We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Calle 12, Celestun, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Celestun
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Dining at La Palapa is modern cuisine in a modern restaurant on an old-style largely empty Mexican beach. We visited La Palapa as part of a bus tour from Merida that went to Celestun primarily to see the pink flamingos that populate the nearby swamps.... a sight not to be missed. Dining at La Palapa was casual and unhurried. Food was about average for a better Mexican rstaurant. However the view of the beach and sea was stunningly beautiful as La Palapa is completely open to the beach on one side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Classic seaside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After visiting the flamingo reserve, we had less time than we would have liked if we wanted to drive back to Merida in daylight. Our waiter was very helpful and had our meal served with uncharacteristic Mexican speed. Our table was a few feet from a large arch through which a few yards behind were the beach and the sea. One would have hoped for good simple grilled fish in that setting and we were not disappointed. With a beer and the usual basketful of nachos and dips, the bill came to less than 300 pesos. It all added up to a perfect way to round off the excursion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partaloa, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Casual lunch by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

For a seafood restaurant this is a great place when visiting Celestun. As always in Mexico the
table is soon loaded with tortilla chips and dips, with drinks soon to follow. The prawns and fish are very fresh and the service fine. Dishes served with rice, vegetables, mashed potato, and sauces. The atmosphere under the large palapa is memorable, and the views of the Gulf of Mexico excellent. This is a great place to unwind for lunch, enjoy the scenery, and take in a few beers or margaritas. Crowded with locals - always a good sign - as well as tourists. Not to be missed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“"Not gourmet but good"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Sitting under a large palapa with a cool gulf breeze, dining on fish and shrimp and sipping on a cervesa...who could ask for a more leisure afternoon ?
This is a tourist stop for the Flamingo Tour groups so it is geared for the "sand and surf" crowd.
If you are looking for "fine dining" this aint it.
However, the food was good for a beach front restaurant in a small town. On the tour menu was filet of red snapper or grilled Mexican gulf shrimp served with rice, chayote squash and mashed potatoes. The appetizer was a version of ceviche with white fish, cilantro and tomato which was quite good. Margaritas or other such beverages were extra.
The cost of the lunch was reasonable in keeping with this type of restaurant and food. Service was a bit slow, but there was no need to rush...this is Mexico and we were on a tour to enjoy a visit to see the flamingos at Celestun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Dining with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

La Palapa has one of the best locations in Celestun right on the beach. In the hot summertime it is most likely a very popular place to dine. It was our misfortune to be there for lunch on a cool and partly cloudy day. The building is a very huge "palapa" ( thatched roof open air building), with a charming beach and a view of the gulf coast.
Our tour group luncheon was preordered and part of the tour package. The appetizer was a ceviche of a gulf white fish, tomato, and cilantro marinated in fresh lime juice....quite good.
We had a choice of entrees ( filet of red snapper /grilled or sauteed in a garlic sauce or the grilled Mexican white shrimp served with a garlic sauce ) both were accompanied with mexican rice and mashed potatoes with a dollop of brown gravy. Although this was not your gorumet dining experience, it was not expected to be for the inclusive price.
I found the eight shrimp to be very tasty and the sauce was truly delicous.
Rice is rice and the mashed potatoes were most likely from a box mix ( no complaints ).
The drinks from the bar were well made and enjoyed by all ( cocktails were not included in the tour price)...but we were not driving back so we relaxed and had fun.
Don't be in a rush...the only things in Mexico that rush are taxies, busses, and motor bikes.
This is the land of manana.
Other than the very cool breeze blowing through the open restaurant, it was a delightful luncheon with some charming people from France and our friends visiting from New Mexico.
We plan to return to this restaurant during the warmer time in the Yucatan...68 degrees can be a bit cool on the gulf coast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Celestun, Yucatan
Celestun, Yucatan
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.