We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser Villa

Kaiser Villa
Jainzen 38, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
(0613)223241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Bad Ischl
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

On our travels around Europe have been visiting various places associated with the Hapsburgs and this is a great visit. An authentic tour of a Villa located in a beautiful spot which really brings the history alive. The park is great for a stroll and coffee and cake on the terrace is perfect.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    16
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
217 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Kaiser Villa is located in the centre of Bad Ischl and has a large free car park within easy walking distance. We found the Villa park was quite good value but the villa tour was another 9.50 euro each. We had just arrived before a two hour lunch closure and had to rush up the hill as the last tour was starting in five minutes. We were given English translation sheets as the guide conducted the tour in German only. At first we had hoped that the English translation sheets would keep up with the commentary but our guide soon veered off and we found that we missed a lot of the additional information. We understand some German but the guide spoke too quickly which made it difficult to translate.
The tour covered various salons and bedrooms of Franz Josef and Sisi. There were numerous trophy kills on display. The final chamber contained Sisi's death mask and a model of her favourite dog. Nor were we allowed to take photos inside the Villa.
The park like grounds are fairly plain. There was a fountain but it was not running. There is a grassy hill and some forest with a path winding through this but there is little else to the grounds.
Overall it was a rather lacklustre tour and certainly unnecessary after doing several other Sisi related museums. For a better overall experience visit Schonbrunn in Vienna.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good if you speak German”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very disappointed with this villa.Our guide Ms Thomas Cook spoke English at the beginning of the tour to tell us she Wouldn't speak our language during the tour....go figure?There were 16 in the group and half spoke English.Expensive when you can't understand the story of the Kaiser Villa.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nicely villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice guide tour in the villa, a bit expensive to my opinion, 13.5 EUR for person. Is you don't speak german you will be board (the guide speak german and you get a page in your language).
The villa is very nice and the park also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“On a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Interesting history Franz Josef must have nearly exterminated the entire population of Chamois whilst living there.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiser Villa also viewed

Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
 

Been to Kaiser Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiser Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.