We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 1,976 Reviews
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfort and Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My 3 nights in the Sofitel were a splendid experience. Albeit a little far from the main action of other the casinos, the views were nice and we were walking distance from the old quarter for sightseeing. There is a free shuttle service from the hotel to the main ferry terminal. The breakfast service was top notch, although I was a little disappointed when I had a pizza off the ala carte menu in the late afternoon. The rooms were clean, conformable filled with all the luxuries expected in a 5 star hotel. The rooms were also cleaned often.

The staff were friendly and mainly helpful, although there were a few instances where I would struggle by not being a native mandarin speaker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. kemmostry)

It is wonderful to hear great experiences from our guests! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are very happy to know that the location, facilities and breakfast were all up to your expectations. It gives us a lot of pleasure to know that our hard work has paid off.

Your comment was shared with all members of our team especially our Executive Chef who will follow up closely the A la Carte pizza.

We are looking forward to having you back soon with us!

Yours sincerely,


J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    676
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
444
822
121
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, in an interesting location, and the service was generally very good. My only complaint is the noticeable smell of cigarette smoke which seeps from the casino into the lobby area. Apart from that, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Phil G)

Thank You for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.
We are happy to know that you had a lovely time and you enjoyed the location of our property.

As you may know, the casino does not belong to Sofitel Macau. The owner is Ponte 16 who is in charge of the whole complex. We know about this big issue that is affecting our guests and in order to decrease the bad smell and keep a safe environment we have installed air curtains that will stop the smoke from invading the lobby area. We hope this will help to enhance our guest experience.

We are looking forward to having you back soon with us!

Yours sincerely,


J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Room beautifully appointed and spacious with a canal view to boot - you can watch TV while relaxing in the luxurious ensuite bath, which has a large glass panel to afford view of bedroom. Has a small in-house casino but is no substitute for the major casino joints in Macau. Breakfast is excellent. Complimentary hotel bus shuttle from ferry terminal is on a queue basis - that's fair.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Beng T)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to know that you had such a lovely time with us!

We have shared your comments with our executive chef and his team. They are all really happy to know that all their efforts with the breakfast have been acknowledge. Indeed, there has been a major improvement and modification on our offer and we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Any plans to come back soon? Let us help you making all necessary arrangements.

Have a wonderful week!

Yours sincerely,


J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Away from the glamour and glitz, in the middle of historical Macau is this gem of a hotel. We, a family of 4 stayed in the family suite and it was "huge"! Large living and dining areas, plush bedrooms, fancy,gizmatic bath, jacuzzi and washrooms. The suite felt like a high end apartment to put it mildly. Ipod connectivity throughout the entire suite to listen to your choice of music, nespresso coffee makers, tasteful decor..It was difficult to get our kids out of the suite to go sightseeing! The hotel had a choice of restaurants but since we were out we did not try them. Every need was taken care of and regular shuttles to the bus terminal ensured that we had absolutely no problems getting around. And the best part?...All this at economy prices!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Shyamala_13)

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are thrilled to know that you and your family had a wonderful time with us.

It sounds like you stayed in one of our Mansion Suites. We have 19 and they come in 4 different themes. Which one was yours? They are all lovely and trendy! They also have their private pool and Jacuzzi with a breathtaking view.

For your next visit make sure you visit our French Boutique restaurant Prive. Our Executive Chef Yannick will offer you the most tasteful evening of all!

We look forward to having you back soon.

Yours sincerely,


J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hotel situated well away from the bright lights and glamour of the big casino's and hotels, but non the less a 5 star hotel situated in real Macau. It is located well within walking distance of some of the big casinos and hotels, and we found it enjoyable walking through some of the older parts of Macau, there are several good restaurants within a 20 minute walk and the Macau tower restaurant is well worth a visit.
The hotel is very good and the staff friendly and helpful and the free bus service offered to the ferry terminal is very useful for getting around if you don't want to walk as most other hotels have free bus services from the ferry port.
Would recommend this hotel if you want more than just bright lights and glamour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Mark S)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are thrilled to know that you had such a lovely time with us.

Indeed, we think of Sofitel Macau as a relaxing retreat away from the big fuzz and buzz. Our guests can enjoy the big casinos around the city and still come back to a quiet and relaxing paradise that this property offers. Thank you for bringing this up!

We appreciate your kind comments towards our Ambassadors and their services. We take pride on having a team of great professionals that are committed to our guest’s satisfaction.

Let us keep writing memorable experiences for you. We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Yours sincerely,


J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staffs are very nice and the location is very convenience.
Hotel is very close to the Ruinas da Antiga Catedral de S. Paulo and Barra. Room is very clean and everything prepared.
We like the choices of pillows and also the bathroom amenities.
However, the hotel can arrange two types of shuttle bus instead of 19-seated only. We have waited for very long to get on the bus to the pier as many guests were waiting for the bus at around 3pm.
Overall, the hotel is very clean and staffs are very helpful and nice. I will come again next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. KoreaBusiness_man)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities.

We appreciate your kind feedback. We will look into the shuttle bus service with the management company Ponte 16. We do not manage that service and we keep pushing the owner to improve their product. We are looking to see great improvement soon.

We are looking forward to having you back again!


Yours sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.