We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cliff Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
Red Cliff Lodge
Spanish Point, Spanish Point, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We were very blessed to have our wedding reception at the Red Cliff this Summer. We chose the venue for our intimate wedding (70) based on its stunning location and reputation for good food. Our expectations were completely surpassed, John and team took care of every step of the preparations, nothing was too much trouble and most importantly the food was OUTSTANDING. The suites are luxurious and make for a really special stay. Thanks to the Red Cliff Lodge for making our special day so perfect and look forward to many visits ahead. Treasa and Rory.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A group of us stayed here last weekend and it was a weekend we didn't want to end. The accommodation and hospitality at Red Cliff Lodge was beyond our expectations. The surroundings, comfort and experience was just brilliant. John is an amazing host and many of us plan to come back to experience this paradise again in the summer months. The best you'll find in the beautiful Spanish Point area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were looking to get somewhere special for a weekend late August...for some reason most good places were booked out of would not do 1 night...and that was all we needed...

I must say after driving for nearly an hour from Limerick city (and another 1.5 hours to Limerick for me from Cork) I was not sure where I would be...Turned out very rural and quiet place...beautiful beach...The hotel (or better known luxury self catering) was just a cluster of cottages some with thatched rooftops...They looked well and inside everything was so new and of a high quality...We booked dinner in the restaurant which was this amazing big room with chandeliers and candles and different paintings and mirrors...I really wanted to know who the designer was...It was very classy..Menu was great and the food was delicious...I would def recommend this getaway....couples, families, surfing, walks, dinning, fresh air and breath taking views...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent the night here on our way from Killarney to Galway. The Red Cliff has the best location in Spanish Point. Absolutely stunning views. The rooms which are all suits are even much better than the pictures. Any guest there will be pleasantly surprised by the size, the layout, the cleanliness, the attention to details that the management has given to ensure a superb stay for their guests.
John is a great host and looks after his guests extremely well.
This is the best place there. For us, this was the top most place we stayed in throughout our Ireland trip and we have stayed in other excellent properties.
I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here at the beginning of August and it surpassed all our expectations. Our 'suite' was luxuriously comfortable, finished to a very high standard with very classy decor and furnishings. We had total privacy yet had a superb restaurant on our door- step, a fabulous beach straight across the road and a busy, friendly hotel with music two minutes walk away! A lovely, home made, continental- style breakfast was delivered every evening for the next day. I really hope to return in the not- too- distant future!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night and had dinner in the restaurant it was amazing the suite was impeccable and the food in the restaurant was amazing. The beach is only a stone's throw away and is great for a nice peaceful get away, well worth a look if your thinking of staying in the area

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent one night here this week .It cannot be faulted . Accommodation was an elegantly furnished, spacious suite. A continental breakfast of beautiful breads , yoghurt etc was provided.We had dinner in the restaurant . Amazing food, beautiful surroundings & impeccable service from our host John. The lodge overlooks the strand so amazing views & there is a seating area outside.Highly recommended !!!! We did not want to leave !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliff Lodge

Address: Spanish Point, Spanish Point, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliff Lodge Suites and Restaurant overlooking Spanish Point beach is a wonderful thatched property. Food served in the Sun-Lounge, terrace and restaurant daily. Guests can enjoy a glass of wine while they watch the sun set in the evening overlooking the Atlantic! Seaview Suites are arranged in a courtyard style, lovely setting in surroundings of luxury. Unique feature of the suites is the integrated kitchenette which is ideal for family and self catering guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.