We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Conchiglia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Conchiglia to your Saves list
La Conchiglia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare di Ponente 4, 00050 Fregene, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fregene
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't particularly impressed, especially given the €155 price. I think this hotel might have been grand at one point, but it was very dated.

We had a triple room, but only two of us had actual beds. One was just a chair which opened to a very uncomfortable cot. The A/C didn't really seem to be under our control, even though it had controls on the wall.

Despite claiming it was a "gastronomic" experience we never saw the restaurant open.

The best thing about the place was the shower and pleasant desk staff. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
32
54
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel provided a perfect retreat after the hustle and bustle of 4 days in Rome. We originally booked this as a "close to airport/last night stay" but ended up a perfect stay in itself. Lovely large, bright, clean room with balcony overlooking the sea.

The wonderful reception staff simply could not have been more friendly and helpful.From arranging transfers, (we came via Maccarese station - only 20 minutes from central Rome - then a quick ride with Giovanni for 10 euros to the hotel) local directions, late checkout then transfers to FCO.(10 euros each) we even borrowed a corkscrew for our stay that came in very handy!

We ate in the restaurant that night. Good, well-priced, food and wine - the chef even rustled up 3 seperate veggie main courses "off menu" for us. Wonderful desserts too. Breakfast buffet was good too.

The private beach there was lovely too.Quiet at this time of year which was no bad thing for a sunny stroll and a paddle. Made good use of the free bikes as well for a ride around the town and along the beach.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing stay and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel La Conchiglia was a perfect quiet place right across from the beach. The hotel is a away from all the crowds of the city, but close to the centre of Fregene. In the outdoor courtyard with garden was green lush and beautiful. We asked for rooms in advance with balcony and sea view was lovely. The rooms were quite spacious, newly decorated and good beds. The beach was also clean and wide. We stayed at the hotel from 11 to 18 May, and the whole week was about 25 + degrees and sunny. It was easy and quick access by bus and train to Rome, especially when the staff was so helpful and flexible. The staff were really lovely with kind hospitality. The only downside was occasionally noisy renovation during the day, which was credited to when we left. Nevertheless the place was perfect for a total relax!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent 8 nights at the La Conchiglia in April 2013. This is located within 20 minutes from the FCO Airport. If you plan in advance with the hotel, there will be a shuttle to meet you (€ 20 approx).
The staff are extremely friendly and courteous.
Though this is some distance from the Rome city, you can arrange the shuttle to drop you at the Maccarese-Fregene Train Station and also you can arrange pickup from the station also.

The breakfast has a good spread of bread, jams, etc. I had Bruschetta at the restaurant for dinner.
They did not make any pizza. but there is a nice pizzeria and a restaurant just a 5 min walk from the hotel.
In case anyone wants, there is a "Simply" Super Market within about a 10 minute walk.

The rooms are very clean, cozy beds and blankets. The safe, hair dryer are standard. I loved the jumbo sized overhead shower a lot.. just like having a bath in the rain :)

I would definitelygo back.. the main reason for me are the above and the very warm friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Maybe the first floor rooms facing the sea are better since they get an amazing view of the golden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The town is beautiful, the price is fair, the staff are very helpful. the restaurant on site is very good and has a wood fire. There is a shuttle to and from the airport. Call ahead. The room had a rainfall shower and a very modern design along with a heated bathroom floor. One of the nicest hotels i have stayed in. I have recommended it to friends for their Rome trips as a nice place to unwind and rest up. A previous reviewer complained about the hard bed. I prefer a harder bed so i was elated and slept quite well on it. My one complaint is the wireless signal was a tad weak.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night on my way from the FCO Rome airport to a cruise in Civitavecchia leaving the next morning. I'd already been to Rome a couple of times so was not looking for a sight-seeing base. I was looking for an affordable place to rest my head for the night. This hotel fit the bill well enough.

I ended up having to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel, which cost 30 Euros. My understanding is that if you can arrange the shuttle in advance, as I tried to do, it costs only 10 Euros per person (please verify the shuttle information for yourself). Anyhow, although I tried to book the shuttle, it was apparently not operating that day. I don't fault the hotel or the shuttle company, as I had only tried to arrange this the day beforehand, so I didn't really leave enough time for contingencies.

Regardless, the very kind lady at reception upgraded my room from an economy room to a deluxe room at check-in because of the misunderstanding. I think it wasn't a busy time for the hotel, so they were able to do this easily enough. It was very kind of her in any event.

The renovated deluxe room was great! It was stylish in a retro-way and quite a good size. The shower was a rain-fall style.

I ate in the restaurant and it was pretty good, although it was quite cold despite the cozy fire in the corner. I thought the price was a little high, but I did enjoy the meal.

Because the weather was cold and rainy, I didn't take advantage of the free bicycles the hotel has to lend, nor did I spend any time at the beach across the street. There doesn't appear to be much else in the immediate area but it is a charming little property, if not the most up-to-date one.

The breakfast in the morning was basic but sufficient. I was made two delicious espressos by the lovely morning waitress.

I arranged for a shuttle to the cruise terminal for the next morning with a private company and all went smoothly.

Overall, I had a nice stay for the night. The staff was pleasant and the deluxe room was more than comfortable. I'll strongly consider this hotel for next time I'm en route to a cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was clean, quiet and the restaurant onsite is good.
My main complain is the really, really hard beds and the nasty blanket they had put on it. The hotel looks newly renovated and the rooms have a very modern design - and then they trow an old looking, 80s - style blanket on the bed. Have they never heard of proper comforters?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Conchiglia

Address: Lungomare di Ponente 4, 00050 Fregene, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fregene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fregene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Conchiglia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Conchiglia” Hotel in Fregene is the perfect place for every kind of traveler thanks to its kind hospitality, gastronomic tradition and total relax.
It is situated in the centre of the resort and at the water-front of Fregene so you can enjoy a beautiful sea view.
It is only 15 minutes far by car from the international airport “Leonardo da Vinci” of Fiumicino and 20 minutes far from “Rome Exhibition”. You can easily reach The Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Conchiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Conchiglia Fregene, Italy - Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Conchiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.