We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Cap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Cap to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Cap
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue de la Citrine | Agde Cap d'Agde, 34300 Agde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Agde
Manchester
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I previously reviewed this hotel after a December visit. Thought it worth a seconfd review to say we were just as happy with everything but also were able to appreciate the roof top pool this time.
I have family in Agde so am familiar with the hotels, the overall standard is not good and this is the only one I would reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We'd stayed in the old town of Agde for 5 days so arriving at the Hotel Grand Cap we were very happy to find the modern yet simple design. A small paddling pool(not really big enough for swimming) and sun loungers on the roof, and internet access in the room felt like real luxuries after the stone walls and web-less experience of the old town.

The staff can speak English and are very helpful. We even changed our room because we didn't like the colour scheme of the first one without a problem. We had also arrived early in the morning before the check-in time and were allowed to store out bags with reception while we went across the road to the big supermarket called HyperU which has a really nice and inexpensive cafe/buffet.

Breakfast is a typical continental style with breads, yoghurts, cereal and coffee/tea/choco late. All very fresh and tasty. The cafe at HyperU as a bigger selection of hot and cold foods if you need a wider choice.

It isn't far to walk into the old town or to the beach or canal and there are good bus services which you can pick up in the carpark of HyperU. HyperU is of course very convenient (3-5 mins walk south) for food/drink shopping and more.

For dinner I can recommend Le Don Camillo which is a 15 min walk towards the old town (check TripAdvisor for more details).

Good value for simple but modern accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is halfway between the medievil old town and the beach, about 25 minutes walk to each but there are also buses. It is recently built in an area of all new building but there is no work going on in the immediate area and there is plenty of landscaping in place and being worked on. No parking problems. There is a good supermarket and shopping precinct with some eating places about 5 minutes walk away. Neither the hotel or area are picturesque but they are not unattractive. The hotel is extremely well run and spotlessly clean with friendly staff. (The area is known as the friendliest part of France). We stayed in December (frosty mornings) while visiting family and it was lovely and warm throughout the hotel, and we appreciated the coffee available in the reception area when we came back each evening. Rooms are modern, and fairly spacious with plenty of storage. Beds are comfortable (but only 2 pillows to a double room so we had to ask for extra) and the bathroom are modern with plenty towels. There is a lovely pool area on the roof which we look forward to using on our next visit. While we were there we had a look at a some of the other hotels nearby and we were glad to have chosen the Grand Cap. The breakfasts are good quality continental with extras such as fruit and yoghurts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is easy to find if you follow the local signs on roundabouts in the general area; it also has a large red illuminated 'Hotel' sign on the roof!

On arrival I received a friendly reception and completed the formalities in no time at all. My first floor room was a bit basic but had everything that I needed. The bathroom is compact but adequate. The double bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of drawer and hanging space. There is no hairdryer, not a problem for me as I have a #3 all over! There is also a 22" wall mounted TFT TV and free WiFi Internet access. The room was serviced daily with clean towels provided as required.

Other amenities at the hotel included a drink and snack machine in the lobby, adequate free car parking and a roof top swimming pool. During my visit the swimming pool was closed.

Breakfast is taken in the ground floor breakfast room and was adequate for the price charged, EUR 7.00, there was always plenty of everything.

There are a couple of local restaurants within walking distance for an evening meal, with many more within a couple of miles at Agde, Le Grau d'Agde or Le Cap d'Agde.

In summary, a great hotel at a great price with friendly staff and ideally located.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This place is not easy to find as it is out of the town and pretty new I think. Not many people know exactly where it is. Rooms are ready and service is ok. Breakfast is ok for the price it charges. As with most of southern france, some attractions are closed during Jan 2012.

This is a good place to stay if you require just a basic rooms and not picky about anything else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night before hiring a boat on the Canal du Midi.
A very good hotel. Not pretentious which provided a very good night's accommodation at a good price.
Also they let us park our car there for a week without extra charge.

Would definitely use the hotel again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

i recently stayed with my 2 young children and partner we had a wonderful time the staff were all very friendly and warming to us, they didny speak much english which was only a small problem at times but we all got through it...they were as helpfull as could be on all occasions and hotel was very clean! cleaners were in every day with fresh towels and cleaning rooms! i will definately be returning! thank you all once again for assisting us on our lovely holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Cap

Address: 5 Rue de la Citrine | Agde Cap d'Agde, 34300 Agde, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Agde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grand Cap 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel situated to Agde, near the shopping center " Grand Cap " and near the cycle track which leads to the Grau d' Agde (the sea), by the banks of Herault. Meadows to the city center and to the Cap d' Agde. Swimming pool on panoramic terrace. Deprived 24 car park rooms (chambers) with subjects, among which 1 continuation (suite), with air conditioning, satellite TV and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.