We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the sea and the seals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sound Visitor Centre Cafe

The Sound Visitor Centre Cafe
The Sound, Cregneash IM9 5PZ
01624 838123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cregneash
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Spiez, Switzerland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“See the sea and the seals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Superb location and you get a beautiful view from the bay window if the weather outside is not too good, or the wind blows you off your feet. Prices are higher than us usual on the island, but I suppose one has to accept this. The seals are regular visitors on the rocks you can see from the restaurant. This place can get very busy if you get there at the same time as a coach party, beware!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    30
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent All Round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On a recent visit to the Isle of Man I visited this cafe twice and it really is a brilliant location. Views are spectacular and the sea food chowder a must. My perception was that lunch was slightly better than dinner but both matched expectations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location and after you have enjoyed watching the seals and taking in the scenery smaple a meal or just the afternoon scones with jam and cream to round off the visit. A nice modern facility,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great views, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is sited in one of the most beautiful natural landscapes on offer on the island, and it has a sweeping glass curtain wall to take advantage of this. The building is sympathetic to the landscape, clad in stone, with a living green roof. You are very likely to be able to see seals in the rocks as you dine or sup at your table.Unfortunately, the superlatives end there.

The place claims to be a visitor centre and cafe, but in reality the only nod to being a visitor centre is that a few wildlife information boards have been placed around the walls, and a video display projected on the floor. It is primarily a cafe.

The food is of patchy quality, and the service is nothing special. You must queue to place your order, and the food is brought to your table. The licensing for alcohol sales is odd, or at least oddly interpreted. On one occasion, I fancied some crab sandwiches and a can of Guinness, but was refused the beer on the grounds that I had to have a 'substantial meal' under the terms of their licence. I asked what would qualify as a 'substantial meal' and the server seemed unsure, but said my sandwich didn't. She said that if I bought some chips with it, that would be OK! I understand that a restaurant licence shouldn't be abused by selling alcohol with a bag of peanuts, but let people have a light meal and a drink if they fancy it! We have also been served horrible, dried up sausages and chips as a kid's meal - poor kids!

The crab salad (which last time I was there qualified me to enjoy a glass of sauvignon blanc!) isn't bad, and is what I usually opt for.

The interior tends to be very noisy, and could do with sound deadening interior decor given the cavernous nature of the building.

I like going here because of the wonderful location and the view, which just about outweighs the poor quality of some of the food, the lack of proper service, the silly restrictions on serving alcoholic drinks and the echoing interior.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Visited here to see the seals and the calf of man, nice view from outside but terrible inside, we ordered kipper with butter bean salad, brought out the kipper minus the butterbean salad. When we asked for it they said they had run out and we could have bread instead. Asked for a token gesture refund only to be told the bread was worth more that the butterbean salad so we wouldn't get anything. Burgers were like those you would get from a mobile cafe but way more expensive. Bad service bad food, go down to see the view but don't eat here better off taking a picnic.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sound Visitor Centre Cafe also viewed

Dalby Village, Isle of Man
Baldrine, Isle of Man
 
Port Erin, Isle of Man
Santon, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Sound Visitor Centre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sound Visitor Centre Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.