We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, good service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of IFT Educational Restaurant

IFT Educational Restaurant
Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
853-28515222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 370 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Educational Restaurant at the Institute for Tourism Studies, Macao is a Michelin Guide Bib Gourmand rated restaurant and awarded "2014 Certificate of Excellence Award" by TripAdvisor.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor food, good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Only gets two stars because of the service. Food was cold, inedible, returned both the pasta and tamarind pork. Went elsewhere to eat. Managment did handle well. Not sure the reason why it has got so high reviews. The restaurant was being rennovated so we ate in the hotel restaurant and not up the road so this may habe been why?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We decided to visit whilst staying at the Pousada next door. The food was excellent, although more choice of Macanese dishes would have been appreciated. Staff all very friendly and eager to please, obviously proud to be part of the team. It has just gained a Michelin star and is well deserved as the food is top notch and well presented. The complimentary bread basket was excellent and the wine list extensive. Go there, especially if you are staying at the Pousada!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just had a wonderful fine dining experience at this restaurant for the equivalent of $50AUD for two (no alcohol). My mother had the executive set menu which included an entree (pork terrine), a main (traditional roast turkey and perfectly cooked vegetables), and the dessert buffet. Being vegetarian, I ordered a la carte - home made fettucine infused with truffle and parmesan. I also ordered the dessert buffet. Service was outstanding, and the decor is tasteful. Most importantly of course, the food was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
1,056 helpful votes 1,056 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the Pousada de Mong-Ha, run by students at the adjacent Institute for Tourism, and figured that the Institute's restaurant would be equally wonderful. We were not disappointed!

The food and the service were excellent, and the menu prices were reasonable. Everyone involved seemed very eager to please. It was interesting to watch the learning process --- instruction was delivered a bit more obviously than is usually the case in the U.S.

If you want to eat here, be sure to reserve in advance. For the Friday evening buffet, one day in advance may be insufficient (as we found, to our dismay).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As good as any top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were staying at the attached educational hotel so it seemed only natural to try this restaurant. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent, and the decor and ambiance were perfect for a relaxing meal. It was a fantastic evening and one everyone should try. It is away from the big hotels but it would be worth the visit for something a bit different and special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IFT Educational Restaurant also viewed

 
Macau, Macau Region
Macau, Macau Region
 

Been to IFT Educational Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFT Educational Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.