We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and convenient to Disney without the extra cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Explorers Hotel to your Saves list
Explorers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, Avenue la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close and convenient to Disney without the extra cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay in the hotel (family of five, three children aging from 10 and under).
Number 54 shuttle directly outside of euro took us to the hotel in less than 5 minutes, the bus runs between four hotels very frequently; the explorer is the first pick up and drop off point so no problems with transport.
We arrived just after 1400, checked in quite quickly, room was not ready at this time but luggage was stored in a secure place until the room was ready, we went straight to the ark and when returned picked up the room card, no problems.
Room
Was what we expected, a standard room with a separate bedroom with bunk beds, separate bathroom and toilet. Towels were provided and changed every day, our room was clean, warm, and beds were fine, plenty of sockets to charge and use, tv channels some in English, three standards kids channels found in UK.
Only one minor complaint for the room was that some of the pillows felt like they were filled with cotton wool balls.
Pool
Was clean, bring your own towels as ones from room are not permitted and there is a charge for towels in the pool area (4 euros), two good slides for all to use, there is also a good play area with water buckets etc for smaller children, this we found was only on a peak times.
Breakfast
It is what it says it is before you leave, so don’t expect anything else. Plenty of cereal, breads etc for children and a continental selection, a cooked breakfast was available for 4 euros, never bothered or seen one while there so cannot comment. Did not have to wait but had to pick breakfast times as there was a lot of guests staying, very busy room but well maintained during the busy times by the staff.
Transport
As before no problems, number 54 shuttle came along very frequent and the hotel was the first pick up point so was nearly always empty and was the first drop off point, just expect the normal practices of our fellow Europeans of ignoring a line.
Bar in Hotel
Bar was stocked with usual lagers, wines spirits etc, there was also cocktails available and a happy hour every evening.
Food
There is a takeout pizza next to the bar that sells chips etc, we never used it but it was always busy, we had always eaten in one of the parks before we come back.
There is also a small sandwich/coffee shop on the top level, very nice.
Children’s indoor play areas
A large indoor play area found in most towns and cities in the UK and a pirate ship to climb, both well used.
Shopping
There is a small Disney themed shop in the hotel that sells drinks etc or behind there are self-dispensing machines.
Overall
The hotel was very convenient for Disney; it delivered what it advertised and no more, would I recommend it yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Colin,

Thank you for providing us with such a complete feedback about your recent stay.

It is always rewarding to learn that you would recommend the hotel.

We were delighted to read that you found our hotel convenient to Disney and that your room, the swimming pool, as well as the continental breakfast, our bar with happy hour every evening and the shuttles to the parks were as per your satisfaction.

We are also glad that your children enjoyed the play area.

Thank you for your comment about the pillows; your opinion is valuable as we use it as a way to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback. The entire team of the Explorers hotel is looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Stefania Pederzoli
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    836
    463
    198
    123
See reviews for
1,495
107
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a teacher and group leader of 34 students, we had a fabulous stay at the Explorers Hotel. All students had plenty of room in their bedrooms, and loved the fact that the toilet was separate from the main bathroom. The pool opened until 11pm and after a great day at the theme parks, the kids loved to unwind in the pool each evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. Even with such a large group, we had no problem being seated together every morning for breakfast. I was worried about the food but thankfully had no need to! The students were able to use the buffet no problem and loved the fact that they could eat as many pain au chocolats as they wished!!!!!! Overall, this is an excellent hotel, very near the parks and one where I would take my own family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

We are delighted that you had a lovely time in the hotel with your group of students. It is very nice to hear that they could enjoy our swimming pool & breakfast as they wished.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back as the leader of a group as well as with your own family !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years, the pool and facilities for children are really good. The pool is especially good as is the indoor soft play area. I'd say the massive downside to the hotel are the rooms. The beds as previously stated are very uncomfortable.
The space is very small in the bedrooms and although you don't spend much time in your room the time you are there, we felt wasn't enjoyable. Even the tea and coffee facilities weren't really what I'd call facilities.
A kettle, 2 tea bags, 2 coffee sachets and one chocolate. No milk, only paper cups and plastic stirrers.

The restaurants(!) are all in the same place. The pizza 'restaurant' is just a till you order and collect pizza from. It's not a separate place to eat. We didn't try the buffet at dinner as the breakfast wasn't overly wonderful just convenient in the morning for a quick bite.

Overall I'd say it was an ok stay but we won't be returning when we go back to Disney.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Team at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.

We greatly value feedback from our guests, as we understand that your comments are the best way for us to improve our services.

We are sorry to learn of your concerns about the room and the beds. Please note that our standard rooms’ size (18m2) is very common in Paris and its surroundings. Moreover, we offer larger suites (40m2) for our clients looking for a more spacious room.

We passed your comments about the tea and coffee facilities on to the Management as well as your suggestion regarding the milk. It is only thanks to comments like yours that we are able to continuously adapt our service so we are very thankful about your report.

Finally, the Marco’s Pizza is a take away restaurant. Our guests can either collect their pizza and eat their meal in their room or they can enjoy their dinner sitting right in front of the parlor at the Traders’ Café Bar.

May we thank you once again for bringing those elements to our attention. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the future hoping to improve your judgment about the hotel.

