We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, good size room with English speaking staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 Reviews
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Centrally located, good size room with English speaking staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Went to Macau with my folks and fiance and stayed 1 night (Mar 15) in river view rooms. Got a free upgrade to river view room (which would have cost ard additional MOP 300) as original city view room was unavailable. However, somehow the room my folks stayed in (at a higher floor) had slightly better furnishings (e.g. spa shower, peekaboo glass panel separating the bathroom and bedroom) but overall no complaints about the room layout / space. River view was okay, not the totally romantic kind of view, but more of the tranquil river view. Breakfast spread and quality was ok. MJ Gallery located at level 2 was a nice surprise (free admission, 1000 - 2200h) while the casino located at ground level provided some entertainment as we were there to try out the casino scene (the minimum bets were lower e.g. MOP 20 to play BIG SMALL compared to the bigger boys e.g. Venetian for MOP 100). There is always a Chinese / English speaking hotel guide on hand at the hotel lobby (near the check in counter) who can advise you of directions / places of interest.

Hotel sits smack at the intersection, with 1 road going direct to Senado Square (which leads to St Paul's Church, just follow the crowd once you reach Senado Sq), while the other road along the coast leading towards Taipa island will lead you to Ah Ma Temple (25 min walk along the road, nothing much to see thou OR a 5 min taxi ride ard MOP 20). In case you missed out on buying local produce (e.g. almond biscuits, Portuguese egg tart, pork chop bun etc), these can be found along the main road back from Senado Sq (cross the road from Senado Sq and go into the back street alley way)

There is regular hotel shuttle (15 min intervals at the main entrance at lvl 2) to Macau Ferry Terminal but note that no shuttle available if you coming from Taipa Ferry Terminal (taxi ride from Taipa to hotel is ard MOP 80, including any luggage cost).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    676
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
444
822
121
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 is absolutely beautiful yet surprisingle affordable. We made a booking for one night (city view room) but had a change of plans and booked another night (river view).

On our arrival at the ferry terminal we took the shuttle service which drops at the hotel gate. While booking I had doubts that it is not in the casino chain and a little "far off", to be honest Macau is not a huge region and honestly I prefer its location (5 min cab ride to the casino chain, city of dreams etc).

On reaching the staff was AMAZING. The guy at the reception upgraded our room to river view so both nights are the same room. The bell boy was very friendly and gave a min tour of the hotel on our way to the rooms. The concierge desk was also great and helped in anything and everything. I even accidentally bought a PPV and realised later, they didn't charge it nor any discussion what so ever.

The room oozed luxury, the bathrooms (and the toiletries) were great . And if there is anything above all this , it was the painting in the lobby. The lobby is huge with a painting of view of macau, with hotel in the middle. I missed the hotel the very next day of check out and I am scared I so look forward to it that I may never experience Venetian or anything else. O Not to forget by god the hotel was affordable.

The only "negative" I can say is the river is not blue like the bahamas but because of copper content is dark. Also the immediate surrounding area is not the best, but hey the moment you are out trust me you'd be on a cab to Macau tower, casinos or something.

To me the best hotel I have been to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is my second stay in 4 months. I was very impressed the first time, and even more so the second time. I have booked three rooms for 3 nights and made several requests associated with check-ins and location of the rooms. The front desk was very helpful with every request.
The Conceirge team was equally helpful and caring , in particular with assisting our elderly mother into and out of hired cars.
We had a wonderful time in a very cold Macau (in March!) and was warmed by the hospitality of Sofitel.
This is a very good hotel with high standards of service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c., canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Everything was so perfect!ly lovely: staff, service, gorgeous room....only two nights but we loved it iso much-- could live there forever! Checking in we asked for an upgrade -- so at the same low online rate the desk clerk gave us the most amazing 15th flour vew, quiet and gorgeous room.We could not believe it! Huge marble bathroom with extra tv at the foot of the tub --so hedonistic,
Sunday night buffet was yummy--well worth it as the desserts were to die for. I liked the custom-made fresh vietnamese rolls. On Monday night we hadn't had dinner booked or gone out,--sore back from sightseeing--but they called to ask if we would like room service.

We asked for an upgrade and were given the most gorgeous room with a view over the water for no extra charge. It was perfectly lovely. A real treat and get-away from Hong Kong.
We loved the Sunday buffet with ia friendly family atmosphere and they took us in without a reservation.. Service was so excellent and food was amazing. Do recommend the buffet--it's a great deal!
They called us on the 2nd night to see if we'd like to come back to the dining room or have room service. This was a thoughtful touch as part of the high quality service that we'll remember and try to stay at other Sofitel hotels. Room service was yummy food as well--had a fabulous breakfast too.
We felt thoroughly relaxed and would stay longer next time.
M and M from Vancouver, B.C.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Fantastic room,i got a great deal from at 60% off the actual rate including a nice buffet bf for two. The crew were wonderful, opened the doors for us to get off the car and into the lobby and they were attended to the luggage's right away.

Checking-in was fast and the whole place smells nice and is gorgeously decorated. I chose these hotel over V after having read some reviews mostly about privacy and service and this this was without question a great choice, nobody goes up uninvited and unauthorized.

Blackout curtains, carpeted floor, very cozzzy.. Well stocked mini bar, chips, mints, chocolates, juices, colas, beer, hard, mixers, white & red wine plus glasses including wine glasses. The wines were so so and overpriced as with all hotels so a good idea would be to buy your favorite wine or champagne outside, compared to the price of the hotel you could get a much much better bottle from duty free as we did. Fast check-out, we broke a glass but they didn't charge it and was just billed the pay movie that we watched. It was a very funny one but the bed was so comfortable we dozed off halfway..

Walking distance to Lisboa and senado square but a bit far to venetian & cod. Cabs are cheaper than hk rate so it's better to take one getting around. The buses we while wev were waiting for a cab seemed to be overcrowded & not so convenient and tourist friendly as in hk.

We definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend and we liked it a LOT. The room is bright, fairly big (@36m^2), a large bathroom with separate bathtub and rain-forest shower, and there was a LCD TV situated at the end of bathtub, which you can watch your own DVD (insert your DVD in the DVD player under the big TV in your room, then change your bathroom TV channel to AV). We had a complimentary cake delivered to our room at our own chosen time because it was my girlfriend's birthday. Service is excellent, and they are really good in English as well. The room service is outstanding, only around 120 HKD and we had a huge disc of fried rice (which was enough for both me and my girlfriend!) with many breads (probably 6-8). The price is very very low, if you booked it through the travel agencies in Hong Kong. Overall, I was really satisfied with the hotel and will definitely go back for a second time.

(I signed up just to recommend how great this hotel is)

However, on the down side, the casino isn't really good, as it was filled with smokers. But there are loads of casinos in macau, so you can play in other casinos easily as taxi in macau is really cheap

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

First visit to Macau in June - fairly warm. Staff could not do enough and we had a great time visiting many museums in the am with some R&R in the pm prior to kicking on at night. Concierge got best seats in the house for Circus Solie show at the Venetian. Back in Nov for the Grand Prix (formula 3000) staff fell over backward when they saw us back again - organised a complmentary birthday cake! Cooler now so we enjoyed hoofing around to places we didn't see last time taking in the culture & architecture (Portugese)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.