would have given this 2 stars because of the noise, except for the excellent staff members.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

It is clear that the wedding event here in the hotel impacted on your stay, and that is something that we work to avoid at all costs for our guests not involved with an event, we have very closley room allocation procedures and managment overview procedures to make sure when an event is on, people not attached with it can still have an uninterrupted stay, we clearly failed in your case and we dissappointed with ourselve on this.

On a positve note, I thank you for recognising how committed alll the team are here, and furhtermore for noting that you had a positive experience in the resturant. We work hard on improving and developing the hotel, and its great to get encouraging comments like that.

if you would like to return again, I can ensure you of an unterrupted stay, you can contact me directly at any stage jjb@armadahotel.com and I will oversee all the arrangments, the hotel is a lot quieter in the off season, which is fast approaching, and you would have a much different experience.

Kind Regards,

John Burke
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went on a 3 night break with husband and twin 9 month old babies. This was our first holiday with babies and we were more wrecked after the break than before we went.

Firstly I just want to say the hotel was in a good location and the staff were very friendly. However we didn't have the best experience overall.
We asked for 2 cots when booking. I assumed they would have proper mattresses and didn't bring my own. They didn't and so we had 2 very upset babies every night who could not settle in their cot. They have slept great since they came home. There was no air conditioning in rooms. The room was 25 degrees at night and we didn't feel comfortable leaving windows open as we were on ground floor and people were passing all the time. As we had to spend a lot of time in room with young babies and could not have tv on later than 7.30pm we would have appreciated internet access on our iPhones but unfortunately there was no reception in bedrooms. I was expecting a lot more from a 4 star hotel. We did consider checking out early and going home as we were so tired. Right now we would not go back there with babies but we might have had a different experience without the babies.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Im sorry to hear that your stay didnt meet your expectations, nor did your detail on your expereince meet our expected standards, and we are dissappointed with ourselves on that.

we are looking into each individual parts to your review, we have some immediate soloutions with fans now available for rooms, although we probably wont experience those temperatures again for another year unfortunatly! Housekeeping will look into the cots and quality of the matress in them and ensure we bring them up to an acceptable standard if we feel like you say they are inadequate.

Hopefully you might consider a return stay, I can assure you the place is a wonderful destination in the winter, and if you would like to return please contact me directly on jjb@armadahotel.com and I would be happy to make all the arrangments for you.

Kind Regards,

John J Burke
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice, clean, friendly hotel in a really nice spot. Worth the journey from Dublin even for just one nite. Close to beautiful beaches and the Cliffs of Moher. Surrounded by lovely towns on the Wild Atlantic Way

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review.

It is great that you had a nice time in the hotel and enjoyed the surrounding area, we are really proud of where we are situated and you have highlighted some our favourite parts.

Hopefully you can make it back again at some stage, the area is just a beautiful during the autumn and winter periods, and we have some amazing food, activity and accommodation packages.

Thank you again.

John J Burke
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay with my husband and son (Aged 8). Spacious sea view room with a complimentary cookie and milk on 1st night which my son loved. Breakfast choice was really plentiful whether you wanted to be healthy or a full blow out and nicely cooked/presented. Evening meal in the Pearl Restauant was lovely as was the bar food. As well as a usual modern bar, we loved the old pub which many newer hotels wouldn't have so you felt like you were going out whilst staying in! Staff were very friendly and helpful and if we get the same value, we will defintely be going back.

Room Tip: Sea view highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review,

You have shared some nice details with us of what you have enjoyed and with future visitors of what to exect from a stay here, we are delighted that it was a very positive experience and that you intend to return.

I have no doubt that we will be even a better place to stay when you do return, we are making continual improments, and even though you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner experience here we have some great plans to make further improvments.

Johnny Burkes pud is my personal favourite parts to hotel, named after my father who founded the hotel along with my mother, we have made a big effort there to reflect the humble beginings of here with the old pub style, retracing as much as possible, photos and historcial data, of the days when we traded as a roadside tavern, its great that people enjoy this place so much, and enjoy hearing the history of the place and area when the bar staff there get to share it with our visitors.

Hopefully as you have said you will get to return to visit us, and thank you again for the great review.

Kind Regards,

John J Burke
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This Hotel is extremely popular for weddings. Their slogan is "where tranquility meets the sea". The catering and expertise are second to none. It is also a lovely spot for short breaks. It is situated on the edge of the Atlantic Coast adjacent to Spanish Point, golfing at Dunbeg or Lahinch. It is not too far from The Cliffs of Moher from where you can continue on to explore the beautiful Burren landscape and all that Co Clare has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea; perhaps request a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed here this week and booked in that day it was a fabulous hotel. Service was top notch. Really went above and beyond the food was fabulous and varied.prices were normal. Lovely little bar/pub in the hotel with music. Rooms were spacious and clean. Room had no view but we were told that before we checked in and because we only booked that day it was no problem. Breakfast was a fresh buffet not over cooked and the waiter tried to get us a window seat even though we didn't ask. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I will certainly be going back again and 80e including breakfast for a wed night was v good for this location and this time of year. Very happy customers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Address: Spanish Point, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.