We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Ochs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Ochs to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Ochs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grazerstrasse 4, Bad Ischl A- 4820, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Miakoda1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I booked at this Hotel because of its 4 Stars but in retrospect I do not know how they earned them. During my one week stay the bathroom was seldom cleaned and I was provided with only one very small soap bottle at the start of the week. Outside there was ongoing construction which started early in the morning and to make matters worse, the service was for the most part not existent. The front desk girl was rude, arrogant and unfriendly, I actually caught her talking about the guests with the Hotel maid. Their beautiful Spa is so full of chemicals I walked out with a migraine that lasted into the next day. If you want nice friendly people that appreciate your business and make you feel welcome, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel like you got your money´s worth, this is not the place for you. I would never recommend this Hotel to anybody (including my mother in law).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verbania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010 via mobile

We've been in the hotel for a weekend in mid July during the mountain bike race in the area. The hotel is well located and offers an excellent breakfast, staff and lady owner was friendly and helpfull. Unfortunately our room was not made one day and even asking for the service they didn't come. Parking in the garage was a problem for the first night since there wasn't space for our car even if we were assured so.
In any case the stay was positive and the town is pretty nice.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Town Bad Ischl is nice but no for young couple. There are no bars or good restaurants and everything is open untill 9 pm.
We were in the hotel Goldener Ochs one night. Interesting and historical hotel, but very bad services. It´s ideal for old peoples.
In the room, there was old and historical furniture, but the room was clean. There was no air condition which is in the 4 stars hotel self-evidence.
Wellness area is new, clean and comfortable.
Service in the restaurant was terrible. In the hotel, there were a lot of old peoples and they had prepare 3 course menu. We wanted to order food from the card. They had not complete english menu, we waited for the food 1 hour without any drinks (waiters did not have time for us) and at the end, salmon with rice (16 Eur) was awful.
Breakfast were also bad - small selection, bad services...
At the end - historical hotel, old rooms, nice wellness, services aro no like in the 4 stars, absolutely bad for young peoples.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Great hotel, great location within easy walk of sites. Staff was very friendly and usefull, breakfast included in price was excellent. The room was a good size and well furnished. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

1) Impressive free facilities as allow both couple have sauuna, gym and swimming together with swimming suits.
2)Inside, warm swimming pool included as faciliities.
3) Very close to shpping and dinning area.
4) Spacious and good breakfast area.
5) Bathrope included for sauuna.
6) Nice staff

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Loved location within easy walk of sites. Multiple spots within facility to relax, including spa/pool area with awesome views of mtns. Staff was most gracious, breakfast included in price was very good value. .Internet: small fee for access, and you will need your lap-top.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We had read all about the Goldener Ochs on line and in Nat Geo Travler so I had huge expectations about this wonderful old hotel/spa. I have to say we were a bit disappointed. The hotel was nice, just not to the level I expected. The staff was friendly, most of the time. The room was decent size with a balcony, but furnished in a 70's style. The spa was great, the food was very good and the town of Bad Ischl is wonderful. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice place, I just happen to think it is over priced and over hyped.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Ochs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Ochs

Address: Grazerstrasse 4, Bad Ischl A- 4820, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Ochs 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goldener Ochs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Ochs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.