We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fota Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Fota Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fota Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fota Island
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with family ( 2 adults and 2 kids) and really enjoyed it. The staff were very welcoming and professional. Sometimes when you stay in 4/5 star hotels with kids, staff can be a bit stuffy. Not here - they were great and made us feel very comfortable.
Rooms were fantastic and we all fitted in perfectly.
The bar food was very nice and staff very goo but a bit flustered as it was busy.
Kids loved the pool and it was safe and clean.
Breakfast also very good with great variety and child friendly - again the staff were execellent.
Location is briliant for the wildlife park and access to Cork. The only negative thing I have to say ( apart from the price but it was a treat for us ) is that it can feel quite business oriented at times with people coming and going leading to a busy reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort, we pride ourselves on the ability to cater to business people, families and couples. I am delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy the pool with kids hours, kids eating options in all of the restaurants, playground, activities around the area, including kids camps, and the Fota Wildlife Park make that makes Fota Island Resort a wonderful getaway for families.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    276
    136
    62
    30
See reviews for
258
470
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We planned a relaxing couples retreat, but got totally stressed out on the first night. The service in the bar was terrible, they forgot our drinks, steak knife, brought food to the table when we weren't there, the steak was anaemic and chewy, overall an amateur level of service.
The management overcompensated when we complained, which became embarrassing. They should have just taken the meal off the bill.

The hydrotherapy and thermal suite was lovely, very relaxing and luxurious. Unfortunately, the therapies were weak, literally. Swedish massage didn't get any deeper than the epidermis, let alone the muscles, more like a dust-off than a massage and I repeatedly had to ask the girl to go stronger on the reflexology... May as well have just thrown on some lotion myself and saved myself €300!

We spent €900 for 2 days, trying to support Irish tourism, we should have gone abroad!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of Fota Island Resort, JD. It disappoints me that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Our staff members do their best to provide personalised and caring service for each guest throughout their stay. Unfortunately, someone will make a mistake but we always do our best to rectify them as quickly as possible. It is disappointing that our efforts were not to your liking.

It pleases me that you found the Hydrotherapy and Thermal Suites luxurious and relaxing. I have spoken with the Spa Manager regarding your massage. She informed me that Reflexology is not a massage, instead it relieves symptoms of ailments by pressing on certain points on the body. Thus there should not be too much pressure, otherwise the therapist could have potentially harmed you. Instead, she suggests that for a deeper massage try the Sports Massage, which may have made you more comfortable.

If you have any concerns or questions, please contact me at +353 (0)21 488 3700. We hope to welcome you back to experience a luxurious retreat that is usually synonymous with Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was efficient even though it was 11pm. The room was spacious and modern. Great amenities throughout the room. The restaurant was good in terms of food and service. It is not close to the city center of Cork so you have to have a car to enjoy the restaurant and shopping of Cork. Have a room near lobby where kids can play. Had no problems during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
The Resort is surrounded by natural woodlands on Fota Island, a luxurious getaway for those looking to escape from stress and to relax with loved ones. We are a 15 minute drive from Cork City Centre where guests can shop, wander through museums and more throughout the day, as desired. In the surrounding area, there are lots of activities for guests of all ages to enjoy, including the Fota Wildlife Park, excursions to Cobh, Spike Island and Midleton.

Our staff are proud of their work are are continuously shaping their departments based upon customers' preferences and seasons. For example, the Spa Manager designs new treatments every month with special offers available and the talented chefs create new dishes every season to excite diners.

We all strive to make the Resort a relaxing and friendly place to stay. I hope to welcome you back to Fota Island Resort so that you have another enjoyable trip in Cork.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Rented on of d lodges for d weekend. It was like a home from home. We loved it. Had every modern convenience. Kids loved d playground close by and overall it was lovely and relaxing. We ate in d hotel bar for our main meals, the food was just okay, thought it could have been better, but d staff were fantastic and very attentive.the only draw back of d hotel facilities was we have small kids and d pool is not open to them during d hours of the day that we would use it so found ourselves rushing to get into it before "adult only time".

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed your family holiday in one of our self-catering lodges. We pride ourselves on providing friendly service to each of guests and am pleased that you encountered this in the Amber Lounge. However, It disappoints me that your dining experience did not meet your expectation. Our chefs are continuously creating new menus each season. Hopefully the upcoming Winter menu will be more appealing to you.

