We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whole in one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fota Island Golf Club

Fota Island Golf Club
Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland
353 21 4883710
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“A whole in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a group of Golfers and non-golfers our weekend in Fota was one to remember thanks to all the staff in the clubhouse.
Food was gorgeous, and staff could not have done enough for us, nothing was a problem and everyone was so accommodating to our needs.

If you are lucky enough to get to see Fota we would recommend as a golfer and non-golfer to try the clubhouse menu for at least one of your evening meals.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your review of Fota Island Golf Club is very much appreciated.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at the Resort. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope that the next visit will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    4
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“BAD MANAGEMENT"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We saw advertisement on roadside for Lunch at FotaGolfClub priced at home€9.95. Decided to give it a try at this price. Manager showed up to seating and have up menus. 15 minutes later.. we had to approach member of staff to take our order. Staff member apologized and toll our order. Lunch Main Course was €12.50.
Meal duly arrived and was Stone Cold as was veg and gravy, which was chocolate brown and all over plate like a chocolate font. Nobody came to our table to enquire if meal was okay. No sign of Manager up to when we paid and complained. Usual reply to complaint,"I Will pass it on". This is a cliche i am tired of. What use is that to me after having to eat a COLD. MEAL. Hope they get act in order expensive Golf Irish Open.
Read Reviews of Nov. 2013 to endorse my complaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fota Island Golf Club.

I am disappointed to hear your recent visit to our restaurant was not up to your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and I apologise if you did not experience this. All your comments have been taken on board in order to improve our services.

We have tried to contact you personally in an effort to discuss your review.

We hope you consider returning to our restaurant to experience the excellent service that is synonymous with Fota Island Resort.

Warm regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dropped in for a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Only dropped in to watch a match and catch a bite to eat. We had soup and chowder. Both were amazing, we loved it and the service was just superb. Next time will be a round of golf and full dinner. Many thanks.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate your review of Fota Island Golf Club.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Clubhouse. Your kind comments will be passed on to our Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for your game of Golf! We hope the next dining experience will be just as pleasant.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Found this hidden gem by accident, Would not go beyond it.Superb food and service,So much so going there on a weekly basis my parents and family adore it We had a family lunch last weekend it was excellent and top class.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fota Island Golf Club. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

It is very rewarding to hear that you and your family enjoyed the food and service in the Spike Bar. I have passed on your kind comments to our Clubhouse Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was my first time visiting this restaurant because a few friends had told me that the lunches were good. When we arrived we were seated quickly and our orders were taken straight away. Both myself and my father had ordered the beef but when it arrived out it was cold, dry and tough. We said it to the manager on duty and he said he would say it to the chef but nothing more was done. We then asked for a mocha and a cappuccino. When the blonde waitress brought them over I had noticed she had given me a dirty spoon and had asked for another but was told that the spoon was only used to stir the drink when in fact the spoon was actually dirty. We were also given a cold hot chocolate instead of the mocha. Overall it was an overpriced disappointing trip and I will not be returning.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Golf Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

I am disappointed to hear your recent visit to our restaurant was not up to your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and I apologise if you did not experience this. All your comments have been taken on board in order to improve our services.

We have tried to contact you personally in an effort to discuss your review.

Kind regards,
John O'Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fota Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fota Island Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.