Best Regards,

The sales team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose the explorers hotel due to a number of reasons, large family rooms which we found to be clean, breakfast which was nice, English was €4 extra wasn't worth paying it wasn't nice at all (how many English people do you know who put onions and garlic in baked beans at breakfast?!?!)
Pool was fab, play area was fab, even my 13 yr old went to investigate... Lol not keen on the prices of the food & drinks tho, €6 a pint and shorts were just as overpriced too, €28 for 3 drinks and then there's soft drinks for the kids...
Free wifi free carpark free shuttle bus, what are these people moaning about??

THE only negative about this hotel was the rude French guests who kept telling us to go home!! If we hadn't have had our children with us they would have received more than a mouthful of abuse back.

A shining example of how rude they are, my husband and mother in law decided to leave the parks early because he has a bad leg ( which you cant notice until he walks) and she has a bad foot and needs a stick to help her, they were first in the rabble for the shuttle bus back to the hotel and this ignoramus tried to pushed my husband out of the way, but at 6' 2" and nearly 20st he had no chance of doing when my husband asked what he was doing he started screaming my wife she is crippled you move, well firstly if he'd have asked, he would have helped her on the bus, but to be pushed and a demand given he was told to 'do one' my husband tried to explain his Mum was also using a stick and he was first in the queue, the man then started swearing and shouting telling them to f@£k off home, how rude, do these people not realise its people like us 'leaving home' and spending money in 'their' country that keeps the economy pumping, this wasn't the first time we experienced this sort of behaviour either, if I didn't like Disneyland so much I'd never return to France or this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for giving a feedback after your visit at the Explorers hotel.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you found the hotel and facilities to be as per your satisfaction. We are sorry to learn about the inconvenience concerning the argument with other guests and we hope this didn't affect the rest of your stay.

Our entire team would be really happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here from the 26th December until the 30th December with family. Booked one of the crew rooms which was located on the 4th floor to end of the corridor and did not hear much noise from this area.
Was a bit concerned about previous reviews about cleanliness of the rooms, however rooms were clean enough to sleep in after a long day at the parks, areas in the room like paintwork, radiators and grouting etc are lacking however this must be hard to maintain as the size of the hotel and amount of customers coming through the door are huge.
Booked breakfast for 9.30, however receptionist adv that this could be changed just to let them know, however when I spoke with a different receptionist she said just to turn up with original card and there was never any problems. Lots of choice at breakfast all uk branded cereal, lots of breads, croissants, fruit loaf, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses. Machines for coffees and teas seem to be busy, however there is also vending machines to the top half of dining area which I do not think people are aware of. Machines with pic of coffee cup and cow at the top give out same drinks!!!
If ordering pizza and a drink get your drinks first as this area seems to be very slow with only 2 staff serving. Happy hour from 7-8 on cocktails and beer.
Free facepainting between 8 and 10, boat playship, Scallywags softplay and kiddies swimming pool, nice boutique in the hotel also.
Bus seemed to pick us up first apart from the sat and ran every 10min which was great. All staff within the hotel were very friendly and helpful.
Have stayed at Dreamcastle hotel in October 2010, however this one seemed to be better for kids lots more for them to do.
Vea bus is located at the terminal 2F adult is 19 euro one way, child is 15 euro one way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a feedback after your stay at the Explorers hotel. Giving your opinion helps us take decisions and make changes in order to improve the quality of our service.

We are delighted that you had a nice time with us thanks to our numerous facilities coupled with a good service. It is always rewarding for us to read such positive comments and a real pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel could be fantastic. The pool and play areas are brilliant, the rooms are clean and it's last for pick ups and first for drop offs on its Disney shuttle bus route. The problem is that the service is terrible, pointless booking system for breakfast (hard to anticipate even the night before what time your children might be ready for breakfast and then had to queue for table anyway!), 30 mins minimum to get a drink at the bar, and 10 minute wait for a table in an empty restaurant.... When will they learn that extra service means more profit from food and drink sales

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback after your visit.

We are delighted that you found the hotel was great for the children but we are sorry that the service was not up to your expectations and that you had to wait so long at the restaurant.

Please be assured that your remarks will be discussed as comments like yours are used to take measures aiming at improving the quality of our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived on December 23rd after a long Eurostar trip.The staff couldn't have been more helpful at check in was a quick and simple procedure and we were soon given our room key. We stayed in room 424 which was a 6 berth room. The room was immaculately clean I couldn't find a single fault and as a former cleaner in the hospitality industry I did check everywhere! Haha.

The swimming pool was open from early morning til half 10 at night which meant that it never got crowded as people went at different times, it's a really good pool with 3 slides and a pirate ship with lots of things for young children.... But beware of the large pirate face on top!! Haha

There is also a mini gym for children which my girls thoroughly enjoyed and spent many hours!

There's an arcade featuring airhockey and other arcade games but we didn't use this room so I can't comment

Marcos pizzeria is also really good value for money and the pizzas are quite large too

Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast consisting of fruit, croissants, bread rolls, cereals, ham and cheese
Although for an extra 4euro supplement you could have an English breakfast.

I have no complaints about this hotel at all everything was to a high level and assistance was given as soon as asked

The only thing I would warn people about is the shuttle bus, this obviously isn't a hotel issue but they do get exceptionally crowded and it can be quite dangerous at times especially if you are travelling with young children.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review from your experience at the Explorers Hotel. We take your comments very seriously to constantly improve the quality of our service.

It is a real pleasure to read that you had a good time with your family. We are very thankful for all your positive comments regarding the staff, swimming pool, restaurants and other facilities we are offering.

The entire team would be really happy to see you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Disneyland® Paris!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, Avenue la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - conference rooms - XD theater - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.