We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sissy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Sissy
Pfarrgasse 2, Bad Ischl, Austria
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Bad Ischl
Cuisines: Austrian
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The food here was very disapointing when the restaurant had received such good reviews and was rated so highly by locals. Expensive too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ate in the non-smoking restaurant area and it was about 1/2 full the night we were there. The waiter was not overly friendly, but he was polite and efficient and seemed to be working the area on his own. The food was perfectly fine, nothing special, but enjoyable and the servings were generous. As some others have stated though, it really lacks on sort of ambience. So a nice enough meal, but nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Nice food, lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Bad Ischl (it was recommended by the lady in the tourist office). The food was very good and the waiter was fine. Despite the lovely surroundings it didn't have a lot of atmosphere, but this could be because we were seated in the non-smoking area, which was completely empty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not very friendly go downstairs to the Happy Dragon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I ahve visited 4 or 5 times with slow unhelpful service and disinterested staff. The food is good but they need to work on the service

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is an interesting buildng that serves as a restaurant and a cafe, the interior of the building is well worth popping in for a visit! We have eaten in the non smoking restaurant but were not blown away - it was fair but not great. We use the cafe as a place to sit and chill, when the other bars in the town are crowded!!.It does get smokey, as do the other bars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sissy also viewed

Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
 
Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
Bad Ischl, Upper Austria
 

Been to Cafe Sissy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sissy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.