We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid-back stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 to your Saves list
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 1,975 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“laid-back stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's not my 1st time to stay in Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. My return as i love the cozy deco, glamourous reception & the scent in the hotel. Staff are always helpful & friendly. Definitely a perfect place for me to retreat in Macau.
The only problem is the shuttle bus service. Is that possible to provide more minibus especially during promotion / peak days? i lined up for at least 30 mins on the date i arrive & seems there's only ONE shuttle bus is working ;(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. esy_ypp)

We are extremely honored and proud to be the hotel that always welcomes you back in Macau. It is really pleasant to hear such positive feedback that motivates every single Ambassador in our team to keep up with the good performance.

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are happy to know that you have a great retreat out of Hong Kong.

Have you tried our So Spa? It opened in February and it is one of the most peaceful corners in the city. For your next visit we suggest to add a nice relaxation treatment to your bucket list.

We understand the frustration while waiting for the shuttle bus, we have shared these comments with Ponte 16 who is the owner company and service provider and we have a tight hand at this moment looking for solutions and improvements. We do not want to disappoint you or other fellow travelers and this is why we have this issue as a priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    675
    126
    40
    25
See reviews for
443
822
121
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel. It was a complete package
Comfortable beds, great breakfast buffet (only $88MOP whilst we were there), lovely pool and gym area, well located for easy access to the historic portions of Macau. Lovely L'Occitane bathroom products.
Only two negatives:
- Bathroom room cleanliness, tiles had marks/blemishs from dirty hands.
- The automated scent dispenser on the non smoking floor lobby was horrid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. mrmin1)

We are honored to have been chosen as your accommodation host during your recent visit to Macau.

It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We hope the weather was fresh during your visit to the historic sites near the hotel, it can sometimes get really humid and hot that a bottle of water is essential. We appreciate your kind comments towards the service of our ambassadors and our overall facilities.

We have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Executive who will follow up with every member of his team to maintain the standard of cleanliness and service that Sofitel is well known for.

We also have the special air freshener company coming very soon to the property to improve the situation that we know affected your stay. We will push very hard to get this solved immediately.
We hope you will come back soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Its excellent location provides a great starting point to explore the city; most of the city's heritage architecture are well within walking distance from the hotel. One could walk and head back for a refresher without feeling drained.

Likes:
excellent location
L'Occitane toiletries
breakfast buffet was well layout with great service from the staff

Dislikes:
Check-in time was lengthy
pillow was too soft for my liking

Room Tip: Higher floors for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Ishi M)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very excited to know that your overall stay was satisfactory and that we were able to offer a very comfortable and nice stay.

As you mentioned our location is very unique. Aside from sharing view with the city and the harbor, we are only 10 minutes walking distance from must of the cultural and heritage spots in Macau.
These days are very hot and humid so we always suggest carrying a bottle of water with you. You can go directly to our Concierge to ask for one if needed.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the check in time. We are aware of this issue, unfortunately as this past weekend was a holiday we do have an increase on arrivals, but we are working towards a better and efficient process that will benefit all our guests. Nevertheless, pleas accept our most sincere apologies for kept you waiting in line for a longer period of time.

We do hope that all the positive things are motivators to repeat your stay in our property. We would be honored to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It is getting harder and harder to find a reasonably priced 5 star hotel (contradiction aside!) with many quoting MOP3k per night during the weekends. Sofitel stands out as being able to offer excellent value (clean, elegant rooms with great views of the city) at a much more reasonable rate, meaning a two night long weekend break (two rooms - one for the in-laws) was within our budget. The hotel is perfectly located to visit the peninsula's attractions, being 10 mins walk away from the centre (Senado Square) and 20 mins walk from casinos such as the Wynn and The Lisboa and excellent restaurants (my current favourite being Albergue 1601). Likes: the poolside area and chilled out vibe, the L'Occitane toiletries (rather than some dodgy OEM products), the convenient location, a rather curious Michael Jackson museum right next door (worth a 10 minute visit) and smiling service. Dislikes: as another reviewer commented, the longer than normal (for Macau hotels) wait time for the hotel pick up from the Macau ferry terminal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. RM303)

We are very happy to know that you had a great experience and that the value was excellent!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is gratyfiing to know that our facilities and service were up to your expectations. In Sofitel we aim to provide with memorable experiences and we believe that we achieved it with you. This will only lead to more memorable visits for sure!

Thank you for bringing up the issue with the Shuttle bus. We will passed the comments to Ponte 16 group who owns this service, in order for them to follow up and find suitable solutions to the frequency of service.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ventured into the Sofitel Macau on a day trip and enjoyed their buffet lunch. It would have to be the best buffet we have been to, their array of food was magnificent, fresh seafood and quality dishes, and the service was fantastic. The quality of food on the buffet was a high standard and we were wishing we could have stayed the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Live-dream-travel)

We are honored that you chose our Mistral restaurant for holiday lunch during this one day trip to Macau. We know there is a big array of choices in the city, so we understand how difficult it can be to decide where to go. Nevertheless, you made the best decision! :)

We are very happy to know that everything from our product to the service from our Ambassadors was so outstanding that you shared this experience with us and fellow travelers!

Next time you should definitely stay for the weekend and enjoy our facilities. The weather is perfect to enjoy our pool or a nice treatment in our So Spa.

We are looking forward to having you back again!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel and i have great experience stayed here... The great things about this hotel is because the bath kit use L'occitane product. The environment is amazing and the shuttle bus always ready to pick up us... Very recommended to stay at this hotel... I choose this hotel because it's near to Senando square and other historical building in Macau..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Stefanie H)

We are very content to know that your stay with us was completely up to your expectations and ‘amazing’!

As you mentioned the location even though it is in the other side of the big casino resorts, it is still quite beautiful as we are just 10 minutes away from the historical and cultural attractions including: Senado square, St. Paul ruins and more.

Thank you for all the compliments and for sharing your recent visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 with us and fellow travelers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is very spacious and has excellent staff everywhere whether its at the Concierge desk, the reception, the housekeeping, the casinos, the restaurants and the boys who hail taxis for us. We loved our room, we loved the food and we loved the service. Thank you, everyone at Sofitel for making the trip so memorable and comfortable. I feel that, sometimes, a good hotel becomes great just owing to the staff that work there. although a little away from the main area, the hotel is walking distance from most other big casinos of that part. The other hotels like the Venetian etc are just a short taxi ride away. We def recommend this hotel for those people who are looking for a little peace away from the hustle and bustle and for great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. radz_radia)

It is extremely exciting to receive such great news from our guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to personally share your recent visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We have shared your review with all our Management team and ambassadors. We are sure this will motivate them to keep up with the good performance that so far has distinguished them from other properties. Receiving good comments about our service really draws a smile in our faces as this is the key to success in hotel industry.

Any plans to visit us soon? We are looking forward t having you back again!

Have a wonderful week!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau Region > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#7 Family Hotel in Macau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.