We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant, Lounge and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Peon

Casa Peon
Calle 12 | No. 120B entre 15 y 17, Celestun, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 restaurants in Celestun
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Lounge and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Celestun with its long white empty beaches is the best place to relax, and Casa Peon is the best place in Celestun to sleep, eat and make new friends! Very inspiring surrounding, created by an artist. Good food at fair prices. The hosts are very helpful and assist you in just about everything you need as a traveller.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    28
    5
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We visted here for dinner in March 2011 and it was just excellent! The restaurant itself has a real funky ambience (due to part of it being within the ruins of an old building), which sets it apart from the other palapa type places in Celestun. Although the dinner menu was not extensive, there were enough interesting dishes. The food was absolutely fanatastic and beautifully prepared and presented. The owner and our waiter were very personable and even opened a new bottle of wine for us just so that we could have a glass of it! The modern jazzy background music lent an air of casual sophistication and later we enjoyed watching the old Rolling Stones videos projected onto the building masonry. Although just slightly off the main drag, it is worth the 2 minute detour. By the way,despite what previous reviews say, there are several other restaurants that are open past 7pm, but this is by far the best. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had a lovely dinner that was absolutely delicious at Casa Peon this week. My husband raved about his fish and we had a great evening in this charming restaurant. In fact, we tried to go back for breakfast the next day, but it was their day off. Definitely recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I read all the reviews before I went - as well as some others from hotels in Celestun. Maybe there are new owners or a new chef - but the food was awful! The staff were very friendly and helpful but the food was really quite bad. Now -having said that - there was only one other restaurant open in the evening when we were there - El Lobo - which was very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum Q.Roo Riviera Maya Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible place in the middle of nowhere......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

we have been traveling for around 5 days discovering the Yucatan Peninsular following the wind and the beauty of this place and arriving in Celestun and walking around after a nice kite session we met joern, He invited us to have a dinner at Casa Peon ....was great, food drink an atmosphere was perfect !!!!!
as well is the only place open after 7 pm !!!!! do not miss it if you are there......

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Peon also viewed

Celestun, Yucatan
Celestun, Yucatan
 
Celestun, Yucatan
Celestun, Yucatan
 

Been to Casa Peon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Peon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.