Families will have lots to do including kids camps during school holidays, play on the playground, kid fitness classes and swim in the pool with kids hours at 9.00 - 11.00 a.m. and 4.00 - 6.00 pm. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another relaxing getaway to Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family with a small baby and a teenager. Stayed for 4 nights in October 2012.
Few excellent points:
Bathrooms in the rooms are just great
Spa is excellent. If you go ask for Kasia, she is really really good, also explains everything and gives good ideas (well I found it helpful for getting back in shape after birth)
Location is great - we visited the wildlife park. Worth it!
If we had any problems with lunch dinner or tables we looked for Daria and she sorted out everything

Bad things:
There's no wireless in the rooms so all Mac devices couldn't connect. There is only one cable in the room so felt like the Stone Age. Not good for 5 stars..
The restaurant - it is delicious but it's very expensive. It's fine if you go for one lunch or dinner but if you eat there for 4 days and nights get ready for a thick bill

In general great stay. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here, took advantage of the close location to Fota Wildlife Park and were well taken care of by Kasia in the Spa.

We are proud to announce that our IT professionals have just completed our connectivity review. We are now in the process of implementing a complimentary WI-Fi service throughout the Resort.

Our chefs use only the finest Irish and seasonal ingredients. They are continuously creating new dishes to excite the palates of our guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you and your family back soon for another luxurious holiday at Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Fota Island Lodges, Cork, Ocotber BH weekend. It was an experience we hope to repeat very soon. We opted for a three bed lodge as there were a number of us travelling to a family wedding. On arrival the receptionists were so friendly and helpful. We were provided with the keys and we drove over to the Lodge.

The interior of the Lodges is of such a high standard. A nice spacious siting, dining and fully equipped kitchen area with a beautiful view through the doors at the back of the house which led out to an open area with table and chairs to sit should the weather allow it!

Upstairs there were three beautifully decorated bedrooms, one master with ensuite and two other good size rooms and seperate bathroom all of which were spotlessly clean!

We went to the wedding in the hotel and the staff again were the best Ive seen. We went for breakfast the day after the wedding in the restaurant and even though we were late arriving the girl in the restaurant couldnt do enough for us!

Fota Island - the hotel, lodges and staff are of TOP CLASS. This is by far the best hotel/lodge Ive stayed in in Ireland and I am already looking forward to my return!

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Fota Island Resort and the self-catering lodges. It delights me that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that your experience was the best you've ever had in Ireland. I have forwarded on your review to our lodge Manager who was also delighted that her staff and the staff in the Hotel all treated you with the best service beyond your expectations. It pleases me that you are already planning your return to the Resort and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another luxurious stay that is synonymous to Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband took me here for my birthday, and he booked a suite which was fabulous. It was like being in a really modern apartment for the night! On arrival, the foyer was stunning, and receptionist was very nice and friendly. We then went to the spa for a swim and on arrival I immediately thought it was the nicest spa I've been to. The atmosphere and design was amazing, just beautiful. We got complimentary use of the hydrotherapy pool, which was good fun, but to be honest, not worth the €25 you'd otherwise be charged. The relaxation area, was just that! The had heated rocking loungers, and everyone in there, including us, had s snooze ;) The pool was lovely and big, a little cold, but most pools are like that.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely. No complaints. And then had a couple of drinks in the bar before bed. The atmosphere and decor of the bar was fab, really cosy. There was a jazz band, girl singing, guitar and cello, and they were just brilliant. We had a lovely relaxing evening. Slept really well in our big comfortable bed. Breakfast was brilliant, the selection was amazing and service was very good. Overall, we had a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It delights me that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with your husband at Fota Island Resort. your kind review has been forwarded on to our Spa Manager, who was pleased to know that you found the Spa facilities to be relaxing and beautiful. The Hydrotherapy Pool was designed to rejuvenate the body and take away stress. The Hydrotherapy Suite is also home to Ireland's only Walking River, which uses water currents and reflexology to revitalize athletes' sore muscles. The Relaxation Room is ideal for people wanting to unwind in the warmth of the Spa, and we are pleased that you were able to experience this. Your review has also been forwarded to our Bar Manager, who was pleased that the jazz band added to your lovely evening out in the Amber Lounge. We hope to welcome you and your husband back to enjoy another stay at Fota Island Resort.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fota Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Address: Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fota Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fota Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.