We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, friendly, budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra
9 avenue du Passeur Challies, 34300 Agde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Agde
Cailhau, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well positioned, friendly, budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel currently under new owners offers fantastic value for money. It is really well positioned between the beaches and the town centre, with an array of good restaurants very close by. The owners are charming and really keen to give their customers a good stay - checking whether anything further is needed or could be improved. It is currently a bit rundown with mixed décor yet the owners are working on this and it promises to be really good in the not too distant future! Décor aside I had the best night's sleep in a long time. All the facilities are provided (imncluding hairdryers - not always in the cheaper hotels). Breakfast is simple and worth the 7.60euros. We chose to pay for parking and in height of season that is probably wise but otherwise there is a good carpark opposite.
We were there for Capvin - a great wine festival and enjoyed our first day discovering this little gem of a resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be facing the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had initially booked a basic room, but were told none were left so upgraded for another 10€ to an executive room with a view of the marina. Facilities were adequate, with AC, essential as temperatures soared during our 2 night stay. The room was clean, with fresh towels provided. The manageress was more than helpful, suggesting places to eat and find breakfast. The resort is typically seaside with some very over priced restaurants along the port, where service was poor and food very mediocre. Head inland for better service and quality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Good Hotel in good location. Ryanair flight from Manchester got the shuttle bus €1.20 from the Airport to Agde Railway Station the took the No 3 to Les Nautiles bus stop €1.00 Hotel is a 3 minute walk. Gil the owner very helpful his English is very good. Room 308 very clean a bit dated, bathroom and toilet small. Plenty of hot water. Nice balcony over looking the Marina. The pool area is nice. Ur there are no singers. You will have to lie on the floor. The beach is 10 minute walk past the Aqua park. Beach lovely plenty of facilities.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, we had coffee, orange juice, croissant, bread, jam and butter from the little bakery next to the hotel €5.00. We also had a cheese ham salad baguette made there to take to the beach €4.50.

Next to the hotel is a Vin cave which served great local wine for € 2.00 a glass they also serve tapas style food very reasonable.

Over all the hotel is good just needs a few extras to make it a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Alhambra is in a perfect location, minutes from the beach and minutes from fabulous restaurants overlooking the marina and port. The rooms are very comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Very good value for money. The couple who run the hotel are friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the marina, the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night and I really wish it had been for longer. The rooms are simple and basic but clean and tidy. I upgraded to a room with a balcony (an extra €10) with views over the Marina and for a tiny service charge you can choose to have a breakfast tray brought to your room (Breakfat is not included in the room price but it's a bargain at €9 for breakfast in your room!) I sat in the sun whilst eating my croissant, fruit juice, yoghurt etc overlooing the Marina. Just perfect! The couple who run the place are lovely, very friendly and both speak excellent english. The car park is locked in a secure compound if you are one who worries about such things. It's a few minutes walk to some great beach bars or the shops and restaurants around the Marina.
This is not a top end hotel but it's honest and basic and a lovely bolthole after a few days staying in soulless expensive hotels for work on the previous days. Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra few euros for a room with a balcony over looking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a great hotel ! big room. a very nice family ran hotel. they lady was very helpful. suggested better room when we were checking in. then afterwards she helped us to catch our flight on time ! without her we might miss our flight. she rang local taxi for us and even stayed with us outside to make sure everything ok. what a service ! thanks a lot :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: 9 avenue du Passeur Challies, 34300 Agde, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agde
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Agde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.